Slacker Logo



Periphery started in 2005 as the recording project of guitarist and producer Misha Mansoor. Mansoor had already made a name for himself in the progressive metal community through his production abilities with his project Bulb. He created Periphery as an evolution of his earlier work, taking the music out of the studio and onto the road; he fleshed out the band with a lineup that included guitarists Alex Bois and Jake Bowen, bassist Tom Murphy, drummer Matt Halpern, and, after running through a few vocalists, singer Spencer Sotelo. With a sound that pushes at the boundaries of progressive metal, Periphery are at the forefront of the "djent" movement, utilizing detuned, extended range instruments to create a sound that’s as technically dizzying as it is heavy, joining in with the growing ranks of bands that are taking the framework laid down by bands like Meshuggah and running wild with it. Periphery released their self-titled debut in 2010 on Sumerian, then quickly went out on the road, touring the U.S. and Canada, as well as making stops in Australia and the U.K. The following year, the band released their first EP, Icarus. Leading up to 2012's Periphery II: This Time It's Personal, Mark Holcomb replaced Bois on guitar and Adam Getgood replaced Murphy on bass. The album earned positive reviews from critics, and debuted just outside the Top 40 on the main Billboard albums chart. By 2015, the band had readied a double album for Sumerian. Comprising two halves, Juggernaut: Alpha and Juggernaut: Omega both appeared on the same day in January 2015, earning yet more positive reviews for the band and even higher chart placements, topping out at number 22 on Billboard. ~ Gregory Heaney
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    New Metal First

    New Metal First
    1 song

    Rock Instrumentals

    Rock Instrumentals
    3 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   22 Faces
  3.   Alpha
  4.   Jetpacks Was Yes
  5.   Insomnia
  6.   Icarus Lives
  7.   Graveless
  8.   The Walk
  9.   Light
  10.   Feed the Ground
  11.   Totla Mad
  12.   Ji
  13.   The Parade of Ashes
  14.   Facepalm Mute
  15.   Stranger Things
  16.   Hell Below
  17.   The Bad Thing
  18.   Four Lights
  19.   Rainbow Gravity
  20.   Only if for a Night
  21.   Zero
  22.   Ow My Feelings
  23.   Omega
  24.   The Scourge
  25.   MK Ultra
  26.   Mile Zero
  27.   Epoch
  28.   Erised
  29.   Ragnarok
  30.   Scarlet
  31.   Eureka
  32.   Racecar
  33.   Letter Experiment
  34.   Priestess
  35.   Reprise
  36.   Psychosphere
  37.   The Event
  38.   Heavy Heart
  39.   A Black Minute
  40.   Pale Aura
  41.   Extraneous
  42.   The Summer Jam
  43.   Overture
  44.   Passenger
  45.   Far Out
  46.   Masamune
  47.   Froggin' Bullfish
  49.   The Gods Must Be Crazy!
  50.   Luck As a Constant
  51.   Have a Blast
  52.   Captain On
  53.   Zyglrox
  54.   All New Materials
  55.   Muramasa
  56.   Jetpacks Was Yes! (V2.0)
  57.   Frak the Gods
  58.   Buttersnips
  59.   New Groove
  60.   Behind the Scenes: Making of the Icarus Lives Music Video
  61.   Juggerdoc
  62.   Bonus Content
  63.   [Bonus Material]

Artists Related to Periphery

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |