Slacker Logo


The Pigeon Detectives

Five pals from Leeds, England, who play scruffy but energetic rock & roll with no shortage of swagger, the Pigeon Detectives formed in 2002, but the group's members -- Matt Bowman on lead vocals, Oliver Main and Ryan Wilson on guitars, Dave Best on bass, and Jimmi Naylor on drums -- were mates from school and had known one another since they were 12. The Pigeon Detectives started earning press attention for their gigs in 2004, and in 2006 they made their recorded debut with the limited-edition vinyl 7", "I'm Not Sorry." On the strength of the single, the Pigeon Detectives scored an opening slot on a British tour with Dirty Pretty Things, and a second limited-edition single, "You Know I Love You," hit stores in July (though this time 1,000 copies were pressed, as opposed to 500 for the debut). The Kaiser Chiefs invited the Pigeon Detectives to tour the U.K. and Europe with them in the fall of 2006, and the group's third single (and first for the noted indie label Dance to the Radio), "I Found Out," was released in November, eventually reaching number one on the U.K. indie charts. Nick Baines of the Kaiser Chiefs began name-checking the Pigeon Detectives as his favorite new band, and noted British disc jockeys Steve Lamacq, Jo Whiley, and Zane Lowe championed the group as single number four, "Romantic Type," became a Top 20 pop hit. Wait for Me, the band's first full-length album, was released on Dance to the Radio in mid-2007. It was followed a year later by Emergency, which was produced by Stephen Street. Following the nationwide tour of their second album, the five-piece took some time out and returned on tour with Manchester outfit James in 2010. They began work on their third effort Up, Guards and at 'Em! that year with producer Justin Gerrish (Vampire Weekend, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) in his Brooklyn, New York studio. The record arrived in 2011 and scored the band their third consecutive U.K. Top 40 release and a European tour. In 2013, their fourth album, We Met at Sea, was released to mixed reviews by the music press. The Pigeon Detectives returned in 2017 with their fifth album, Broken Glances, which they framed as a thank you letter to their fans. ~ Mark Deming
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Pigeon Detectives

Albums by
The Pigeon Detectives

Top Songs by
The Pigeon Detectives

  1.   Song
  2.   Say It Like You Mean It
  3.   This Is An Emergency
  4.   She's Gone
  5.   Love You For A Day (Hate You For A Week)
  6.   Wolves
  7.   Everybody Wants Me
  8.   A Little Bit Alone
  9.   I Don't Mind
  10.   Animal
  11.   Nothing To Do With You
  12.   Making Up Numbers
  13.   Kick In The Shins
  14.   Stay With Me
  15.   Falling in Love
  16.   Light Me Up
  17.   I Need You
  18.   Wouldn't Believe It
  19.   I'm Not the One
  20.   You Know I Love You
  21.   Caught In Your Trap
  22.   Wait For Me
  23.   I'm A Liar
  24.   Can't You Find Me
  25.   I Won't Come Back
  26.   Lose Control
  27.   You're Just No Good for Me
  28.   Enemy Lines
  29.   All I Know
  30.   Romantic Type
  31.   Hello (My Old Friend)
  32.   Stop and Go
  33.   Change My World
  34.   Munro
  35.   Where You Are
  36.   Unforgettable
  37.   Ready for the Floor
  38.   I'm Not Gonna Take This
  39.   Keep On Your Dress
  40.   You Don't Need It
  41.   Take Her Back
  42.   I'm Always Right
  43.   Don't Know How To Say Goodbye
  44.   I'm Not Sorry
  45.   Don't You Wanna Find Out
  46.   You Better Not Look My Way
  47.   Mislead
  48.   Postcards
  49.   Left Alone
  50.   I Found Out
  51.   No State to Drive
  52.   Girlfriend
  53.   Get Up, Get Out
  54.   I Can't Control Myself
  55.   Hold Your Gaze
  56.   Let Go
  57.   Day and Month
  58.   Dick'ead
  59.   I'll Be Waiting
  60.   Sounding the Alarm
  61.   Power Of Love

Artists Related to The Pigeon Detectives

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |