Slacker Logo


Robert Glasper

Hailing from Houston, Texas, Robert Glasper is a jazz pianist with a knack for mellow, harmonically complex compositions that also reveal a subtle hip-hop influence. Inspired to play piano by his mother, a gospel pianist and vocalist, Glasper attended Houston's High School for the Performing Arts. After graduation, he studied music at the New School University in Manhattan, where he found performance work with such luminaries as bassist Christian McBride, saxophonist Kenny Garrett, and others. After graduating college, Glasper worked with a variety of artists, including trumpeter Roy Hargrove, vocalist Carly Simon, and rapper Mos Def. The pianist released his debut album, Mood, on Fresh Sound New Talent in 2004. Canvas and In My Element followed in 2005 and 2007, respectively, on Blue Note Records. In 2009, Glasper released the forward-thinking album Double Booked, which featured a mix of modal post-bop and funky, '80s Herbie Hancock-inspired numbers with two separate bands. The first of these was his trio with drummer Chris Dave and upright bassist Vicente Archer; they recorded five originals and a cover of Thelonious Monk's "Think of One." These tracks were followed by five more originals by his electric band, dubbed the Robert Glasper Experiment, featuring Dave, electric bassist Derrick Hodge, and Casey Benjamin on saxes and vocoder. In 2012, the Robert Glasper Experiment (with a slew of all-star guest vocalists) issued their first stand-alone album, Black Radio, for Blue Note, which sought to blur the boundaries between jazz, hip-hop, R&B, and rock & roll; it entered the jazz charts at number one and went on to win a Grammy Award for Best R&B Album. Later in the year, Glasper and Blue Note released Black Radio Recovered: The Remix EP; 9th Wonder, Georgia Anne Muldrow, and Pete Rock were among those who participated. In 2013, the Robert Glasper Experiment (now including Hodge and Benjamin with drummer Mark Colenburg) returned with their equally star-studded sophomore album, Black Radio 2. It also won a Grammy, this time for Best Traditional R&B Performance for the cover of Stevie Wonder's "Jesus Children of America." Glasper returned to his original acoustic piano trio format with bassist Archer and drummer Damion Reid. They cut 2015's Covered live at Capitol Studios in front of an invited audience. The album's pre-release single was a reading of Radiohead's "Reckoner"; it was released in April and followed by the album in June. ~ Matt Collar & Thom Jurek
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Robert Glasper

    Modern Jazz

    Modern Jazz
    9 songs

    Smooth Vocals

    Smooth Vocals
    3 songs


    1 song

Albums by
Robert Glasper

Top Songs by
Robert Glasper

  1.   Song
  2.   Ah Yeah featuring Chrisette Michele
  3.   Black Radio featuring Mos Def
  4.   Gonna Be Alright (F.T.B.) featuring Ledisi
  5.   The Worst
  6.   Good Morning
  7.   F.T.B.
  8.   Yes I'm Country (And That's OK)
  9.   Ah Yeah featuring Chrisette Michele
  10.   Barangrill
  11.   Afro Blue by Robert Glasper Experiment
  12.   Stella by Starlight
  13.   Medley: Maiden Voyage/Everything in Its Right Place
  14.   Beatrice
  15.   59 South
  16.   Y'outta Praise Him (Intro)
  17.   Butterfly
  18.   Move Love featuring King
  19.   Cherish the Day featuring Lalah Hathaway
  20.   Rise and Shine
  21.   Calls
  22.   Levels
  23.   Reckoner
  24.   Canvas
  25.   One for 'Grew
  26.   North Portland
  27.   Letter to Hermione by Bilal
  28.   Downtime
  29.   Riot
  30.   Think of One
  31.   For You
  32.   Festival
  33.   All Matter
  34.   G&B
  35.   Monk's Dream
  36.   Of Dreams to Come
  37.   No Worries
  38.   Open Mind
  39.   4eva
  40.   Enoch's Meditation
  41.   In Your Own Sweet Way
  42.   Lift Off/Mic Check featuring Robert Glasper Experiment
  43.   Why Do We Try featuring Robert Glasper Experiment
  44.   The Consequences of Jealousy by Meshell Ndegeocello
  45.   In Case You Forgot
  46.   I Don't Even Care
  47.   Baby Tonight (Black Radio 2 Theme)/Mic Check 2
  48.   So Beautiful
  49.   Somebody Else
  50.   What Are We Doing
  51.   Smells Like Teen Spirit by Robert Glasper Experiment
  52.   Jelly's da Beener
  53.   I'm Dying of Thirst
  54.   Persevere
  55.   You Own Me
  56.   Trust
  57.   Jesus Children
  58.   Let It Ride
  59.   Yet to Find
  60.   Worries
  61.   I Stand Alone
  62.   Letter to Hermione featuring Bilal
  63.   Twice featuring Robert Glasper Experiment
  64.   Always Shine featuring Bilal
  65.   Intro
  66.   Don't Close Your Eyes featuring Bilal
  67.   Mood featuring John Ellis
  68.   Centelude
  69.   Maiden Voyage featuring Bilal
  70.   L.N.K. Blues featuring John Ellis
  71.   Chant
  72.   Letter to Hermione featuring Bilal
  73.   Portrait of an Angel
  74.   Grey Days
  75.   Tribute
  76.   I Remember
  77.   Silly Rabbit
  78.   J Dillalude
  79.   Dillalude #2 by Robert Glasper Experiment
  80.   Got Over