Slacker Logo


Protest the Hero

Combining technical metal and post-hardcore instincts, Whitby, Ontario's Protest the Hero are comprised of Rody Walker (vocals), Tim Millar (guitar/vocals), Luke Hoskin (guitar/vocals), Moe Carlson (drums), and Arif Mirabdolbaghi (bass/vocals). Starting as many bands do -- with a common musical passion found among high-school friends -- Protest the Hero worked hard on developing their own identity; their sound soon became reminiscent of a combination of Coheed & Cambria, At the Drive-In, and Every Time I Die. They released the 7" Search for the Truth on Canada's Underground Operations in 2001 and followed up two years later with the EP A Calculated Use of Sound. Their music was getting noticed around the country, as they won Best Indie Metal Band at the 2004 Indie Music Awards in Toronto and had multiple appearances on the Canadian music channel MuchMusic. Relentless touring continued with a range of bands from Korn and Limp Bizkit to Bigwig and Sum 41. Protest the Hero issued their debut full-length, Kezia, a sort of concept album referred to by the band as a "situationist requiem," in 2005. Signing with Vagrant in early 2006, Kezia was re-released in the United States that April. In 2008, the band released its second album, Fortress, which received near universal critical acclaim. Scurrilous, the group's third long-player, arrived in March of 2011. ~ Corey Apar
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Protest the Hero

Albums by
Protest the Hero

Top Songs by
Protest the Hero

  1.   Song
  2.   Bloodmeat
  3.   Sequoia Throne
  4.   Heretics & Killers
  5.   Divinity Within
  6.   C'est La Vie
  7.   Goddess Gagged
  8.   Without Prejudice
  9.   Clarity
  10.   These Colours Don't Run
  11.   Plato's Tripartite
  12.   A Life Embossed
  13.   Blindfolds Aside
  14.   Tilting Against Windmills
  15.   Red Stars Over the Battle of the Cowshed
  16.   Apathetic New World
  17.   Tandem
  18.   Sex Tapes
  19.   Moonlight
  20.   Hair-Trigger
  21.   Bone Marrow
  22.   Spoils
  23.   Goddess Bound
  24.   She Who Mars the Skin of Gods
  25.   Bury the Hatchet
  26.   Skies
  27.   Underbite
  28.   The Dissentience
  29.   Limb From Limb
  30.   Wretch
  31.   Nautical
  32.   No Stars Over Bethlehem
  33.   Animal Bones
  34.   Yellow Teeth
  35.   Drumhead Trial
  36.   Led Astray
  37.   The Reign of Unending Terror
  38.   I Am Dmitri Karamazov and the World is My Father
  39.   Palms Read
  40.   Turn Soonest to the Sea
  41.   Mist
  42.   Tongue-Splitter
  43.   Tapestry
  44.   Dunsel
  45.   Soft Targets Dig Softer Graves
  46.   Divine Suicide of K.
  47.   Plateful of Our Dead
  48.   Termites
  49.   Fear and Loathing in Laramie
  50.   DVD
  51.   Bonus Material
  52.   On Conquest And Capture
  53.   Limb From Limb Pt. 1
  54.   Isosceles

Artists Related to Protest the Hero

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |