Slacker Logo


Dirty Heads

Following in the footsteps of their California brothers Sublime, Huntington Beach's Dirty Heads mix hip-hop, reggae, and rock along with that laid-back South Cali attitude. The group formed in 2003 when punk rocker Dustin Bushnell (aka Duddy B) asked his friend rapper Jared Watson (aka Dirty J) to collaborate on a project that would focus on positive vibes and infectious grooves. Watson added singing to his vocal skills, and with percussionist Jon Olazabal joining, an acoustic trio version of Dirty Heads began playing shows and building an audience. They soon hooked up with producer Rob Cavallo and headed into the studio to record their debut album for Warner Bros., but differences with the label had them looking for other opportunities. Still, the band was able to retain most of its work, including sessions with drummer Josh Freese, along with the late-Beatles collaborator Billy Preston in one of the keyboardist's last recordings. The finished album, Any Port in a Storm, would arrive in 2008, with a deluxe edition following in 2010. The deluxe version featured the track "Lay Me Down" with special guest Rome Ramirez of Sublime with Rome. The song would top Billboard's Alternative Songs chart just before the summer of 2010. They followed up two years later with Cabin by the Sea and later recorded an acoustic version of the title track. This, in turn, led to an entire acoustic album in 2013 called Home - Phantoms of Summer. Dirty Heads' next album, Sound of Change, would prove to be a breakthrough for the now veteran band, debuting at number eight on the Billboard Top 200 while topping the Independent and Alternative Albums charts upon its May 2014 release. Building on their renewed success, Dirty Heads enlisted a bevy of industry hitmakers to work on their self-titled 2016 follow-up which, thanks to its mainstream appeal, again charted high on the Billboard Top 200. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Dirty Heads

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    2 songs

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    2 songs

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    2 songs

    Hot Summer Hits

    Hot Summer Hits
    1 song

    Alternative Party

    1 song

Albums by
Dirty Heads

Top Songs by
Dirty Heads

  1.   Song
  2.   Lay Me Down
  3.   My Sweet Summer
  4.   Cabin By the Sea
  5.   Stand Tall
  6.   That's All I Need
  7.   Oxygen
  8.   Dance All Night
  9.   Sound of Change
  10.   Spread Too Thin
  11.   Believe
  12.   Sloth's Revenge
  13.   Burn Slow
  14.   Red Lights
  15.   Doesn't Make You Right
  16.   Hipster
  17.   Your Love
  18.   Franco Eyed
  19.   Hip Hop Misfits
  20.   Feeling Good
  21.   Medusa
  22.   Under the Water
  23.   Best of Us
  24.   Realize It
  25.   Too Cruel
  26.   Moon Tower
  27.   Day By Day
  28.   Dark Days
  29.   End of the World
  30.   Garland
  31.   Radio
  32.   Smoke & Dream
  33.   I Got No Time
  34.   Arrival
  35.   Sails to the Wind
  36.   Check the Level
  37.   Notice
  38.   Hear You Coming
  39.   Shine
  40.   Headphones
  41.   Insomnia
  42.   Easy
  43.   Warming Sun
  44.   Smoke Rings
  45.   Lonely One
  46.   Knows That I
  47.   Antelope
  48.   Rains It Pours
  49.   Everything I'm Looking For
  50.   The Truth
  51.   Burn By Myself
  52.   Running for Your Life
  53.   Silence
  54.   One Hand
  55.   Love Letters
  56.   Mongo Push
  57.   Gold To Me
  58.   Farewell
  59.   Higher and Higher
  60.   Neighborhood
  61.   Coming Home
  62.   We Will Rise
  63.   Disguise
  64.   Viva la Vida
  65.   Chelsea
  66.   Morning Light
  67.   Driftin'
  68.   Strike Gently
  69.   Taint
  70.   Burials
  71.   Phantom
  72.   Intro (Anchors Up)
  73.   Outro (Beast of the Lake)

Artists Related to Dirty Heads


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |