Slacker Logo


She & Him

She & Him feature the somewhat unlikely pairing of country-folk artist M. Ward and actress/singer/songwriter Zooey Deschanel. While starring in the 2007 film The Go-Getter, Deschanel was asked by director Martin Hynes to perform a duet with Ward, who had agreed to helm the movie's soundtrack. The two recorded a cover of Richard & Linda Thompson's "When I Get to the Border" and later reconvened in Portland, where they began recording Deschanel's original songs (which the actress had previously demoed for years, but kept secret) in Ward's studio. Drawing upon analog production techniques and a shared love of vintage pop bands, the duo emerged with Volume One, a collection of songs that introduced Deschanel as a singer/songwriter in her own right. Released in March 2008 by Merge and Domino, Volume One received support from a number of critics, with Paste magazine even deeming it the year's best album. The duo soon embarked on a summer-long tour, after which Deschanel and Ward began working on a second album. Volume Two arrived in early 2010, cracking the Billboard Top Ten during its first week and paving the way for another successful tour. Drawing inspiration from classic holiday offerings from the likes of the Carpenters, the Beach Boys, and Vince Guaraldi, Ward and Deschanel's third outing under the moniker found the duo tackling their first collection of Christmas music. The resulting A Very She & Him Christmas arrived in October 2011. The pair returned to making their breezy pop in 2013 with Volume 3, an album of summery pop that arrived in the spring of that year. In late 2014, the duo announced the release of a second covers album, Classics, which would also serve as their debut with Columbia. A sort of standards album, Classics featured works by legendary musicians such as Aretha Franklin, Dusty Springfield, Frank Sinatra, and Elvis Costello. They followed that with another Christmas album, Christmas Party, in 2016. Still focusing on 20th century holiday tunes, it included guest performances by the Chapin Sisters, Jenny Lewis, and Steve Shelley of Sonic Youth. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
She & Him

    Coffeehouse Corner

    Coffeehouse Corner
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

Albums by
She & Him

Top Songs by
She & Him

  1.   Song
  2.   Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?
  3.   Baby, It's Cold Outside
  4.   Thieves
  5.   In the Sun
  6.   Sleigh Ride
  7.   Christmas Wish
  8.   Little Saint Nick
  9.   Must Be Santa
  10.   Mele Kalikimaka
  11.   A Marshmallow World
  12.   Christmas Day
  13.   Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree
  14.   The Christmas Waltz
  15.   Winter Wonderland
  16.   All I Want for Christmas Is You
  17.   Christmas Don't Be Late
  18.   The Man with the Bag
  19.   The Coldest Night of the Year
  20.   Run Run Rudolph
  21.   Christmas Memories
  22.   Happy Holiday
  23.   Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
  24.   Time After Time
  25.   Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  26.   I Should Have Known Better
  27.   Ridin' in My Car
  28.   Silver Bells
  29.   Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want
  30.   Oh Boy!
  31.   I'll Be Home For Christmas
  32.   Sentimental Heart
  33.   Blue Christmas
  34.   Brand New Shoes
  35.   Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me
  36.   Together
  37.   Would You Like to Take a Walk?
  38.   King of the Road
  39.   Take It Back
  40.   Unchained Melody
  41.   She
  42.   Stay Awhile
  43.   I Put A Spell On You
  44.   If You Can't Sleep
  45.   You Really Got a Hold on Me
  46.   I Thought I Saw Your Face Today
  47.   Teach Me Tonight
  48.   This Girl's in Love with You
  49.   Stars Fell on Alabama
  50.   London
  51.   I Could've Been Your Girl
  52.   Baby
  53.   Lingering Still
  54.   Don't Look Back
  55.   Sweet Darlin'
  56.   This Is Not a Test
  57.   It's Always You
  58.   Oh No, Not My Baby
  59.   Something's Haunting You
  60.   Sing
  61.   I Can Hear Music
  62.   Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  63.   Got Me
  64.   Change Is Hard
  65.   God Only Knows
  66.   We'll Meet Again
  67.   I'll Never Be Free
  68.   Shadow of Love
  69.   Snow Queen
  70.   Somebody Sweet to Talk To
  71.   Turn to White
  72.   Over It Over Again
  73.   Me and You
  74.   I'm Gonna Make It Better
  75.   Home
  76.   Gonna Get Along Without You Now
  77.   I Was Made For You
  78.   Black Hole
  79.   It's Not for Me to Say
  80.   Reprise (I Could've Been Your Girl)
  81.   Sunday Girl
  82.   Never Wanted Your Love
  83.   I've Got Your Number, Son
  84.   The Christmas Song

Artists Related to She & Him