Slacker Logo


Stephen Marley

Bob Marley's second son, Stephen Marley, first appeared on record in 1979, when he was only six years old. With his brother Ziggy, the young Stephen recorded the single "Children Playing in the Streets," a charity single with the profits going to the United Nations to aid its efforts during the International Year of the Child. The single would also mark the beginnings of the Ziggy-fronted Melody Makers, a band that included Stephen's other siblings. Stephen played a supportive role in the Melody Makers from the beginning as guitarist, singer, and occasional songwriter. To satisfy his creative interests outside the group, Stephen decided to become familiar with the music industry from behind the scenes. Production work began in 1996 with Stephen contributing ideas to albums by his brothers Damian and Julian. Remixing the Fugees the same year was the first public display of Stephen's love of hip-hop and R&B. Work with Eve, Krayzie Bone, and Erykah Badu would follow along with a new role as "executive producer" of the Bob Marley remix compilation Chant Down Babylon, released in 1999. The album drew criticism from reggae purists who thought Stephen's mixing of hip-hop and his father's music was blasphemy, but the album's success encouraged the young producer. In 2001, his production work for brother Damian's Halfway Tree helped win the Grammy for Best Reggae Album, while Stephen's version of "Master Blaster" landed on the Stevie Wonder tribute Conception the same year. Work began on a debut solo album, but the 2002 formation of production house/promotion firm Ghetto Youths International with brother Ziggy kept Stephen from finishing it. Work on brother Damian's successful 2005 album Welcome to Jamrock pushed his debut all the way back to 2007. It was March of that year when Mind Control finally landed. An acoustic version of the album, simply titled Mind Control Acoustic, was distributed exclusively online in 2008 with the physical CD following in 2009. In late 2010, the “Jah Army” single announced the coming of his album Revelation, Pt. 1: The Root of Life, his roots-oriented 2011 release. Revelation, Pt. 2: The Fruit of Life followed in 2016 as a more electric and hip-hop-oriented release. The album featured guests like Rick Ross, Waka Flocka, Wyclef, and Rakim. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Stephen Marley

    Reggae Roots

    Reggae Roots
    1 song

Albums by
Stephen Marley

Top Songs by
Stephen Marley

  1.   Song
  2.   False Friends
  3.   Mind Control
  4.   Pale Moonlight (How Many Times)
  5.   The Traffic Jam by Damian Marley
  6.   Hey Baby
  7.   Iron Bars
  8.   Rock Stone
  9.   Chase Dem
  10.   Can't Keep I Down
  11.   So Strong
  12.   Someone to Love
  13.   You're Gonna Leave
  14.   Paradise by Twista
  15.   Jah Army featuring Buju Banton
  16.   It's Alright
  17.   Father Of The Man by Wyclef Jean
  18.   Pleasure or Pain
  19.   Scars on My Feet
  20.   Revelation Party
  21.   Now I Know
  22.   Fed Up
  23.   Music Is Alive
  24.   Break Us Apart
  25.   The Mission by Damian Marley
  26.   Tonight (It's a Party)
  27.   The Lion Roars
  28.   Tight Ship featuring Damian "Junior Gong" Marley
  29.   Let Her Dance
  30.   Thorn or a Rose
  31.   Babylon
  32.   The Chapel
  33.   Old Slaves
  34.   No Cigarette Smoking (In My Room)
  35.   The Mission
  36.   Lonely Avenue
  37.   Officer Jimmy (Interlude)
  38.   Prelude
  39.   When She Dances
  40.   Ghetto Boy featuring Bounty Killer
  41.   Perfect Picture
  42.   Inna di Red
  43.   Outro
  44.   Walking Away
  45.   Intro
  46.   Bongo Nyah featuring Damian Marley
  47.   She Knows Now
  48.   Made in Africa
  49.   So Unjust featuring Kardinall Offishall
  50.   Freedom Time
  51.   Working Ways
  52.   Got Music
  53.   My Way
  54.   Baby Mama
  55.   Winding Road
  56.   Traffic Jam Closed Captioned
  57.   Revelation Party
  58.   So Unjust featuring Kardinal Official
  59.   Father of the Man featuring Nina Simone
  60.   Music Is Alive - Pain Killer by Damian "Junior Gong" Marley
  61.   Paradise featuring Jasmin Karma
  62.   Ghetto Boy featuring Bounty Killer

Artists Related to Stephen Marley

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |