Slacker Logo



One-man band Louis Jones, hailing from Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, recorded slightly skewed, reverb-heavy amalgamations of '60s doo wop, Brill Building pop, and bashful garage rock -- often with dazed surf guitar accents -- as Spectrals. The 7" single "Leave Me Be" was released in 2009 on Captured Tracks. Early the following year, he issued split singles with Fair Ohs (on Tough Love) and Mazes (on Love Is Disgusting), both of which featured two of his songs. Later in the year, Jones linked with Slumberland, who issued "7th Date," a colored 7" single, in June. Though he recorded almost everything by himself, with help from his younger brother on drums, he put together a live band and put in a considerable amount of time on the road, including a tour with Girls. Jones' first album, Bad Penny, was released in late 2011 on Slumberland in the U.S. and Wichita in the U.K. The album featured his brother on drums again and was helmed by veteran U.K. producer Richard Formby. Jones' second album under the Spectrals' name included drumming from his stalwart brother, but also added a few new collaborators and production by ex-Girls member Chet "JR" White. Sob Story was released by Slumberland in early summer of 2013. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Doing Time
  3.   Lockjaw
  4.   Luck Is There to Be Pushed
  5.   Blue Whatever
  6.   Get a Grip
  7.   Karaoke
  8.   Big Baby
  9.   You Don't Have to Tell Me
  10.   Brain Freeze
  11.   Sob Story
  12.   A Heartbeat Behind
  13.   Suit Yourself
  14.   In a Bad Way
  15.   7th Date
  16.   Don't Mind
  17.   Let Me Cave In
  18.   Gentle
  19.   Confetti
  20.   Milky Way
  21.   You Can't Live on Love Alone
  22.   Friend Zone
  23.   Keep Your Magic Out of My House
  24.   Limousine
  25.   Leave Me Be
  26.   If I Think About the Magic Will It Go Away?
  27.   Many Happy Returns
  28.   Something to Cry About

Artists Related to Spectrals


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |