Slacker Logo



Influential Swedish hardcore band Refused were formed in 1991 by vocalist Dennis Lyxzén, guitarists Jon Brännström and Kristofer Steen, bassist Magnus Höggren, and drummer David Sandström. Debuting in 1993 with the EP This Is the New Deal, the group issued the full-length This Just Might Be...the Truth later that same year. The Everlasting EP followed in 1994, and in 1995 Refused returned with another EP, Refused Loves Randy. After 1996's Songs to Fan the Flames of Discontent, they issued the EP Rather Be Dead; in the wake of completing 1998's classic The Shape of Punk to Come, Refused disbanded, unable to reconcile their anarchist leanings with a career in music. Following their split, Lyxzén went on to form the (International) Noise Conspiracy, while other members created TEXT, among other side projects. The complete split lasted until 2008, when Lyxzén and Sandström formed hardcore outfit AC4. A couple of years later Epitaph Records caused a stir among the band's cult following after posting the cryptic message "Coming Soon" on the old Refused website. Speculation went into overdrive about a possible reunion, before it was announced that the promotion had been for the reissued version of The Shape of Punk to Come, which came packaged with a live album and Steen's documentary Refused Are Fucking Dead. In 2012 BBC Radio 1's Mike Davies announced the full reunion of both Refused and At the Drive-In, with the Swedish band confirming rumors of its slated appearance at Coachella that year. Following the announcement, Refused confirmed a host of summer festival appearances, before indicating that their re-formation was for 2012 only. To cap off their year, they returned to their hometown of Umeå in December for a special performance. They were awarded the "Special Prize for Swedish Music Exports" by the Minister of Trade in 2013, and in 2014 Jon Brännström left the band. Despite claiming their reunion was limited only to 2012, they were announced for the 2015 Reading and Leeds Festivals. Their fourth studio album, Freedom, was slated for release in 2015, coming 17 years after The Shape of Punk to Come. They recorded with Nick Launay (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Killing Joke), while also turning to Swedish pop producer/songwriter Shellback -- whose credits include Taylor Swift and Britney Spears -- for lead single "Elektra." ~ Jason Ankeny & Scott Kerr
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Punk U

    Punk U
    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   New Noise
  3.   Liberation Frequency
  4.   The Deadly Rythm
  5.   The Shape of Punk to Come
  6.   Elektra
  7.   Summerholidays vs. Punkroutine
  8.   Protest Song '68
  9.   Bruitist Pome #5
  10.   Tannhäuser/Derivè
  11.   Servants of Death
  12.   The Refused Party Program
  13.   Worms of the Senses/Faculties of the Skull
  14.   Refused Are Fucking Dead
  15.   The Apollo Programme Was a Hoax
  16.   Live Wire
  17.   Gratitude
  18.   [Untitled]
  19.   Blind
  20.   Poetry Written in Gasoline
  21.   Stolen Voices
  22.   Destroy the Man
  23.   Pump the Brakes
  24.   The Deadly Rhytmn
  25.   I Wish / D.R.S.S
  26.   Everlasting
  27.   366
  28.   Back In Black
  29.   Racial Liberation
  30.   Dust
  31.   Bottom
  32.   Blind Date
  33.   Coup d'Ètat
  34.   Rather Be Dead
  35.   Pretty Face
  36.   I Am Not Me
  37.   Sunflower Princess
  38.   Cheap
  39.   Guilty
  40.   Perception
  41.   Half Mast
  42.   Bullet
  43.   War on the Palaces
  44.   Thought Is Blood
  45.   Françafrique
  46.   Old Friends/New War
  47.   Where's Equality
  48.   Tannhäuser
  49.   Re-Fused
  50.   Another One
  51.   Enough Is Enough
  52.   Fusible Front
  53.   Reach Out
  54.   Fudge
  55.   The New Deal
  56.   I Wish
  57.   Where Is Equality
  58.   Who Died
  59.   Burn
  60.   Hate Breeds Hate
  61.   I'll Choose My Side
  62.   The Marlboro Man is Dead
  63.   Defeated
  64.   Tide
  65.   Mark
  66.   Inclination
  67.   Our Silence
  68.   5th Freedom
  69.   Trickbag
  70.   Intro
  71.   Strength
  72.   Voodoo People
  73.   Lick It Clean
  74.   Circle Pit
  75.   Jag Äter Inte Mina Vänner
  76.   The Slayer
  77.   Last Minute Pointer
  78.   Beauty
  79.   This Trust Will Kill Again
  80.   Burn It
  81.   Symbols
  82.   The Real
  83.   Hook, Line and Sinker
  84.   Return to the Closet
  85.   Life Support Addiction
  86.   No Reason Why
  87.   Dawkins Christ
  88.   Worthless Is the Freedom Bought...
  89.   It's Not O.K. ...
  90.   Soft
  91.   Elektra by SBCR
  92.   Crusader of Hopelessness
  93.   Summerholiday vs. Punkroutine
  94.   The Marlboro Is Dead
  95.   Angel by zZz
  96.   Break
  97.   L 182
  98.   Useless Europeans