Slacker Logo


The Futureheads

Taking the best of post-punk, new wave, and pop as inspiration, Sunderland's Futureheads were among the best of the U.K.'s "angular" movement, which also included Franz Ferdinand and Bloc Party. The band began as a trio of vocalist/guitarist Barry Hyde, bassist Jaff, and drummer Pete Brewis. Hyde and Brewis were tutors at a lottery-funded organization called the Sunderland City Detached Youth Project, which aimed to get kids off the street by having them play music instead. The band -- whose members were still in their teens themselves -- also used the building as a practice space, along with other area groups. The rest of the Futureheads' lineup was also culled from the Sunderland City Detached Youth Project: vocalist/guitarist Ross Millard and Hyde's little brother Dave, who eventually took over drum duty from Brewis. The band released its debut single in late 2002, and followed it up with two more singles in 2003, 123 Nul and First Day, both of which were issued by the Fantastic Plastic label. 679 stepped up to release the band's self-titled full-length in mid-2004. That fall, The Futureheads was released in the U.S., coinciding with the band's support slot on Franz Ferdinand's North American tour. The Futureheads spent most of 2005 touring, including dates supporting Foo Fighters, Oasis, and Pixies, though they returned to the studio long enough to record the single Area, which was released in the U.K. that fall and as an EP in the U.S. the following year. The Futureheads' second album, News and Tributes, arrived in summer 2006 and featured a bigger, glossier sound and more complex songwriting. The band released This Is Not the World on its own Nul Records imprint in 2008. Two years later, The Chaos arrived with a slightly more ambitious approach, and in 2012 the band released Rant, a completely a cappella album including reworkings of older songs as well as instrument-free covers of Kelis and the Black Eyed Peas. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Futureheads

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

Albums by
The Futureheads

Top Songs by
The Futureheads

  1.   Song
  2.   Hounds of Love
  3.   Decent Days and Nights
  4.   Radio Heart
  5.   Heartbeat Song
  6.   Skip to the End
  7.   A to B
  8.   He Knows
  9.   Meantime
  10.   Trying Not to Think About Time
  11.   Stupid and Shallow
  12.   Yes/No
  13.   Jupiter
  14.   The Connector
  15.   Danger of the Water
  16.   Hard to Bear
  17.   Man Ray
  18.   Walking Backwards
  19.   Fallout
  20.   Think Tonight
  21.   Carnival Kids
  22.   Sale of the Century
  23.   The Chaos
  24.   Face
  25.   History Itself
  26.   Sun Goes Down
  27.   I Can Do That
  28.   See What You Want
  29.   Everything's Changing Today
  30.   Work Is Never Done
  31.   The Beginning of the Twist
  32.   Back to the Sea
  33.   This Is the Life
  34.   Man Made (A Mistake)
  35.   Stop the Noise
  36.   First Day
  37.   The City Is Here for You to Use
  38.   News and Tributes
  39.   Broke Up the Time
  40.   Thursday
  41.   Robot
  42.   Burnt
  43.   Struck Dumb
  44.   Le Garage
  45.   This Is Not the World
  46.   Cope
  47.   The Baron
  48.   Sleet
  49.   Dart at the Map
  50.   Return of the Beserker
  51.   Alms

Artists Related to The Futureheads

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |