Slacker Logo


Norman Brown

Kansas' Norman Brown is a hugely successful guitarist with a warm, yet technically adroit approach to smooth jazz and instrumental R&B. Born in Kansas City, Brown first became interested in the guitar at age eight, when he grew fond of his brother's acoustic six-string. He was initially influenced by such guitar-based acts as Jimi Hendrix and the Isley Brothers, but once he discovered one of his father's favorite guitarists, Wes Montgomery, everything changed. Rather than play, for instance, material by Earth, Wind & Fire in local bands, Brown began playing contemporary jazz tunes and standards. His increasing interest in jazz guitar led him to Los Angeles in the mid-'80s, where he studied formally at the Musician's Institute in Hollywood. Following his graduation, he taught briefly and signed to Motown's Mo Jazz label, where he splashed onto the soul-jazz scene with 1992's Just Between Us. Suddenly critics drew comparisons to other astonishing jazz guitarists from the past such as George Benson and Wes Montgomery, and Brown became the toast of the soul-jazz crowd. It was Brown's sophomore album, however, 1996's After the Storm, that found him breaking through to the top echelon of smooth jazz artists. Both Gavin and Soul Train named it Jazz Album of the Year, and After the Storm remained on the charts for over two years. On the heels of his remarkable success, Brown continued to wow jazz listeners. His eagerly awaited follow-up, Better Days Ahead, won the 1997 American Jazz Award for contemporary guitar and the album's title track became the most-added single in NAC history until that point. Following his flurry of successes at Mo Jazz, Brown moved to Warner Bros. and released several more well-received albums, including 1999's Celebration and 2002's Grammy Award-winning Just Chillin'. Also in 2002, Brown debuted his smooth jazz supergroup with saxophonist Kirk Whalum and trumpeter Rick Braun, BWB, with the album Groovin'. He then returned to his solo work with 2004's West Coast Coolin', followed two years later by Stay with Me on the Peak label. Brown then signed with longtime jazz label Concord and released 2010's Sending My Love. Two years later, he paired with saxophonist Gerald Albright for the Concord release 24/7. Also in 2013, he rejoined BWB for Human Nature. In 2016, Brown continued to split his time, releasing his third album with BWB, and delivering his first solo effort for the Shanachie label, Let It Go. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Norman Brown

    Smooth Jazz

    Smooth Jazz
    11 songs

Albums by
Norman Brown

Top Songs by
Norman Brown

  1.   Song
  2.   Lydian
  3.   Out'a Nowhere
  4.   Sending My Love
  5.   Pop's Cool Groove
  6.   Just Between Us
  7.   It Keeps Coming Back
  8.   Up 'N' at 'Em
  9.   Take Me There
  10.   Special Moments
  11.   Better Days Ahead
  12.   Thinking About You
  13.   Let's Take a Ride
  14.   After the Storm
  15.   That's the Way Love Goes
  16.   What's Going On
  17.   Your Body's Callin'
  18.   The Feeling I Get
  19.   Soul Dance
  20.   Acoustic Time
  21.   Just Chillin'
  22.   After the Love Is Gone
  23.   Facts of Love
  24.   Moonlight Tonight by Norman Brown
  25.   El Dulce Sol
  26.   For the Love of You by Norman Brown
  27.   It Ain't Over BWB
  28.   Won't You Stay
  29.   I Still Believe
  30.   Night Drive
  31.   Rain
  32.   Charlie Brown Christmas
  33.   Something Just for You
  34.   It's a Feelin'
  35.   Family
  36.   It Costs to Love
  37.   A Quiet Place
  38.   So in Love
  39.   Any Love
  40.   Conversations featuring Kesha Jaramillo
  41.   Ooh Child by Tracy Carter
  42.   Man in the Mirror by Sounds of Blackness
  43.   Remember Who You Are by Kirk Whalum
  44.   Very Woman
  45.   Lessons of the Spirit
  46.   Skating
  47.   I Need You
  48.   Every Little Thing
  49.   Remember the Time
  50.   Angel
  51.   Right Now
  52.   Let's Play
  53.   Come Over
  54.   Missin' You
  55.   I Might
  56.   You Can Close Your Eyes
  57.   Breaking Out
  58.   Never Again
  59.   Getting By
  60.   Celebration
  61.   You Make Me Feel Brand New
  62.   Paradise
  63.   This Time Around
  64.   Serenade
  65.   N-Control
  66.   Come Closer to Me
  67.   Places in the Heart
  68.   Sweet Taste
  69.   Trashman
  70.   Let's Come Together
  71.   Stormin'
  72.   East Meets West
  73.   Too High
  74.   Third World
  75.   Here to Stay
  76.   Play Time
  77.   One Last Goodbye
  78.   I'm Pouring My Heart Out
  79.   Here's My Number
  80.   Coming Back (Return of the Man)
  81.   Celebrate Me Home
  82.   You Keep Lifting Me Higher
  83.   Stay With Me