Slacker Logo



As a solo project with a revolving door of members, the heart and face of Santigold is vivacious frontwoman Santi White. White and John Hill, her former counterpart from ska-punk band Stiffed, use their common backgrounds as production-savvy musicians to make bombastic, bass-oriented songs that fuse punk, reggae, grime, and indie rock with electro. Tribal island rhythms merge with flavorful digital chirps and blips, culminating in an original sound that is comparable to M.I.A. but draws from too many other influences to be considered just another M.I.A. knockoff. While showcasing her array of vocal styles at a Stiffed show, White was spotted by Martin Heath, who made her an offer to record a solo record on Lizard King, the label responsible for the successful promotion of the Killers. After failed attempts with a few mainstream pop producers, White and Hill (now calling the project Santogold) decided to pair up with a crew of like-minded musicians -- including Freq Nasty, Disco D, Switch, Spank Rock's Naeem, Xxxchange, Steel Pulse guitarist Clifford Moonie Pusey, and none other than M.I.A. herself. In only three weeks, the full-length Creator was completed and scheduled for release in January of 2008, though it took until April for the album (retitled simply Santogold) to actually hit shelves. She spent time supporting headlining acts ranging from Coldplay to Jay-Z for the rest of the year. Then White decided to change the name of the project to Santigold in early 2009 for reasons related to an impending lawsuit from wrestler and "personality" Santo Gold. Although a follow-up under the new name was not immediately forthcoming, she kept busy featuring on tracks by N.A.S.A. (The Spirit of Apollo), Beastie Boys (Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2), and the Lonely Island (Turtleneck & Chain). She started recording solo again in January 2010. Once the dynamic sophomore follow-up was completed, the release date was delayed when she briefly joined and left Jay-Z's Roc-a-Fella Records, but eventually she signed with Atlantic Records, and Master of My Make-Believe was unveiled in April of 2012. ~ Jason Lymangrover
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    New Hip-Hop First

    New Hip-Hop First
    1 song

    New Pop First

    New Pop First
    1 song


    1 song

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    1 song

    Pop Rock

    1 song

    '00s Indie

    2 songs


    1 song

    Hot Summer Hits

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Lights Out
  3.   Disparate Youth
  4.   L.E.S. Artistes
  5.   Creator
  6.   The Keepers
  7.   Go by Karen O
  8.   Shove It
  9.   I'm a Lady
  10.   Big Mouth
  11.   Starstruck
  12.   Who Be Lovin Me
  13.   Can't Get Enough of Myself by B.C.
  14.   Anne
  15.   The Riot's Gone
  16.   Chasing Shadows
  17.   You'll Find a Way
  18.   Shove It Featuring Spank Rock
  19.   Freak Like Me
  20.   Shooting Arrows at the Sky
  21.   Radio
  22.   My Superman
  23.   Fame
  24.   Say Aha
  25.   Girls
  26.   Look at These Hoes
  27.   Pirate in the Water
  28.   Say Aha
  29.   Unstoppable
  30.   My Drive Thru featuring Julian Casablancas
  31.   God from the Machine
  32.   Kicking Down Doors
  33.   This Isn't Our Parade
  34.   Shove It
  35.   Your Voice
  36.   Hometown Glory
  37.   Lights Out
  38.   Mesopotamia by The B-52's
  39.   [CD-ROM Track]
  40.   Who Be Lovin Me
  41.   Can't Get Enough of Myself by B.C.
  42.   Big Boss
  43.   Banshee
  44.   Walking in a Circle
  45.   Who Be Lovin' Me by I Love Makonnen
  46.   Rendezvous Girl
  47.   Before the Fire
  48.   All I Got
  49.   Outside the War
  50.   Run From the Races
  51.   Who I Thought You Were
  52.   Big Boss Big Time Business
  53.   Run the Races
  54.   Can't Get Enough of Myself by B.C.
  55.   Don't Play No Game That I Can't Win

Artists Related to Santigold

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |