Slacker Logo


The Mynabirds

Before forming the Mynabirds in 2009, Laura Burhenn made her living as a solo artist in Washington, D.C., where she also founded Laboratory Records in 1999. Eight years later, she teamed up with John Davis -- another veteran of the local music scene -- to form an experimental duo named Georgie James. Although Davis’ previous group, Q and Not U, had been known for its aggressive post-hardcore music, Georgie James looked to pop groups for inspiration, particularly harmony-heavy outfits like the Zombies and the Kinks. The group didn’t last long, though, with Burhenn and Davis going their separate ways after releasing one album. For her next project, Burhenn decided to stay with Saddle Creek, the same Nebraska-based label that had released Georgie James’ debut in 2007. She wrote a new batch of songs inspired by the likes of Neil Young, Motown, and Carole King, and eventually relocated to Oregon to record the material with producer Richard Swift. Another Saddle Creek artist, Orenda Fink, helped Burhenn assemble a solid backing band, and the resulting record -- What We Lose in the Fire We Gain in the Flood, which Burhenn released under the Mynabirds moniker -- appeared in 2010. A limited-edition 7", "All I Want Is Truth (For Xmas)," arrived in 2011, followed by the group's sophomore outing, Generals, in 2012. Burhenn toured as a member of the reunited Postal Service in 2013 until their official disbandment that summer, then toured solo in locales including South Africa amidst taking time off for writing and continuing to travel internationally. Produced by Bradley Hanan Carter of NO, a third Mynabirds album, Lovers Know, appeared in the summer of 2015 with lyrics informed by her journeys and lusher synth pop sounds reflecting more '80s influences than '60s. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Mynabirds

Albums by
The Mynabirds

Top Songs by
The Mynabirds

  1.   Song
  2.   Generals
  3.   Numbers Don't Lie
  4.   All I Want is Truth (For Christmas)
  5.   Body of Work
  6.   Right Place
  7.   One Foot
  8.   Mightier Than the Sword
  9.   Disarm
  10.   Wildfire
  11.   Good Heart
  12.   Believer
  13.   Give It Time
  14.   Shake Your Head Yes
  15.   Velveteen
  16.   Disaster
  17.   Radiator Sister
  18.   Karma Debt
  19.   Ways of Looking
  20.   La Rain
  21.   What We Gained in the Fire
  22.   Omaha
  23.   Orion
  24.   This Will Be Our Year
  25.   In the Mouths of Wolves
  26.   Bad Moon Rising
  27.   Hanged Man
  28.   All My Heart
  29.   Semantics
  30.   Wolf Mother
  31.   Last Time
  32.   Buffalo Flower
  33.   Let the Record Go
  34.   We Made a Mountain
  35.   Say Something
  36.   Greatest Revenge
  37.   Wash It Out
  38.   Leonora
  39.   Fallen Doves

Artists Related to The Mynabirds

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |