Slacker Logo


The Darkness

England's the Darkness centered around irrepressible frontman Justin Hawkins (vocals/guitars/keyboards), who, along with his guitar-playing baby brother Dan, bassist Frankie Poullain, and drummer Ed Graham, single-handedly resurrected the rather unfashionable sounds and attitudes of late-'70s hard rock for an unsuspecting generation. Following the demise of an earlier, conspicuously synth pop-based outfit named Empire, the Hawkins brothers sowed the seeds of what would become the Darkness at an impromptu karaoke session on New Year's Eve 1999. Justin's rapturous rendition of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" showed them the way, and the suitably dramatic name of the Darkness was chosen shortly after the arrival of Poullain and Graham. With outrageous stage antics that included gaudy leotards stolen from Steven Tyler's wardrobe, leaps and splits borrowed from David Lee Roth, and an ear-piercing falsetto copped from Freddie Mercury himself, the multi-talented elder Hawkins led the quartet as the group spent the next two years slogging it out in London's pub circuit. Though they were immediately singled out as a joke by the notoriously vicious British press, the Darkness' high-energy sets, remarkably catchy material, and unapologetic worship of old-school rock & roll bombast gradually earned them a fanatical following based on simple word of mouth. The tide finally began to shift in their favor in August 2002, when they released their debut EP, I Believe in a Thing Called Love (through the independent label Must Destroy Music), won a major talent contest, and scored all-important opening slots with Deep Purple and Def Leppard. Their momentum carried through into the new year, starting with a knockout performance at Austin's SXSW music convention in January, continuing with the release of the "Keep Your Hands Off My Woman" single in February (which peaked at number 36 in the U.K. chart), and climaxing with their subsequent signing with a major-label, Atlantic Records, in March. Nothing could stop the Darkness' snowball effect, and a series of acclaimed festival appearances set the stage for their debut album, Permission to Land, to debut atop the British charts -- the first time a new act had achieved such a feat since Coldplay three years earlier. Aside from the 2003 Christmas single Christmas Time (Don't Let the Bells End), the Darkness concentrated on touring until 2005, when they returned to the studio with Cars and Foreigner producer Roy Thomas Baker. During the recording of their sophomore album, the band parted ways with Poullain and replaced him with former guitar tech Richie Edwards. One Way Ticket to Hell...And Back was released late in 2005 but didn't fare as well as its predecessor, which took a toll on Justin Hawkins. Following several months of touring, the frontman entered rehab in August 2006 for alcohol and cocaine abuse. Although he completed the program, Hawkins nevertheless left the Darkness' lineup later that year, leaving the group's fate in the hands of his former bandmates. The remaining musicians regrouped under the name Stone Gods the following year, while Justin busied himself with solo work, issuing a single under the moniker British Whale and a full-length album, 2008's Red Light Fever, with his new band Hot Leg. In 2011, the Darkness reunited with the original lineup featuring Hawkins and embarked on several European tours. In 2012, they delivered the full-length album Hot Cakes. In 2015, the band issued their fourth studio outing, Last of Our Kind, the first Darkness album to feature new drummer Emily Dolan Davies, who'd replaced founding member Ed Graham the year before. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Darkness

Albums by
The Darkness

Top Songs by
The Darkness

  1.   Song
  2.   I Believe in a Thing Called Love
  3.   Christmas Time (Don't Let the Bells End)
  4.   Growing on Me
  5.   Friday Night
  6.   Black Shuck
  7.   Givin' Up
  8.   Get Your Hands Off My Woman
  9.   Million Dollar Strong
  10.   Love Is Only a Feeling
  11.   Forbidden Love
  12.   Holding My Own
  13.   Love on the Rocks with No Ice
  14.   Barbarian
  15.   One Way Ticket
  16.   Makin' Out
  17.   Conquerors
  18.   Hammer & Tongs
  19.   Sarah O'Sarah
  20.   Mudslide
  21.   Open Fire
  22.   The Horn
  23.   With a Woman
  24.   Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time
  25.   Is It Just Me?
  26.   Knockers
  27.   Bald
  28.   Dinner Lady Arms
  29.   Stuck in a Rut
  30.   Wheels of the Machine
  31.   Last of Our Kind
  32.   She's Just a Girl, Eddie
  33.   Cannonball
  34.   Pat Pong Ladies
  35.   I Can't Believe It's Not Love
  36.   Love Is Not the Answer
  37.   Street Spirit (Fade Out)
  38.   Keep Me Hangin' On
  39.   Every Inch of You
  40.   I Love You 5 Times
  41.   Wanker
  42.   Grief Hammer
  43.   Curse of the Tollund Man
  44.   Planning Permission
  45.   Blind Man
  46.   English Country Garden
  47.   Girlfriend
  48.   Hazel Eyes
  49.   Darkness
  50.   Mighty Wings
  51.   Roaring Waters
  52.   Nothing's Gonna Stop Us
  53.   Concrete
  54.   Everybody Have A Good Time
  55.   Livin' Each Day Blind
  56.   Shake (Like a Lettuce Leaf)
  57.   Bareback
  58.   How Dare You Call This Love?
  59.   The Best of Me
  60.   Out of My Hands
  61.   Physical Sex

Artists Related to The Darkness

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |