Slacker Logo


Rob Thomas

As the lead singer and principal songwriter for Matchbox Twenty, Rob Thomas found success with a blend of '70s rock influences, slick hooks, and '90s post-grunge crunch. The Florida-based band broke through in 1996 with "Push" and never looked back, issuing single after single, scoring hits in various radio formats, and watching their debut LP, Yourself or Someone Like You, go platinum 12 times over in the U.S. Thomas himself won numerous songwriting awards as the scribe of such Matchbox hits as "Real World," "If You're Gone," "Bent," and "Mad Season," and he later parlayed that success into a career as a solo artist. Rob Thomas was born February 14, 1972, on an Army base in Landstuhl, Germany. His parents divorced, and the ex-Army brat spent most of his childhood in South Carolina and Florida. After dropping out of high school at 17, he bounced around the South singing in pickup rock bands before relocating to Orlando in 1993. There, he helped form the band Tabitha's Secret, a precursor to Matchbox Twenty. Although the group enjoyed some regional success, Thomas eventually left the lineup with bassist Brian Yale and drummer Paul Doucette in tow, and the departing musicians formed Matchbox Twenty with guitarists Adam Gaynor and Kyle Cook. The band's multi-platinum debut, Yourself or Someone Like You, established Matchbox Twenty as a superstar act, but Thomas wasn't individually well known. That all changed when Thomas co-wrote the chart-topping single "Smooth" for the Carlos Santana album Supernatural. "Smooth" was ubiquitous in 1999, and it made Thomas a star. The track took home three Grammys, including the coveted Song of the Year award, and Thomas landed on People's Most Beautiful People list. Meanwhile, he also married model Marisol Maldonado. Mad Season (2000) and More Than You Think You Are (2002) continued Matchbox Twenty's success, but after years of touring in support of both records, the bandmembers decided they needed a break, and Thomas used the hiatus to write and record his first solo album. When "Lonely No More" debuted in early 2005, its sleek and funky dance-pop sound was closer to Justin Timberlake than Matchbox, and it helped stir up anticipation for the April release of the chart-topping Something to Be. In 2007, Thomas reunited with Matchbox Twenty for several tour dates and the release of the band's retrospective collection Exile on Mainstream. He then delivered his 2009 sophomore solo effort, Cradlesong, which debuted at number three on the Billboard 200 chart. Three years later, he was once again back with Matchbox Twenty for the group's fourth studio album, North. In 2015, Thomas released his third solo LP, The Great Unknown. The album contained several collaborations including the single "Trust You," which was co-written and produced by OneRepublic's Ryan Tedder. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Rob Thomas

    Pop Remixes

    Pop Remixes
    2 songs

    Dance Pop

    Dance Pop
    2 songs

    Lite Hits

    Lite Hits
    3 songs

    Love Songs

    Love Songs
    2 songs

    Oldies Holiday

    1 song

    Shuffle Hits

    1 song

Albums by
Rob Thomas

Top Songs by
Rob Thomas

  1.   Song
  2.   A New York Christmas
  3.   Someday
  4.   Her Diamonds
  5.   Ever the Same
  6.   Pieces
  7.   Lonely No More
  8.   Little Wonders
  9.   Something to Be
  10.   This Is How a Heart Breaks
  11.   Streetcorner Symphony
  12.   Mockingbird
  13.   Hold On Forever
  14.   Little Wonders, song (as used in the film Meet The Robinsons)
  15.   All That I Am
  16.   Natural
  17.   NLYTM
  18.   When the Heartache Ends
  19.   Lie to Me
  20.   Snowblind
  21.   Gasoline
  22.   Problem Girl
  23.   Fire On the Mountain
  24.   Real World '09
  25.   Now Comes the Night
  26.   Things You Said
  27.   Wind It Up
  28.   Sunday Morning New York Blue
  29.   Cradlesong
  30.   Fallin' to Pieces
  31.   Absence of Affection
  32.   The Great Unknown
  33.   Trust You
  34.   Wonderful
  35.   Give Me the Meltdown
  36.   Getting Late
  37.   I Am an Illusion
  38.   I Think We'd Feel Good Together
  39.   One Shot
  40.   Soul Sick
  41.   Hard on You
  42.   My, My, My
  43.   Still Ain't Over You
  44.   Paper Dolls
  45.   Feel So Bad
  46.   Heaven Help Me

Artists Related to Rob Thomas

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |