Slacker Logo



With their 1992 debut, It's About Time, SWV scored a string of Top Ten R&B hits that established them as one of the most popular R&B groups of the '90s. SWV (their name is an acronym for Sisters with Voices) is comprised of three school friends: Coko (born Cheryl Gamble), Taj (born Tamara Johnson), and Lelee (born Leanne Lyons). All three vocalists sang in church as children, which is where they learned how to harmonize. A demo tape the group assembled caught the attention of producer Teddy Riley, a member of Guy and the father of new jack swing. Prior to SWV, Riley helped establish the careers of Jodeci and Mary J. Blige. Riley's luck didn't wear out with SWV -- he helped the group craft their debut, It's About Time, which went double platinum within its first year of release. The release of It's About Time was preceded by "Right Here" in the fall of 1992. The single reached number 13 on the R&B chart, but it was the number two hit, "I'm So Into You," that established the trio as a commercial force early in 1993. It was followed by two number one R&B singles in a row: "Weak" and "Right Here/Human Nature," a remix of their first single that featured samples of Michael Jackson's hit "Human Nature." "Weak" also hit number one on the pop chart, while "Right Here/Human Nature" reached number two. One other Top Ten R&B hit from It's About Time, "Always on My Mind," followed late in 1993. "Anything," SWV's contribution to the soundtrack for Above the Rim, became a Top Ten R&B hit in the spring of 1994. Also in the spring of 1994, SWV released The Remixes, which went gold by the end of the year. In the summer of 1995, the trio lent vocal harmonies to Blackstreet's Top 40 R&B hit "Tonight's the Night." In 1996, SWV returned with New Beginning, which was preceded by the number one R&B hit "You're the One." Release Some Tension followed in 1997, and the group disbanded shortly thereafter. The following decade, SWV got back together -- in 2005 -- with plans to record an album, but nothing materialized until they signed a contract with Mass Appeal and issued the 2012 set I Missed Us, a smart update of the group's earlier output. It debuted at number six on the R&B chart and led to SWV Reunited, a reality television series that lasted two seasons on WE TV. Still, the trio's fifth proper album, was released in 2016. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine & Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    '90s R&B

    '90s R&B
    12 songs

    R&B Holiday

    R&B Holiday
    6 songs

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Weak
  3.   Right Here
  4.   Rain
  5.   I'm So Into You
  6.   You're the One
  7.   O Holy Night
  8.   Give Love on Christmas Day
  9.   Anything
  10.   Can We
  11.   You're Always on My Mind
  12.   Downtown
  13.   All Night Long
  14.   Fine Time
  15.   I Wanna Be Where You Are
  16.   That's What I Need
  17.   Christmas Ain't Christmas (Without the One You Love)
  18.   This Christmas
  19.   My Favorite Things
  20.   Silver Bells
  21.   White Christmas
  22.   Someone
  23.   Lose My Cool
  24.   Gettin' Funky
  25.   Use Your Heart
  26.   Tell Me How You Want It
  27.   Ain't No Man
  28.   It's About Time
  29.   What's It Gonna Be
  30.   Love Like This
  31.   When U Cry
  32.   Mystery
  33.   MCE (Man Crush Everyday)
  34.   I'm So in Love
  35.   Someone featuring Puff Daddy
  36.   '96 Anthem: You're the One
  37.   Miss You
  38.   It's All About You
  39.   What We Gone Do
  40.   On Tonight
  41.   Do Ya by Brianna Perry
  42.   Release Some Tension
  43.   Give It to Me
  44.   Still
  45.   If Only You Knew
  46.   Love Unconditionally
  47.   Co-Sign
  48.   Surprise Me
  49.   Love Is So Amazin'
  50.   It's All About U
  51.   That's What I'm Here For
  52.   SWV (In the House)
  53.   Think You're Gonna Like It
  54.   Love Song
  55.   Let's Make Music
  56.   Co-Sign
  57.   Use Me
  58.   Time to Go
  59.   The Best Years
  60.   Show Off
  61.   All About You
  62.   Right Here/Human Nature
  63.   Lose Myself
  64.   Give It Up
  65.   You Are My Love by Herb Middleton
  66.   On & On
  67.   Whatcha Need
  68.   When This Feeling
  69.   Coming Home
  70.   Leaving You Alone
  71.   When Love Didn't Hurt
  72.   I Missed Us
  73.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  74.   The Christmas Song
  75.   Intro
  76.   Silent Night
  77.   Come and Get Some
  78.   Where Is the Love
  79.   New Beginning (Interlude)
  80.   Soul Intact (Interlude)
  81.   Don't Waste Your Time
  82.   Everything I Love
  83.   Keep You Home
  84.   Better Than I
  85.   Blak Pudd'n
  86.   Can't Cope by Sisters with Voices
  87.   Here for You

Artists Related to SWV