Slacker Logo


Ronnie Montrose

Guitarist Ronnie Montrose began his career as a backing musician, playing with Van Morrison, Boz Scaggs, and Edgar Winter. He finally formed his own band in 1973. Named after the guitarist, Montrose also featured vocalist Sammy Hagar, bassist Bill Church, and drummer Denny Carmassi; they released their debut album in 1974, and Church was replaced by Alan Fitzgerald shortly after its release. Released the following year, Paper Money confirmed the band's status as one of the more popular hard rock acts of their era. However, Hagar was fired after completing the Paper Money tour. Bob James replaced him and keyboardist Jim Alcivar joined the band, yet Montrose's next two albums -- 1975's Warner Brothers Presents Montrose and 1976's Jump on It -- were commercial failures. Ronnie Montrose broke up the band after the release of Jump on It and began his own solo career with the all-instrumental Open Fire (1978). Montrose then formed another hard rock group, Gamma, which recorded three albums between 1979 and 1982. After they broke up in 1982, Montrose picked his solo career once again. He released a rather low-key album, Territory, in 1983, following it four years later in 1987 with the hard-rocking and impressive Mean (attributing it to Gamma). The Speed of Sound appeared in 1988, with The Diva Station, a semi-instrumental mesh of soul, pop, metal, and jazz, arriving in 1990. Montrose began putting more of his time into production work, but continued to release solo albums, including Mutatis Mutandis (1991), Music from Here (1994), Mr. Bones (1996), Roll Over and Play Live (1999), and Bearings (1999), before reuniting Gamma for a fourth Gamma album in 2000. Montrose continued his production and session work, and would tour regularly over the last dozen years of his life, despite battling prostate cancer during the late 2000s. A self-inflicted gun shot ended his life on March 3, 2012. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine & Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Ronnie Montrose

Albums by
Ronnie Montrose

Top Songs by
Ronnie Montrose

  1.   Song
  2.   Rocky Road
  3.   Fear Not
  4.   Specialist
  5.   Still Singin' With the Band featuring Eric Singer
  6.   Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2
  7.   No Beginning/No End
  8.   Leo Rising
  9.   Town Without Pity
  10.   Wish in One Hand
  11.   Clown Woman
  12.   Indigo Spheres
  13.   Open Fire
  14.   Heavy Traffic featuring Eric Singer
  15.   Primary Function
  16.   Largemouth
  17.   Dancin' Feet
  18.   Life After Life
  19.   Braindance
  20.   Openers
  21.   Road to Reason
  22.   Sidewinder
  23.   Twenty Flight Rock
  24.   My Little Mystery
  25.   All I Need
  26.   Mr. Walker
  27.   Walk Softly

Artists Related to Ronnie Montrose


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |