Slacker Logo


The Pains of Being Pure At Heart

With their wall-of-fuzz guitar stylings and sugary pop underpinnings, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart nodded to any number of old-school indie pop and shoegaze acts, most notably Black Tambourine and My Bloody Valentine. New York-based musicians Alex Naidus (bass), Kip Berman (guitar/vocals), Kurt Feldman (drums), and Peggy Wang (keyboards/vocals) came together to form the Pains of Being Pure at Heart in 2007. The band recorded a few tracks soon after forming, which were released as a self-titled 3" CD-R on Cloudberry Records. A self-titled EP followed soon after for Painbow. During 2008 the band released a number of limited-edition split singles on Atomic Beat Records and Slumberland. Their first album, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, was released in February of 2009 on Slumberland, and the good reviews and positive press (including a spot on Late Night with Carson Daly) made them one of the most talked-about bands of early 2009. After the release of the summer 2010 single Say No to Love, legendary producers Flood (Smashing Pumpkins) and Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine) were hired to give the band a slicker, more powerful sound. The resulting album, Belong, was released by Slumberland in March of 2011. After touring their second album, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart returned to the U.S. and Berman began writing new material for their third album. With the departure of original keyboardist Peggy Wang and bassist Alex Naidus, Berman brought together a refreshed line-up -- which featured A Sunny Day in Glasgow's Jen Goma and brass player Kelly Pratt alongside Feldman -- to record the album with Andy Savours (My Bloody Valentine, Sigur Rós). The resulting Days of Abandon was released by their new label, Yebo Music, in 2014. ~ Margaret Reges
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Pains of Being Pure At Heart

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

Albums by
The Pains of Being Pure At Heart

Top Songs by
The Pains of Being Pure At Heart

  1.   Song
  2.   Say No to Love
  3.   Heart in Your Heartbreak
  4.   Higher Than The Stars
  5.   Young Adult Friction
  6.   Everything With You
  7.   Belong
  8.   Higher Than The Stars (Saint Etienne Visits Lord Spank Remix)
  9.   Come Saturday
  10.   Side Ponytail
  11.   Eurydice
  12.   Contender
  13.   Lost Saint
  14.   103
  15.   Hey Paul
  16.   Jeremy
  17.   Strange
  18.   Beautiful You
  19.   Simple and Sure
  20.   Life After Life
  21.   The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
  22.   A Teenager In Love
  23.   The Asp at My Chest
  24.   Kelly
  25.   My Life Is Wrong
  26.   My Terrible Friend
  27.   Girl of 1,000 Dreams
  28.   Even in Dreams
  29.   I Wanna Go All the Way
  30.   Falling Over
  31.   This Love Is Fucking Right!
  32.   Gentle Songs
  33.   Stay Alive
  34.   The Tenure Itch
  35.   Art Smock
  36.   Heaven's Gonna Happen Now
  37.   Twins
  38.   The One
  39.   Too Tough
  40.   Anne with an E
  41.   Until the Sun Explodes
  42.   Coral and Gold
  43.   Masokissed
  44.   The Body

Artists Related to The Pains of Being Pure At Heart

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |