Slacker Logo


Noah and the Whale

Noah and the Whale became a leading light in the British folk scene with the release of 2008's Peaceful, the World Lays Me Down, their popular debut that cracked the U.K. Top Ten and spawned the hit single "5 Years Time." Formed in the southern suburbs of London, the band also attracted attention by serving as a launching pad for Laura Marling, who left the lineup to 2008 to launch an award-winning solo career. Noah and the Whale forged ahead in her absence, releasing albums that moved away from the band's folky bedrock while still maintaining a good amount of chart success. Originally comprised of Charlie Fink (vocals, guitar, harmonica, ukulele), Tom Hobden (fiddle), Matt "Urby Whale" Owens (harmonium, bass), Laura Marling (backing vocals), and Doug Fink (drums), the group began taking shape in 2006 in Twickenham. By early 2008, the bandmates had released several independent singles (including an early version of "5 Years Time") and attracted attention from Vertigo Records, who signed Noah and the Whale several months later. The band made its major-label debut that September with the summery, pastoral Peaceful, the World Lays Me Down. Released several weeks later in the United States, the album featured a re-recorded version of "5 Years Time," which peaked at number seven on the U.K. charts and helped expand the band's following at home and abroad. Marling exited the group several months after the album's release, though, and her relationship with Charlie Fink ended shortly thereafter. Both events inspired the group's second album, The First Days of Spring, which dealt heavily with Fink's breakup and gathered praise for its cinematic arrangements. Last Night on Earth followed in 2011, signaling a move beyond the folk-rock sound of the band's early material which was instigated by the departure of drummer -- and Charlie Fink's brother -- Doug Fink and the addition of guitarist Fred Abbott. Without a drummer they were forced to experiment with a drum machine, which produced much of the electronic influence found on Last Night on Earth. In the following year they recruited Michael Petulla on drums and toured the country. In 2013, the band announced their fourth record, Heart of Nowhere, which was also accompanied by a short film. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Noah and the Whale

Albums by
Noah and the Whale

Top Songs by
Noah and the Whale

  1.   Song
  2.   L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.
  3.   5 Years Time
  4.   Blue Skies
  5.   Tonight's the Kind of Night
  6.   Life Is Life
  7.   Just Me Before We Met
  8.   All Through the Night
  9.   There Will Come a Time
  10.   Shape of My Heart
  11.   Lifetime
  12.   Not Too Late
  13.   The First Days of Spring
  14.   Peaceful, the World Lays Me Down
  15.   Jocasta
  16.   2 Atoms in a Molecule
  17.   Still, After All These Years
  18.   Silver and Gold
  19.   Paradise Stars
  20.   Give It All Back
  21.   Stranger
  22.   Slow Glass
  23.   Our Window
  24.   My Door Is Always Open
  25.   My Broken Heart
  26.   Love of an Orchestra
  27.   Instrumental I
  28.   I Have Nothing
  29.   Hold My Hand as I'm Lowered
  30.   Mary
  31.   Do What You Do
  32.   Wild Thing
  33.   Instrumental II
  34.   Old Joy
  35.   Give a Little Love
  36.   One More Night
  37.   Now Is Exactly the Time
  38.   The Line
  39.   Introduction
  40.   Waiting for My Chance to Come
  41.   Second Lover
  42.   Heart of Nowhere
  43.   Rocks and Daggers

Artists Related to Noah and the Whale

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |