Slacker Logo


Taio Cruz

Taio Cruz is a British pop singer/songwriter whose second album, Rokstarr, catapulted him to international chart-topping success in 2010 with its smash hit singles "Break Your Heart" and "Dynamite." Born Jacob Taio Cruz on April 23, 1985, in London, England, to a Nigerian father and a Brazilian mother, he went to school in Rugby, Warwickshire, West Midlands. His songwriting career got off to a quick start when he was signed to a publishing deal at age 19 and credited with co-writing Pop Idol winner Will Young's 2004 Top Five hit single "Your Game," the recipient of the 2005 Brit Award for Best British Single. In the wake of this success, Cruz made his debut as a solo artist in 2006 with the Top 30 single "I Just Wanna Know." Initially released by his own label, Rokstarr Music London (later renamed Rokstarr Entertainment Division), the song earned him a major-label recording contract with Island Records. Following a few more singles, "Moving On" and "Come on Girl," the latter of which hit the Top Five, Cruz made his full-length album debut in 2008 with Departure. Entirely written and produced by the singer/songwriter himself, Departure spawned another two singles, "I Can Be" and "She's Like a Star," and earned favorable reviews. Prior to releasing his second album, Cruz furthered his reputation as a hitmaking songwriter. In addition to co-writing songs for British pop superstars Cheryl Cole ("Stand Up") and JLS ("Keep You"), he penned material for grime rapper Tinchy Stryder's second album, 2009's Catch 22, in particular the Top Five hit "Take Me Back" and the chart-topping smash "Never Leave You." "Break Your Heart," the lead single from Cruz's second solo album, Rokstarr, topped the U.K. singles chart in September 2009, a month after "Never Leave You" vacated the spot, and third single "Dirty Picture" was another major hit, reaching the Top Ten. Produced and written in collaboration with fellow U.K. hitmaker Fraser T. Smith, Rokstarr was re-released internationally in 2010 with the addition of "Dynamite," a Dr. Luke production that topped the charts in a half-dozen different countries. (It also earned him three Billboard awards, and a pair of ASCAP awards.) "Break Your Heart" was likewise re-released internationally and hit number one in several different countries, including the United States, where it achieved a record-breaking jump in Billboard from number 53 to the top spot in one week. TY.O, Cruz's third album, was released in 2011. The party-anthem singles "Hangover" (featuring Flo Rida), "Troublemaker," and "There She Goes" (featuring Pitbull) were particularly successful across Europe; the second of the trio reached the Top 10 in four territories, including the U.K. The same year, Cruz co-wrote David Guetta and Usher's "Without You," another major hit. It wasn't until April 2015 that he released the lead single for his fourth album. The easygoing "Do What You Like," featuring throwback elements that recalled early- to mid-'80s R&B, preceded Roses Collection. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Taio Cruz

    Party Hits

    Party Hits
    2 songs

    Pop Remixes

    Pop Remixes
    4 songs

    Dance Pop

    Dance Pop
    4 songs

    '00s Pop

    '00s Pop
    1 song

    Workout Songs

    3 songs

    Hot Summer Hits

    1 song

    Latin Dance-Electronic

    1 song

    Lite Hits

    1 song

    Reggaeton Urbano

    1 song

    Shuffle Hits

    1 song

Albums by
Taio Cruz

Top Songs by
Taio Cruz

  1.   Song
  2.   Dynamite
  3.   Break Your Heart
  4.   Hangover
  5.   Higher
  6.   Do What You Like
  7.   There She Goes
  8.   Dirty Picture
  9.   Falling in Love
  10.   Imagine
  11.   Take Me Back
  12.   I Just Wanna Know
  13.   Telling the World
  14.   Come on Girl
  15.   Troublemaker
  16.   Feel Again
  17.   I Can Be
  18.   Make It Last Forever
  19.   Tattoo
  20.   I Don't Wanna Fall in Love
  21.   World in Our Hands
  22.   Never Gonna Get Us
  23.   Moving On
  24.   Fly Away
  25.   So Cold
  26.   Shotcaller
  27.   I'll Never Love Again
  28.   Play
  29.   You're Beautiful
  30.   Can't Say Go
  31.   Driving Me Crazy
  32.   Fast Car
  33.   She's Like a Star
  34.   No Other One
  35.   Come on Girl by Luciana
  36.   Disco Fever
  37.   Everybody's Changing
  38.   About You Now
  39.   Best Girl
  40.   Forever Love
  41.   Keep Going
  42.   Only You
  43.   The 11th Hour
  44.   Say Aah
  45.   Little Lion Man
  46.   [CD-ROM Track]
  47.   Back Seat Love
  48.   Break Your Hart
  49.   Hold It Against Me

Artists Related to Taio Cruz


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |