Slacker Logo


One Direction

Following the success of JLS and the Wanted, X-Factor contestants One Direction were the next group of heartthrobs to help revive the boy band concept. The quintet outdid all of its predecessors, becoming the biggest boy band since Take That, selling millions of albums and singles, filling arenas and making movies, all while hitting number one many times over across the world with undeniably hooky songs and plenty of boy-next-door charm. The group was formed by Niall Horan from Mullingar, Ireland; Zayn Malik from Bradford; Harry Styles from Cheshire; Louis Tomlinson from Doncaster, and Liam Payne from Wolverhampton (the latter had previously reached the judge's house stages of The X-Factor as a 14-year-old back in 2008). Each originally entered 2010's seventh series of The X Factor as individuals, but following a suggestion from guest judge Nicole Scherzinger, they were grouped together to become One Direction. Mentored by Simon Cowell, they soon became one of the favorites to win the show, thanks to renditions of Kelly Clarkson's "My Life Would Suck Without You," Elton John's "Something About the Way You Look Tonight," and Bonnie Tyler's "Total Eclipse of the Heart." However, despite receiving a standing ovation for their duet with Robbie Williams ("She's the One") in the live final, they eventually finished third behind Rebecca Ferguson and winner Matt Cardle. Spotting the potential of five Justin Bieber-esque teen pin-ups, Cowell signed them to his Syco label in a two-million dollar deal, and after performing on the X-Factor tour, the quintet began work on its debut album with Savan Kotecha (Britney Spears, Enrique Iglesias). Following a sponsorship deal with Nintendo DS and a book, Forever Young, named after their cover of the Alphaville classic that was intended to be their winner's song, they released their first single, "What Makes You Beautiful," in late 2011. The full-length album Up All Night followed soon after. In 2012, One Direction became the first British band to debut on top of the Billboard 200 list when Up All Night sold over 176,000 copies during its first week of release in America. In late 2012, One Direction released their sophomore album, Take Me Home. Highlighting more of the band's melodic pop, Take Me Home featured songs and production from Sweden's Carl Falk, Rami Yacoub, and Savan Kotecha, who worked on Up All Night, as well as contributions from singer/songwriter Ed Sheeran. The album proved to be another smash and topped charts around the world, earning multi-platinum certification in half-a-dozen countries. The singles "Live While We're Young" and "Little Things" also hit number one across the globe, and "Kiss You" reached the Top Ten in the U.S. One Direction then embarked on a globe-spanning tour in which the band played over 100 shows, including six sold-out nights at London's massive O2 Arena. At the same time, they were being filmed by director Morgan Spurlock for This Is Us, a mix of documentary and concert footage that proved to be successful at the box office when it was released in August of 2013. While they were touring, One Direction also began work on their third album, Midnight Memories. Released just in time for the 2013 holidays, the record featured songwriting input from all the members, a new production team, and some new folk and '80s hair metal influences. It nearly outdid Take Me Home and Up All Night, peaking at number one in seven countries and spawning the singles "Best Song Ever" and "Story of My Life." The group toured the world for most of 2014, but still found time to record a fourth album, which was released in late 2014. Produced by the same team who handled Midnight Memories, Four similarly looked back to the '80s for inspiration and featured a new song from old friend Ed Sheeran. A pair of platinum singles, "Steal My Girl" and "Night Changes," helped the album hit number one in nearly 20 countries. The band returned to the road and a busy promotional schedule in 2015, during which Malik was often absent. He left the tour due to stress in early March, then officially quit the band a few days later. (He went on to become the first to pursue a solo career.) The four remaining members continued touring, and in July released "Drag Me Down," the first single from their fifth album, Made in the A.M. Following the September announcement of the album, the bandmembers also revealed that, after the promotional efforts for the album were over, they'd be going on hiatus during 2016. Made in the A.M. was released in November of 2015, and featured the singles "Infinity," "Perfect," "What a Feeling," and "History." It performed very well commercially, peaking at number one in the U.K. and number two in the U.S. ~ Jon O'Brien
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
One Direction

    Boy Band Radio

    Boy Band Radio
    7 songs

    Pop Remixes

    Pop Remixes
    2 songs

    Dance Pop

    Dance Pop
    2 songs

    Lite Hits

    Lite Hits
    6 songs

    Love Songs

    2 songs

    Kids Pop

    5 songs

    Workout Songs

    3 songs

    Hot Summer Hits

    1 song

    Shuffle Hits

    1 song

Albums by
One Direction

Top Songs by
One Direction

  1.   Song
  2.   What Makes You Beautiful
  3.   Story of My Life
  4.   Best Song Ever
  5.   Drag Me Down
  6.   Steal My Girl
  7.   One Thing
  8.   Perfect
  9.   Little Things
  10.   Night Changes
  11.   You & I
  12.   Kiss You
  13.   Live While We're Young
  14.   Moments
  15.   History
  16.   18
  17.   Up All Night
  18.   Diana
  19.   One Way or Another (Teenage Kicks)
  20.   Love You Goodbye
  21.   More Than This
  22.   Where Do Broken Hearts Go
  23.   Drag Me Down by LunchMoney Lewis
  24.   No Control
  25.   They Don't Know About Us
  26.   What Makes You Beautiful by Dave Aude
  27.   Fireproof
  28.   Still the One
  29.   Infinity
  30.   Stockholm Syndrome
  31.   Ready to Run
  32.   C'mon, C'mon
  33.   Everything About You
  34.   Girl Almighty
  35.   Nobody Compares
  36.   Over Again
  37.   Illusion
  38.   Olivia
  39.   End of the Day
  40.   Taken
  41.   Strong
  42.   Fool's Gold
  43.   Wolves
  44.   A.M.
  45.   Happily
  46.   What a Feeling
  47.   Last First Kiss
  48.   Long Way Down
  49.   Through the Dark
  50.   Don't Forget Where You Belong
  51.   I Would
  52.   I Want
  53.   Act My Age