Slacker Logo



Static-X's roots trace to the Midwest, where vocalist/guitarist Wayne Static grew up in Michigan and drummer Ken Jay in Illinois. They ended up in Chicago separately and met at the record store where Jay worked, introduced to one another by Smashing Pumpkins vocalist Billy Corgan. Static and Jay decided to head west to California and start up a new band. Shortly after their arrival, Osaka native Koichi Fukada responded to the duo's ad and became their new guitarist, as well as programmer. Bassist Tony Campos, the only true Californian, was the final piece of the puzzle. Static-X's music combined aggressive metal and thrash with industrial overtones and techno pulse. Signed to Warner Brothers in February 1998, Static-X debuted with Wisconsin Death Trip a year later, and the album was eventually certified gold. Departing guitarist Fukada was replaced with Tripp Eisen (ex-Dope) for 2001's Machine, and drummer Jay left after the 2003 album Shadow Zone. If that weren't enough, personal issues forced Eisen to leave the band in 2004. Still, Static-X was undeterred. Static tapped Fukada to rejoin on guitar and programming, and touring drummer Nick Oshiro took over full-time. In June 2005, a rejuvenated Static-X returned to recording with Start a War. Cannibal arrived in 2007, charting inside Billboard's Top 40. The band toured and released a CD/DVD document, Cannibal Killers Live, then settled into the recording of their sixth studio album, Cult of Static. Released in March 2009, it debuted inside the Top 20. The band broke up not long after finishing a lengthy tour, with Wayne Static announcing a renewed focus on his Pighammer side project, with contributions from his wife, Tera Wray. In 2011, Pighammer appeared as a solo album under his own name. A year later, he reformed Static-X -- minus any of the original members. The lineup, which basically consisted of his solo backing band, mounted a tour, but broke up by 2013, and a year later, Wayne Static was dead at the age of 48. ~ Josh Loehr
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    11 songs

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    4 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Push It
  3.   Bled for Days
  4.   The Only
  5.   Dirthouse
  6.   This Is Not
  7.   I'm with Stupid
  8.   Wisconsin Death Trip
  9.   Cold
  10.   Love Dump
  11.   So
  12.   I'm the One
  13.   I Am
  14.   Monster
  15.   Permanence
  16.   Control It
  17.   Get to the Gone
  18.   Destroyer
  19.   Terminal
  20.   Black and White
  21.   Tera-Fied
  22.   Z28
  23.   Skinnyman
  24.   Skinned
  25.   Destroy All
  26.   Hypure
  27.   Lunatic
  28.   Chemical Logic
  29.   Sweat of the Bud
  30.   Grind 2 Halt
  31.   Behemoth
  32.   Otsegolectric
  33.   Behind the Wall of Sleep
  34.   Fix
  35.   Stem
  36.   Stingwray
  37.   Crash
  38.   Head
  39.   Kill Your Idols
  40.   Beneath, Between, Beyond
  41.   Isolaytore
  42.   Forty Ways
  43.   Team Hate
  44.   Brainfog
  45.   Night Terrors
  46.   New Pain
  47.   You Am I
  48.   Nocturnally
  49.   Cuts You Up
  50.   No Submission
  51.   Pieces
  52.   Burning Inside
  53.   Light It Up
  54.   Cannibal
  55.   Goat
  56.   Set It Off
  57.   The Enemy
  58.   Push It/Bled for Days
  59.   Breathe
  60.   Transmission
  61.   All in Wait
  62.   Shadow Zone
  63.   Machine
  64.   ...In a Bag
  65.   S.O.M.
  66.   So Real
  67.   Reptile
  68.   Electric Pulse
  69.   My Damnation
  70.   I Want to F****** Break It
  71.   Invincible
  72.   Dead World
  73.   Down
  74.   X Love Dump
  75.   Otsegolation
  76.   Ostegolectric
  77.   W.F.O.
  78.   Looks That Kill
  79.   Shit in a Bag