Slacker Logo


Tears for Fears

Tears for Fears were always more ambitious than the average synth pop group. From the beginning, the duo of Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith were tackling big subjects -- their very name derived from Arthur Janov's primal scream therapy, and his theories were evident throughout their debut, The Hurting. Driven by catchy, infectious synth pop, The Hurting became a big hit in their native England, setting the stage for international stardom with their second album, 1985's Songs from the Big Chair. On the strength of the singles "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" and "Shout," the record became a major hit, establishing the duo as one of the leading acts of the second generation of MTV stars. Instead of quickly recording a follow-up, Tears for Fears labored over their third album, the psychedelic and jazz-rock-tinged The Seeds of Love. While the album was a big hit, it was the end of an era instead of a new beginning. Smith left the group early in the '90s, and Orzabal continued with Tears for Fears, pursuing more sophisticated and pretentious directions to a smaller audience. Orzabal and Smith met as children in Bath, England. Both boys came from broken homes, and Smith was leaning toward juvenile delinquency. Orzabal, however, turned toward books, eventually discovering Arthur Janov's primal scream therapy, a way of confronting childhood fears that John Lennon embraced after the Beatles disbanded. Orzabal turned Smith on to Janov, but before the duo explored this theory further, they formed the ska revival band Graduate in the late '70s. After releasing a handful of singles, including "Elvis Should Play Ska," Graduate dissolved in the early '80s, and the duo went on to form Tears for Fears, a synth pop outfit directly inspired by Janov's writings. Riding in on the tail end of new wave and new romantic, Tears for Fears -- which featured musical contributions from former Graduate keyboardist Ian Stanley on early albums -- landed a record contract with Polygram in 1982. The following year, the band released its debut, The Hurting, which became a major hit in Britain, generating no less than three Top Five hit singles. Two years later, the group released Songs from the Big Chair, which demonstrated a more streamlined and soul-influenced sound. Songs from the Big Chair became a huge hit in America, rocketing to the top of the charts on the strength of the singles "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" and "Shout," which both hit number one, and the number three "Head Over Heels," which were all supported by clever, stylish videos that received heavy MTV airplay. Instead of quickly following Songs from the Big Chair with a new record, Tears for Fears labored over their new record, eventually delivering the layered, Beatlesque The Seeds of Love in 1989. Featuring soulful vocals from Oleta Adams, who dominated the hit "Woman in Chains," the album became a hit, reaching number eight, while the single "Sowing the Seeds of Love" reached number two in the U.S. Again, Tears for Fears spent several years working on the follow-up to Seeds of Love, during which time they released the collection Tears Roll Down: Greatest Hits 82-92. Smith and Orzabal began to quarrel heavily, and Smith left the group in 1992, making Tears for Fears' 1993 comeback Elemental essentially a solo record from Orzabal. On the strength of the adult contemporary hit "Break It Down Again," Elemental became a modest hit, reaching gold status in the U.S., yet was hardly up to the group's previous levels. Smith, meanwhile, released a solo album in 1993, Soul on Board, which went ignored. Orzabal returned with another Tears for Fears album, Raoul and the Kings of Spain, in 1995, which failed to make much of an impact. In late 1996, the group released a rarities collection. In 2004, Orzabal reunited with Smith for the colorful and Beatlesque Everybody Loves a Happy Ending, their first collaboration in over a decade. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Tears for Fears

    '80s Alternative

    '80s Alternative
    8 songs

    New Wave

    New Wave
    6 songs

    Awesome '80s

    Awesome '80s
    4 songs

    Classic Hits

    Classic Hits
    3 songs

    Lite Hits

    3 songs

    Coffeehouse Corner

    1 song

    Shuffle Hits

    3 songs

    Adult Alternative

    2 songs

    Adult Rock

    2 songs

    Relax Trax

    1 song

    Gay Anthems

    2 songs

    '90s Alternative

    1 song

Albums by
Tears for Fears

Top Songs by
Tears for Fears

  1.   Song
  2.   Everybody Wants to Rule the World
  3.   Head Over Heels
  4.   Shout
  5.   Mad World
  6.   Sowing the Seeds of Love
  7.   Pale Shelter
  8.   Change
  9.   Break It Down Again
  10.   Mothers Talk
  11.   Ashes to Ashes
  12.   Start of the Breakdown
  13.   Ideas as Opiates
  14.   Brian Wilson Said
  15.   The Hurting
  16.   Woman in Chains
  17.   Head over Heels/Broken
  18.   Advice for the Young at Heart
  19.   I Believe
  20.   Tears Roll Down
  21.   The Big Chair
  22.   Listen
  23.   The Way You Are
  24.   Badman's Song
  25.   Wino
  26.   Watch Me Bleed
  27.   Suffer the Children
  28.   We Are Broken
  29.   Cold
  30.   Broken/Head Over Heels
  31.   Swords and Knives
  32.   Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down)
  33.   God's Mistake
  34.   Always in the Past
  35.   Interview with Curt & Roland
  36.   Ladybird
  37.   Killing With Kindness
  38.   The Devil
  39.   Who You Are
  40.   Quiet Ones
  41.   Who Killed Tangerine?
  42.   Size of Sorrow
  43.   Call Me Mellow
  44.   Closest Thing to Heaven
  45.   Everybody Loves a Happy Ending
  46.   The Conflict
  47.   Broken Revisited
  48.   Famous Last Words
  49.   Standing on the Corner of the Third World
  50.   Broken
  51.   The Working Hour
  52.   Me and My Big Ideas
  53.   Don't Drink the Water
  54.   I Choose You
  55.   Humdrum and Humble
  56.   Sorry
  57.   Los Reyes Católicos (Reprise)
  58.   Secrets
  59.   Falling Down
  60.   Raoul and the Kings of Spain
  61.   Music for Tables
  62.   Memories Fade
  63.   Empire Building
  64.   The Marauders
  65.   Deja Vu & The Sins of Science
  66.   Pharaohs
  67.   When in Love with a Blind Man
  68.   Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams
  69.   Power
  70.   Gas Giants
  71.   Fish Out of Water
  72.   Dog's a Best Friend's Dog
  73.   Mr. Pessimist
  74.   Elemental
  75.   Year of the Knife
  76.   My Life in the Suicide Ranks
  77.   Roland & Curt Interviewed
  78.   Everybody Wants to Run the World
  79.   Last Days on Earth
  80.   Sketches of Pain
  81.   The Prisoner
  82.   Sea Song
  83.   Bloodletting Go
  84.   Lord of Karma
  85.   The Body Wah
  86.   Goodnight Song
  87.   Schrodinger's Cat
  88.   New Star
  89.   I Love You But I'm Lost