Slacker Logo


Sam Roberts Band

Canadian singer/songwriter Sam Roberts released his first true debut in 2002, following a popular demo he had made in Montreal. Before that, he had been a violin player who eventually moved on to guitar and started a rock band with his friends. After getting a bit of coverage on MuchMusic, they decided to try their luck in Los Angeles. The band didn't get any positive reactions from record labels and disbanded in 1998, but that didn't stop Roberts from going back to Canada and beginning to write again. He put together the aforementioned demo before sitting down to record his debut, The Inhuman Condition, which was released in 2002 and became the best-selling independent release in Canadian history. In 2003 he signed with Universal and released his second album, We Were Born in a Flame, in June. The album was a huge hit in Canada and Roberts ended up winning Juno Awards for Album of the Year, Rock Album of the Year, and Artist of the Year. He continued to release well-regarded albums for the remainder of the decade: Chemical City in April 2006 and Love at the End of the World in May of 2008. Each album also won the Juno for Rock Album of the Year. For his 2011 release, Collider, which featured Dave Nugent on lead guitar, Eric Fares on keyboard and guitar, James Hall on bass, and Josh Trager on drums, Roberts changed from using his name to using Sam Roberts Band. In 2014, Sam Roberts Band returned with the '80s dance-rock-influenced Lo-Fantasy. Two years later, Roberts delivered his sixth studio album, TerraForm, recorded at the Tragically Hip's Bathouse Recording Studios in Kingston, Ontario. Produced by Roberts with Holy Fuck's Graham Walsh, the album featured the single "If You Want It." ~ Bradley Torreano
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Sam Roberts Band

    Jam Bands

    Jam Bands
    1 song

Albums by
Sam Roberts Band

Top Songs by
Sam Roberts Band

  1.   Song
  2.   We're All in This Together by Sam Roberts
  3.   The Last Crusade
  4.   Longitude
  5.   TerraForm
  6.   Lake Effect
  7.   Black Spark
  8.   Partition Blues
  9.   Tourist Trap
  10.   Ritual Dance
  11.   Roll With the Spirits
  12.   If You Want It
  13.   Durban Days
  14.   Counting the Days
  15.   Chasing the Light
  16.   Twist the Knife
  17.   Tractor Beam Blues
  18.   Graveyard Shift
  19.   Streets of Heaven (Promises, Promises)
  20.   Rogue Empire
  21.   FIEND
  22.   Broken Teeth
  23.   No Arrows
  24.   Spirit In the Sky
  25.   Spring Fever
  26.   Let It In
  27.   The House Inside
  28.   Sang Froid
  29.   Without a Map

Artists Related to Sam Roberts Band

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |