Slacker Logo


Portugal. The Man

There has to be some credit given for this band's name alone -- co-founder John Gourley once explained it as an attempt to create a demi-mythic entity bigger than the individual members. Formed in Wasilla, Alaska, experimental indie pop group Portugal. The Man grew out of the ashes of Anatomy of a Ghost, a post-hardcore band whose vocalist and guitarist -- Gourley and Zach Carothers, respectively -- opted to continue working together. Rounding out the new band's lineup was keyboardist/singer Wes Hubbard, himself a veteran of other Alaskan groups, and the trio eventually relocated from Alaska to Portland, Oregon. Their initial existence in the Pacific Northwest was the typical hardscrabble life of a band with few resources, but drummer Jason Sechrist (formerly of Konmai Defense System) joined to form a more stable lineup. The band's profile received a boost from the Internet (the musicians made heavy use of MySpace and PureVolume for promotional purposes), and Portugal. The Man released an EP in 2005 before issuing their debut album, Waiter: You Vultures!, in early 2006. In 2007, the group (whose lineup had once again reverted to three members, as Hubbard had left and was replaced by touring keyboardist Ryan Neighbors) issued Church Mouth, whose aggressive sound bore traces of Led Zeppelin and Jane's Addiction. The bandmates then opted to finance their third record themselves, drawing upon a wealth of guest musicians -- including trombonists, trumpeters, and violinists -- to create the eclectic Censored Colors. In 2009 the group released The Satanic Satanist, which became their first record to chart on the Billboard 200. They quickly followed it with the mellower and more electronic American Ghetto, and the band signed with Atlantic Records later in 2010. Guitarist Noah Gersh joined the lineup for Portugal. The Man's 2011 summer tour, and the group recorded its major-label debut album, In the Mountain in the Cloud, in late 2011. Produced by John Hill and mixed by Andy Wallace, it was released in July of 2012. Around that time, Sleep Forever, a 13-minute short directed by Michael Ragen and shot entirely in Gourley's hometown, premiered on the Independent Film Channel. It would be the last recording for members Sechrist and Neighbors, who were replaced by drummer Kane Ritchotte and keyboardist Kyle O'Quin. Portugal. The Man enlisted Danger Mouse (Brian Burton) as producer for 2013's Evil Friends, which was released in June of 2013. They returned to the studio in 2014 with the Beastie Boys' Mike D for their eighth studio album. The recordings were eventually scrapped, however, and the band emerged in 2017 with fresh material via the self-produced Woodstock. Led by the single "Feel It Still," it was named in honor of the 1969 festival and their attempt to "say something that mattered" in a context of sociopolitical unrest. ~ Ned Raggett
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Portugal. The Man

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    2 songs

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    2 songs

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    2 songs

    Alternative Party

    Alternative Party
    1 song

    Top Indie

    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    3 songs

    Indie Party

    3 songs

    Relax Trax

    1 song

Albums by
Portugal. The Man

Top Songs by
Portugal. The Man

  1.   Song
  2.   People Say
  3.   Got It All (This Can't Be Living Now)
  4.   Purple Yellow Red and Blue
  5.   Feel It Still
  6.   All My People
  7.   The Dead Dog
  8.   AKA M80 the Wolf
  9.   My Mind
  10.   Modern Jesus
  11.   Sugar Cinnamon
  12.   Lay Me Back Down
  13.   Noise Pollution
  14.   Lovers in Love
  15.   So American
  16.   60 Years
  17.   Evil Friends
  18.   Guns and Dogs
  19.   Work All Day
  20.   Smile
  21.   Head Is a Flame (Cool with It)
  22.   Atomic Man
  23.   Sleep Forever
  24.   Church Mouth
  25.   The Sun
  26.   Do You
  27.   Out and in and in and Out
  28.   Everyone Is Golden
  29.   Elephants
  30.   Creep in a T-Shirt
  31.   All Mine
  32.   Dawn
  33.   And I
  34.   Share with Me the Sun
  35.   Hard Times and Our Times
  36.   Our Way
  37.   Heavy Games
  38.   Kill Me. The King
  39.   Main Man
  40.   Holy Roller (Hallelujah)
  41.   Hip Hop Kids
  42.   When the War Ends
  43.   Mornings
  44.   Never Pleased
  45.   New Orleans
  46.   Created
  47.   Telling Tellers Tell Me
  48.   Shade
  49.   How the Leopard Got Its Spots
  50.   Someday Believers
  51.   Waves
  52.   Sea of Air
  53.   Plastic Soldiers
  54.   The Pines
  55.   You Carried Us (Share with Me the Sun)
  56.   Once Was One
  57.   Floating (Time Isn't Working My Side)
  58.   Our Times
  59.   Hard Times
  60.   1989
  61.   Fantastic Pace
  62.   Do What We Do
  63.   Break
  64.   Let You Down
  65.   The Woods
  66.   The Home
  67.   Salt
  68.   Colors
  69.   Oh Lord
  70.   Sleeping Sleepers Sleep
  71.   Sun Brother (Excerpt)
  72.   Guns. Guns...Guns
  73.   Tommy
  74.   Chicago
  75.   Some Men
  76.   Stables & Chairs
  77.   Evil Friends by Danny Brown
  78.   Senseless
  79.   Everything You See (Kids Count Hallelujahs)