Slacker Logo


Plain White T's

Hailing from the suburbs of Chicago, the punk-pop outfit Plain White T's began taking shape in 1997, a full ten years before the acoustic ballad "Hey There Delilah" made them Grammy-nominated stars. Lead singer Tom Higgenson was originally fascinated with the drums, having served as the percussionist for various rock bands during high school. One such band was Harvey's Daughter, whose lineup also featured bass player Ken Fletcher. Although the group disbanded, the two remained friends and quickly launched a different band, with Higgenson taking over lead duties as songwriter and singer. Drummer Dave Tirio also joined the new lineup, bringing Plain White T's to fruition during the fall of 1997. Performances in various Chicago clubs earned the band a small but devout following. In the summer of 1999, Higgenson was nearly killed in a car accident; the crash resulted in a ruptured kidney and lacerated lung. However, the event also left him with a newfound dedication to songwriting, and the band began making quick progress as a result, self-releasing Come on Over in 2001 and signing with Fearless Records for the release of Stop in 2002. Although plagued by lineup shifts during the supporting tour, Plain White T's still found time to record All That We Needed, which hit shelves in early 2005. By that point, the band's roster had solidified with a lineup comprised of vocalist Higgenson, guitarists Tirio and Tim Lopez, drummer De'Mar Hamilton, and bassist Mike Retondo. The band then participated in the 2005 Take Action tour alongside groups like Sugarcult and Head Automatica before joining up with Motion City Soundtrack for tour dates in 2006. The enhanced EP Hey There Delilah was released that May, containing versions of the titular ballad (originally issued on All That We Needed), along with four new songs and music videos. The band's work ethic and promising songcraft earned Plain White T's a new contract with Hollywood Records, and Every Second Counts, their hook-laden debut for the label, appeared in September 2006. The band returned to the road soon after, but fortunes improved as "Hey There Delilah" gathered steam on radio stations across the U.S. By the following summer, the song had topped the charts in ten different countries and helped jump-start sales of Every Second Counts (which, incidentally, only featured "Hey There Delilah" in enhanced versions of the record). Plain White T's received two Grammy nominations for the song, and the band returned in 2008 with Big Bad World -- a return-to-form effort featuring the band's usual mix of spunky energy and pop/rock craft. In 2010, Plain White T's released the song "The Rhythm of Love," featuring lead vocals from guitarist Tim Lopez. Built upon a laid-back acoustic sound, it was the first single from the band's sixth studio album, The Wonders of the Younger, which was released that December; the album peaked at 149, a downturn from its predecessor's 33. The band then took some time off, starting to return to action with the 2013 EP Should've Gone to Bed before delivering the full-length American Nights in April 2015. ~ Jason MacNeil & Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Plain White T's

    '00s Pop

    '00s Pop
    1 song

    Breakup Songs

    Breakup Songs
    1 song

    Adult Alternative

    Adult Alternative
    1 song

    Adult Rock

    Adult Rock
    1 song

    Love Songs

    3 songs

    '00s Alternative

    1 song

    Hot Summer Hits

    1 song

    Acoustic Rock

    1 song

    Lite Hits

    2 songs

    Coffeehouse Corner

    1 song

Albums by
Plain White T's

Top Songs by
Plain White T's

  1.   Song
  2.   Hey There Delilah
  3.   1, 2, 3, 4
  4.   Rhythm of Love
  5.   Season of a Lifetime
  6.   Nuttin' for Christmas
  7.   Hate (I Really Don't Like You)
  8.   Boomerang
  9.   Song 2
  10.   Our Time Now
  11.   The Giving Tree
  12.   Last Breath
  13.   Tearin' Us Apart
  14.   What More Do You Want
  15.   Meet Me In California
  16.   Big Bad World
  17.   Faster
  18.   Please Don't Do This
  19.   Here Come That Sunrise
  20.   Someday You're Gonna Love Me
  21.   Airplane
  22.   So Damn Clever
  23.   Sing My Best
  24.   All That We Needed
  25.   Your Fault
  26.   Happy Someday
  27.   Love Again
  28.   Heavy Rotation
  29.   Pause
  30.   Haven't Told Her
  31.   Welcome to Mystery
  32.   Someday
  33.   That Girl
  34.   Rainy Day
  35.   Natural Disaster
  36.   When I See an Elephant Fly
  37.   Let's Pretend
  38.   Cinderella Story
  39.   Let Me Take You There
  40.   Figure It Out
  41.   Write You a Song
  42.   Friends Don't Let Friends Dial Drunk
  43.   You and Me
  44.   Losing Myself
  45.   Easy Way Out
  46.   Breakdown
  47.   My Only One
  48.   Take Me Away
  49.   Radios in Heaven
  50.   Leavin'
  51.   What If
  52.   Time to Move On
  53.   Dance Off-Time
  54.   You Belong
  55.   Stay
  56.   Never Working
  57.   American Nights
  58.   Pet Sematary
  59.   Cirque dans La Rue
  60.   Broken Record
  61.   Map of the World
  62.   Poor Jack
  63.   I Really Want You
  64.   Serious Mistake
  65.   Gimme a Chance
  66.   Making a Memory
  67.   If I Told You
  68.   Last Call
  69.   Lazy Day Afternoon
  70.   Revenge
  71.   Bruises
  72.   Can't Turn Away
  73.   Shine
  74.   Fireworks
  75.   Stop
  76.   Helium
  77.   Body Parts
  78.   Make It Up as You Go
  79.   Our Song
  80.   Irrational Anthem
  81.   Come Back to Me
  82.   It's So Easy
  83.   Down the Road
  84.   Anything
  85.   Penny (Perfect for You)
  86.   A Lonely September
  87.   Should've Gone To Bed
  88.   Wonders of the Younger
  89.   Killer
  90.   Sad Story
  91.   Sunlight
  92.   Land of the Living