Slacker Logo


The All-American Rejects

Vocalist/bassist Tyson Ritter and guitarist Nick Wheeler both hail from Stillwater, OK, where the pair first embraced music as an appealing diversion from the ho-hum life of small-town America. Citing such influences as AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Bon Jovi, they formed the emo-pop group All-American Rejects in 2000, while both members were still in high school. Maintaining a full lineup proved to be difficult, however, so Ritter and Wheeler employed drum loops and pre-programmed rhythm tracks during their early performances, an arrangement they then reprised on their self-titled debut. Originally released on the Doghouse label in October 2002, the poppy record was later reissued to a national audience by DreamWorks. The band scored a hit with the effervescent single "Swing, Swing," which attracted attention from Interscope Records and ultimately landed the All-American Rejects on the label's prized roster. Move Along, the band's sophomore album (and first for Interscope), was released in July 2005; it also marked the official debut of Mike Kennerty (guitar) and Chris Gaylor (drums), both of whom had joined the band in 2002 after the completion of the Rejects' eponymous debut. Like its predecessor, Move Along went platinum, with three singles ("Dirty Little Secret," "Move Along," and "It Ends Tonight") enjoying chart success in the U.S. and abroad. Recording sessions for a third album commenced in mid-2007 and ran through the following year, causing the All-American Rejects to cancel their scheduled Warped Tour performances (as well as a string of shows with Simple Plan). When the World Comes Down ultimately arrived in December 2008, preceded by the single "Gives You Hell." The band hit the road in support of the album, but were forced to cut their tour short in 2009 after Ritter was confined to a wheelchair after getting knee surgery. The band got back to writing the following year, working with producer Greg Wells on their fourth album, Kids in the Street, which arrived in 2012. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The All-American Rejects

    Breakup Songs

    Breakup Songs
    1 song

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    5 songs

    Shuffle Hits

    Shuffle Hits
    1 song

Albums by
The All-American Rejects

Top Songs by
The All-American Rejects

  1.   Song
  2.   Gives You Hell
  3.   Dirty Little Secret
  4.   Move Along
  5.   It Ends Tonight
  6.   I Wanna
  7.   Swing, Swing
  8.   There's a Place
  9.   Heartbeat Slowing Down
  10.   My Paper Heart
  11.   Why Worry
  12.   The Poison
  13.   Jack's Lament
  14.   It Ends Tonightsion]
  15.   Beekeeper's Daughter
  16.   Real World
  17.   Believe
  18.   Your Star
  19.   Out the Door
  20.   Someday's Gone
  21.   Sunshine
  22.   Straightjacket Feeling
  23.   Straitjacket Feeling
  24.   Night Drive
  25.   Drive Away
  26.   Time Stands Still
  27.   One More Sad Song
  28.   Drown Next to Me
  29.   Walk Over Me
  30.   Damn Girl
  31.   I'm Waiting
  32.   Dance Inside
  33.   Stab My Back
  34.   Don't Leave Me
  35.   Too Far Gone
  36.   Happy Endings
  37.   The Last Song
  38.   Bleed Into Your Mind
  39.   Sierra's Song
  40.   The Wind Blows
  41.   Mona Lisa
  42.   Breakin'
  43.   Back to Me
  44.   Another Heart Calls
  45.   Change Your Mind
  46.   11:11 P.M.
  47.   Top of the World
  48.   Can't Take It
  49.   Fallin' Apart
  50.   Affection
  51.   Gonzo
  52.   Fast & Slow
  53.   Do Me Right
  54.   I for You
  55.   The Future Has Arrived, song (as used in the film Meet The Robinsons)
  56.   Kids in the Street

Artists Related to The All-American Rejects

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |