Slacker Logo


Sum 41

Sum 41 hit worldwide radar in 1996 after tiny Ajax, Ontario proved unable to fully contain the foursome's mixture of punk-pop riffing, hip-hop poses, and toilet-bowl humor. Led by guitarist/vocalist Deryck Whibley, the band also included guitarist/vocalist Dave Baksh, bassist Cone McCaslin, and drummer Steve Jocz. Wooed by the boys' goofy antics and incendiary live show (and excited about the prospect of promoting their very own blink-182), Island put Sum 41 on the payroll in 1999. The Half Hour of Power EP followed, and Warped Tour dates got the word out. They returned in 2000 with the fun-filled full-length All Killer No Filler, and the singles "In Too Deep" and "Fat Lip" became staples of both modern rock radio and Total Request Live. An extensive tour followed, and Sum 41 enjoyed their success the way all near-teenage boys would, with plenty of towel-snapping, groupie-loving, and self-deprecating, low-ball humor. In 2002, they returned to wax with Does This Look Infected? While the album was a bit harder-edged, it found the band just as jazzed as ever to mix punk-pop business with sophomoric pleasure: the video for "Hell Song" featured the fellas acting out a sort of rock star debauchery cage match with the aid of a few celebrity action figures. Metallica, Jesus Christ, and the Osbournes all made appearances in the hilarious clip. It was not all fun and games, however, as their involvement in the charity group War Child Canada had Sum 41 lending a hand in the making of a 2004 documentary covering the effects of war in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Five days into filming, fighting and gunfire suddenly erupted around them, and they barely escaped unharmed -- these events led to 2004's slightly more mature and serious effort, Chuck, named for the UN aid worker, Chuck Pelletier, who was instrumental in getting them to safety. The DVD Rocked: Sum 41 in Congo was released at the end of 2005 and the live album Go Chuck Yourself appeared the following March. Guitarist Dave Baksh left the band during the spring of 2006 due to creative differences, going on to form the metal-punk outfit Brown Brigade. Sum 41 continued on as a trio, and their first album as such, Underclass Hero, appeared in July 2007. The band eventually returned to being a quartet, replacing Baksh with guitarist Tom Thacker, and began to work on a new album. That new album, entitled Screaming Bloody Murder, appeared in March of 2011. "Blood in My Eyes," a single from the album, was nominated for a Grammy that year. However, due to a series of back injuries for Whibley, Sum 41 would not return with new material for half a decade, despite their critical success. During the break, Jocz left the band and was replaced by Street Drum Corps' Frank Zummo. Baksh also returned to the fold, just in time for Sum 41's comeback in 2016. The group signed with Hopeless Records and embarked on an international tour that included stops in China and a stint on that summer's Warped Tour. Their sixth LP, 13 Voices, featured the lead single "Fake My Own Death." While promoting the album, Whibley revealed that he was in an alcohol-related induced coma in 2014. While recovery included learning to walk and play guitar again, Whibley contributed a large part of his healing to the writing process of 13 Voices. To coincide with the album release, the band embarked on an international tour dubbed "Don't Call It a Sum-Back." ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Sum 41


    4 songs

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    3 songs

    Hot Summer Hits

    Hot Summer Hits
    1 song

    Alternative Party

    Alternative Party
    1 song

    Punk U

    1 song

Albums by
Sum 41

Top Songs by
Sum 41

  1.   Song
  2.   Fat Lip
  3.   Still Waiting
  4.   In Too Deep
  5.   Blood in My Eyes
  6.   The Hell Song
  7.   Pieces
  8.   War
  9.   Screaming Bloody Murder
  10.   Motivation
  11.   Fake My Own Death
  12.   With Me
  13.   Underclass Hero
  14.   Makes No Difference
  15.   Walking Disaster
  16.   Over My Head (Better Off Dead)
  17.   Some Say
  18.   Moron
  19.   Mr. Amsterdam
  20.   No Reason
  21.   Nothing on My Back
  22.   We're All to Blame
  23.   Rhythms
  24.   Noots
  25.   88
  26.   Thanks for Nothing
  27.   Hooch
  28.   Handle This
  29.   Twisted by Design
  30.   God Save Us All (Death to POP)
  31.   There Will Be Blood
  32.   I Have a Question
  33.   Open Your Eyes
  34.   Pain for Pleasure
  35.   All She's Got
  36.   Never Wake Up
  37.   Breaking the Chain
  38.   A Dark Road Out of Hell: Sick of Everyone
  39.   A Dark Road Out of Hell: Holy Image of Lies
  40.   Exit Song
  41.   Crash
  42.   Angels With Dirty Faces
  43.   No Brains
  44.   My Direction
  45.   Second Chance for Max Headroom
  46.   The Fall and the Rise
  47.   13 Voices
  48.   Time for You to Go
  49.   Speak Of The Devil
  50.   Dear Father
  51.   So Long Goodbye
  52.   The Jester
  53.   Crazy Amanda Bunkface
  54.   Introduction to Destruction
  55.   Welcome to Hell
  56.   Grab the Devil by the Horns and **** Him Up the ***
  57.   Goddamn I'm Dead Again
  58.   A Murder of Crows
  59.   Back Where I Belong
  60.   Baby You Don't Wanna Know
  61.   Makes No Differencee Version]
  62.   Confusion and Frustration in Modern Times
  63.   King of Contradiction
  64.   Count Your Last Blessings
  65.   Ma Poubelle
  66.   March of the Dogs
  67.   Grab the Devil
  68.   There's No Solution
  69.   Intro
  70.   Billy Spleen
  71.   Hyper-Insomnia-Para-Condrioid
  72.   All Messed Up
  73.   A.N.I.C.
  74.   What We're All About
  75.   Heart Attack
  76.   Ride the Chariot to the Devil
  77.   Dave's Possessed Hair/It's What We're All About
  78.   32 Ways to Die
  79.   Summer
  80.   T.H.T.
  81.   What I Believe
  82.   Reign in Pain (Heavy Metal Jamboree)
  83.   Skumf*k
  84.   Jessica Kill
  85.   A Dark Road Out of Hell: Happiness Machine
  86.   Always
  87.   Best of Me
  88.   Pull the Curtain
  89.   I'm Not the One
  90.   Slipping Away
  91.   Another Time Around
  92.   The Bitter End
  93.   What Am I to Say
  94.   Reason to Believe
  95.   [Untitled]
  96.   Machine Gun