Slacker Logo


Tarja Turunen

Best known as the female vocalist for Finnish gothic/symphonic metal act Nightwish, Tarja (full name Tarja Soile Susanna Turunen) was born on August 17, 1977, in Kitee, Finland. Her prowess as a soprano landed her a place studying classical voice at the Sibelius Academy in Kuopio, where fellow student Tuomas Holopainen took on Tarja as vocalist for his musical project, which was to be christened Nightwish in 1996. Tarja continued to pursue solo interests during her time recording and touring with Nightwish, including a solo in a 1999 rock ballet, a 2002 tour of South America, and a 2004 Christmas single entitled "Yhden Enkelin Unelma" ("One Angel's Dream"). In 2005, Tarja was asked (via "open letter") to leave Nightwish, with the rest of the band citing financial and personal concerns. A public display of he-said/she-said followed, and Tarja became a solo artist full-time. After her forced departure, she made some live appearances, as well as an appearance on an album of her brother's work before beginning work on an album of her own. October 2007 saw the release of that first solo album, My Winter Storm, which was released on Spinefarm Records. In 2009, she began work on her second solo effort, taking time out to record a duet with Klaus Meine of the Scorpions, "The Good Die Young," which appeared on the veteran group's 2010 album Sting in the Tail. In the fall of 2010, Tarja's second solo album, What Lies Beneath, was released; an ambitious effort combining classical and metal elements, Tarja supported the release with extensive touring, including a series of German dates opening for Alice Cooper. In 2013, Tarja's third solo effort, Colours in the Dark, was released. The album was a commercial success, rising to the Top Ten of the album charts in the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Poland, Russia, and the U.K. and charted in 12 countries overall. Tarja also made a guest appearance on the EP Paradise (What About Us?) by the Dutch group Within Temptation. In 2015, Tarja issued her third live album, Luna Park Ride, which was recorded in Buenos Aires, Argentina. In March 2016, she announced two new studio albums. The first, Brightest Void: The Prequel was issued in June and included guest appearances from Michael Monroe (a duet on the single "Your Heaven and Your Hell"), Chad Smith, and Within Temptation. She performed the set during a summer tour that also featured material from The Shadow Self, which was released in August. ~ Chris True
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Tarja Turunen

Albums by
Tarja Turunen

Top Songs by
Tarja Turunen

  1.   Song
  2.   Until Silence
  3.   Diva by Tarja
  4.   The Living End by Tarja
  5.   Song To the Moon featuring Mike Terrana
  6.   Blute Nur featuring Mike Terrana
  7.   You Take My Breath Away featuring Mike Terrana
  8.   Undertaker by Tarja
  9.   Heinillä Härkien by Tarja
  10.   Supremacy by Tarja
  11.   Love to Hate by Tarja
  12.   Innocence by Tarja
  13.   Swanheart featuring Mike Terrana
  14.   Witch-Hunt featuring Mike Terrana
  15.   Mein Herr Marquis featuring Mike Terrana
  16.   William Tell Overture featuring Mike Terrana
  17.   O Mio Babbino Caro featuring Mike Terrana
  18.   Zueigmumg - OP. 10, NO. 1 featuring Mike Terrana
  19.   Concert For Violin & Oboe featuring Mike Terrana
  20.   Darkness
  21.   Mystique Voyage
  22.   Lucid Dreamer
  23.   Never Enough
  24.   I Walk Alone by Tarja
  25.   Ave Maria
  26.   New World Symphony featuring Mike Terrana
  27.   Eagle Eye by Tarja
  28.   Demon's in You featuring Alissa White-Gluz
  29.   Medusa
  30.   Too Many by Tarja
  31.   No Bitter End by Tarja
  32.   Led Zeppelin Medley featuring Mike Terrana
  33.   Eine Kleine Nachtmusik featuring Mike Terrana
  34.   Calling From the Wild by Tarja
  35.   Can-Can featuring Mike Terrana
  36.   Fly Me To The Moon featuring Mike Terrana
  37.   Barber Of Seville featuring Mike Terrana
  38.   Vilja Lied featuring Mike Terrana
  39.   The Reign featuring Mike Terrana
  40.   Maa On Niin Kaunis by Tarja
  41.   Deliverance
  42.   I Feel Pretty featuring Mike Terrana
  43.   Kun Joulu On
  44.   En Etsi Valtaa, Loistoa
  45.   Kuin Henkäys Ikuisuutta
  46.   Heinillä Härkien
  47.   Varpunen Jouluaamuna
  48.   Maa on Niin Kaunis
  49.   Mökit Nukkuu Lumiset
  50.   Jo Joutuu Ilta
  51.   Magnificat: Quia Respexit
  52.   Arkihuolesi Kaikki Heitä
  53.   Walking in the Air
  54.   Jouluyö, Juhlayö
  55.   No Name
  56.   Concert For Violin & Oboe by Tarja
  57.   Blute Nur by Tarja
  58.   Zueigmumg - OP. 10, NO. 1 by Tarja
  59.   Barber of Seville by Tarja
  60.   New World Symphony by Tarja
  61.   Song To the Moon by Tarja
  62.   Vilja Lied by Tarja
  63.   I Mio Babbino Caro by Tarja
  64.   Can-Can by Tarja
  65.   I Feel Pretty by Tarja
  66.   William Tell Overture by Tarja
  67.   Mein Herr Marquis by Tarja
  68.   Eine Kleine Nachtmusik by Tarja
  69.   You Take My Breath Away by Tarja
  70.   The Reign by Tarja
  71.   Witch Hunt by Tarja
  72.   Led Zeppelin Medley by Tarja
  73.   Fly Me To The Moon by Tarja
  74.   Swanheart by Tarja