Slacker Logo



Few bands did more than Nickelback to establish the force of slick, commercially minded post-grunge in the 2000s. Led by vocalist Chad Kroeger, the band initially emerged in the late '90s as Canada's answer to Creed, prizing a blend of gruff vocals and distorted (yet radio-friendly) guitars. After a handful of singles failed to gain much traction in Canada, "How You Remind Me" caught hold in 2001, eventually topping the charts in several countries while gathering four Grammy nominations and four Juno Awards. Creed imploded several years later, but Nickelback's popularity only grew as the decade progressed, effectively eclipsing those acts that had once informed the band's sound. Chad Kroeger honed his frontman skills by performing with cover bands in Hanna, a small Canadian town 215 kilometers northeast of Calgary. After growing tired of playing other people's songs, he borrowed money from his stepfather and relocated to Vancouver, where he recorded his first batch of original material. Mike Kroeger, Chad's bass-playing sibling, decided to join his brother's band, as did fellow Vancouver transplants Ryan Peake (a guitarist who had befriended the Kroegers in middle school) and Ryan Vikedal (a drummer from Peake's hometown of Brooks, Alberta). Nickelback officially took shape in 1996 and quickly set to work, releasing two albums -- the Hesher EP and full-length album Curb -- before the year was up. By 1998, the bandmates were managing themselves; Chad courted radio stations, brother Mike handled distribution, Vikedal booked shows, and Peake maintained the band's website. January 2000 saw the arrival of The State, Nickelback's second independent release. Issued at a time in which Canadian content requirements were increased (and, accordingly, local radio stations had begun to desperately seek out homegrown product), the album fared very well on indie charts. Nickelback toured ceaselessly in support of The State, logging approximately 200 shows while playing alongside other groups of the burgeoning post-grunge genre. Nickelback's commercial appeal wasn't lost on the record industry, either, and The State's distribution rights were quickly snapped up by Roadrunner Records in the U.S. and EMI in Canada. As the band continued to tour, Kroeger kept writing new songs, many of which were honed in front of live audiences. Much of that material found its way onto Silver Side Up, which was produced by Rick Parashar (who came to prominence in the early '90s by helming Pearl Jam's Ten, Alice in Chains' Sap, and Blind Melon's self-titled debut) and recorded at Green House, the same Vancouver studio used during The State's creation. The combination of Nickelback's growing popularity and Kroeger's focused songwriting propelled Silver Side Up onto album charts across the world, spearheaded by the hit single "How You Remind Me." Kroeger capitalized on that exposure by producing another Vancouver-based band, Default, and collaborating with Saliva's Josey Scott for the Spider-Man soundtrack. The Long Road then arrived in 2003, featuring an increasingly polished sound and another high-charting single, "Someday." While some listeners criticized the apparent similarities between "Someday" and "How You Remind Me," The Long Road had little trouble maintaining Nickelback's wide audience, eventually selling over five million copies worldwide. In February 2005, Nickelback announced the departure of Vikedal. He was soon replaced by 3 Doors Down's former drummer Daniel Adair, and Nickelback returned to Kroeger's studio in Vancouver to begin work on another album. ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons and Pantera's Dimebag Darrell (who unfortunately died before the album's release) were guests on the chart-topping All the Right Reasons, which arrived in October 2005. The album proved to be Nickelback's most popular effort to date, remaining in the Billboard Top 30 for over two years and selling over seven million copies in the U.S. alone. It also spawned five Top 20 singles, a feat that attracted the attention of veteran producer (and demonstrated hitmaker) Mutt Lange. Nickelback traveled to Lange's home in Switzerland to share songwriting ideas; impressed with the results, they also enlisted him to helm their next album. Recorded in a converted Vancouver barn, Dark Horse marked the band's sixth studio album upon its release in November 2008. Nickelback's seventh studio album arrived nearly three years after the multi-platinum-selling Dark Horse. The 11-track Here and Now, which was preceded by the singles "Bottoms Up" and "When We Stand Together," hit the streets on November 21, 2011. The following year Kroeger began working on fellow Canadian rock star Avril Lavigne's eponymous fifth album. Shortly after their working partnership began, they began dating and eventually married in early 2013. The band put together their first compilation, The Best of Nickelback, Vol. 1, which appeared in November of 2013; the 19-track collection contained no new songs. In 2014, the band's contract with Roadrunner expired and they decided not to renew, signing instead with Universal Republic for their eighth album, No Fixed Address. The album included a number of departures from Nickelback's usual fare, including radio-friendly "What Are You Waiting For?," the politicized "Edge of a Revolution," and "Got Me Runnin' 'Round," which featured a horn section and rapper Flo Rida. No Fixed Address appeared in November 2014, debuting at four on Billboard's Top 200 and generating rock radio hits in "Edge of a Revolution" and "Million Miles an Hour." As they worked on their ninth album in 2016, Nickelback released a cover of Don Henley's "Dirty Laundry" and negotiated a switch from Republic to BMG. Feed the Machine, their first record for BMG, was co-produced by Chris Baseford (Disturbed) and appeared in June 2017. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    7 songs

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    9 songs

    New Rock First

    New Rock First
    1 song

    Power Ballads

    Power Ballads
    5 songs

    '00s Alternative

    7 songs


    1 song

    '00s Pop

    1 song

    Rock Anthems

    2 songs

    Lite Hits

    6 songs

    Shuffle Hits

    4 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Rockstar
  3.   How You Remind Me
  4.   Photograph
  5.   Someday
  6.   If Everyone Cared
  7.   If Today Was Your Last Day
  8.   Far Away
  9.   Animals
  10.   Gotta Be Somebody
  11.   Something in Your Mouth
  12.   Figured You Out
  13.   Burn It to the Ground
  14.   Savin' Me
  15.   Too Bad
  16.   Bottoms Up
  17.   Never Again
  18.   Shakin' Hands
  19.   Side of a Bullet
  20.   Million Miles An Hour
  21.   Feed the Machine
  22.   Leader of Men
  23.   Edge of a Revolution
  24.   This Afternoon
  25.   Feelin' Way Too Damn Good
  26.   Lullaby
  27.   What Are You Waiting For?
  28.   This Means War
  29.   I'd Come For You
  30.   Never Gonna Be Alone
  31.   Next Contestant
  32.   S.E.X.
  33.   She Keeps Me Up
  34.   Old Enough
  35.   Breathe
  36.   Get 'Em Up
  37.   Because of You
  38.   Fight for All the Wrong Reasons
  39.   Just To Get High
  40.   Believe It or Not
  41.   Gotta Get Me Some
  42.   Follow You Home
  43.   Do This Anymore
  44.   When We Stand Together
  45.   Miss You
  46.   Woke Up This Morning
  47.   Got Me Runnin' Round
  48.   Trying Not to Love You
  49.   Next Go Round
  50.   Everything I Wanna Do
  51.   Should've Listened
  52.   Someone That You're With
  53.   Midnight Queen
  54.   Legs
  55.   Hollywood
  56.   Make Me Believe Again
  57.   See You at the Show
  58.   Sister Sin
  59.   Don't Ever Let It End
  60.   Hangnail
  61.   Another Hole in the Head
  62.   Flat on the Floor
  63.   Where Do I Hide
  64.   Kiss It Goodbye
  65.   Just For
  66.   Learn the Hard Way
  67.   Good Times Gone
  68.   Money Bought