Slacker Logo


Protest the Hero

Combining technical metal and post-hardcore instincts, Whitby, Ontario's Protest the Hero are comprised of Rody Walker (vocals), Tim Millar (guitar/vocals), Luke Hoskin (guitar/vocals), Moe Carlson (drums), and Arif Mirabdolbaghi (bass/vocals). Starting as many bands do -- with a common musical passion found among high school friends -- Protest the Hero worked hard on developing their own identity, and their sound soon became reminiscent of a combination of Coheed & Cambria, At the Drive-In, and Every Time I Die. They released the 7" Search for the Truth on Canada's Underground Operations in 2001 and followed up two years later with the EP A Calculated Use of Sound. Their music was getting noticed around the country, and they won Best Indie Metal Band at the 2004 Indie Music Awards in Toronto and had multiple appearances on the Canadian music channel MuchMusic. Relentless touring continued with a range of bands from Korn and Limp Bizkit to Bigwig and Sum 41. Protest the Hero issued their debut full-length, Kezia, a sort of concept album referred to by the band as a "situationist requiem," in 2005. Signing with Vagrant in early 2006, Kezia was re-released in the United States that April. In 2008, the band released its second album, Fortress, which received near universal critical acclaim. Scurrilous, the group's third long-player, arrived in March of 2011. 2013 saw the amicable departure of original drummer and co-founder Moe Carlson. It also saw the release of the band's much anticipated fourth studio long-player, Volition, which was entirely crowd-funded via Indiegogo. Bassist Arif Mirabdolbaghi left the fold the following year and was replaced by producer Cameron McLellan, who would come on as an unofficial member. In 2015, the group announced that their next release, an EP called Pacific Myth, would be subscription-based, with the six tracks to be released through Bandcamp once per month to paid subscribers until March 2016. ~ Corey Apar
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Protest the Hero

Albums by
Protest the Hero

Top Songs by
Protest the Hero

  1.   Song
  2.   Bloodmeat
  3.   Sequoia Throne
  4.   Heretics & Killers
  5.   Divinity Within
  6.   C'est La Vie
  7.   Mist
  8.   She Who Mars the Skin of Gods
  9.   Caravan
  10.   Skies
  11.   Animal Bones
  12.   Wretch
  13.   Hair-Trigger
  14.   Goddess Gagged
  15.   Clarity
  16.   Bone Marrow
  17.   No Stars Over Bethlehem
  18.   Termites
  19.   Tapestry
  20.   Moonlight
  21.   Palms Read
  22.   Turn Soonest to the Sea
  23.   Nautical
  24.   Harbinger
  25.   Cold Water
  26.   Underbite
  27.   A Life Embossed
  28.   Plato's Tripartite
  29.   Yellow Teeth
  30.   The Reign of Unending Terror
  31.   Tandem
  32.   Spoils
  33.   Goddess Bound
  34.   Divine Suicide of K.
  35.   Blindfolds Aside
  36.   Limb From Limb
  37.   Cataract
  38.   Ragged Tooth
  39.   Tidal
  40.   Tilting Against Windmills
  41.   Tongue-Splitter
  42.   Dunsel
  43.   The Dissentience
  44.   Without Prejudice
  45.   Sex Tapes
  46.   Bury the Hatchet
  47.   A Plateful of Our Dead
  48.   Drumhead Trial

Artists Related to Protest the Hero

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |