Slacker Logo


The Dears

The Dears, a loose collective of Montreal-area musicians formed in 1995, are led by the charismatic Murray Lightburn. Citing Serge Gainsbourg as a major influence, the band combines cabaret-style vocals with a moody, intense brand of orchestral pop/rock. Lightburn's vision for the band is to create music out of real emotions, often giving his performances the feel of a musical therapy session. Given the level of intensity that this vision can require, it's not surprising that the Dears have endured numerous member defections, including a guitarist, drummer, and two bass players. The Dears released their debut CD, End of a Hollywood Bedtime Story, on Grenadine Records in 2000. In early 2001, the band entered the studio to record the follow-up, tentatively titled Deuxième Partie, and in 2004, the critically acclaimed full-length No Cities Left was released. Lightburn and longtime Dears keyboardist Natalia Yanchak were married the following year, and in 2006 the band released the stripped-down Gang of Losers. Missiles arrived in 2008, followed by the group's fifth studio album, the Polaris Music Prize-nominated Degeneration Street, in 2011. In 2013 Lightburn issued a solo LP, and in 2015 the Dears returned with the first installment of a two-part album called Times Infinity 1, with plans to release the second volume in 2016. ~ Robert Kaups
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Dears

Albums by
The Dears

Top Songs by
The Dears

  1.   Song
  2.   Blood
  3.   Ticket to Immortality
  4.   Omega Dog
  5.   Thrones
  6.   Disclaimer
  7.   Crisis 1 & 2
  8.   The Second Part
  9.   Lost in the Plot
  10.   This Is a Broadcast
  11.   Fear Made the World Go 'Round
  12.   Who Are You, Defenders of the Universe?
  13.   Berlin Heart
  14.   Yesteryear
  15.   Where the World Begins and Ends
  16.   I Used to Pray for the Heavens to Fall
  17.   Here's to the Death of All the Romance
  18.   Sinthtro
  19.   Acoustic Guitar Phase
  20.   Whites Only Party
  21.   C'Était pour la Passion
  22.   No Return
  23.   Someday All This Will Be Yours
  24.   We Lost Everything
  25.   Unsung
  26.   Missiles
  27.   [Untitled Track]
  28.   Raise the Dead
  29.   Ballad of Humankindness
  30.   You and I Are a Gang of Losers
  31.   There Goes My Outfit
  32.   No Hope Before Destruction
  33.   Summer of Protest
  34.   22: The Death of All the Romance
  35.   Warm and Sunny Days
  36.   Pinned Together, Falling Apart
  37.   End of a Hollywood Bedtime Story
  38.   Heartless Romantic
  39.   Lamentations
  40.   5 Chords
  41.   You Can't Get Born Again
  42.   Torches
  43.   Easy Suffering
  44.   Hell Hath Frozen in Your Eyes
  45.   Meltdown in A Major
  46.   Lamentation
  47.   [Untitled Track]
  48.   There Is No Such Thing as Love
  49.   1854
  50.   Autotomy
  51.   No Cities Left
  52.   Degeneration Street
  53.   Death or Life We Want You
  54.   Face of Horrors
  55.   Tiny Man
  56.   Bandwagoneers
  57.   Galactic Tides
  58.   Dream Job
  59.   To Hold and Have
  60.   Find Our Way to Freedom
  61.   Stick w/Me Kid
  62.   [Untitled Track]
  63.   Times Infinity 1
  64.   Postcard from Purgatory
  65.   Lights Off
  66.   Protest (Parallel)
  67.   Don't Lose the Faith
  68.   Heathrow or Deathrow
  69.   Onward and Downward
  70.   Partir, Par Terre
  71.   Hate Then Love
  72.   Never Destroy Us
  73.   Demons
  74.   Money Babies
  75.   Expect the Worst/'Cos She's a Tourist
  76.   I Fell Deep
  77.   We Can Have It
  78.   Saviour
  79.   Jazz Waltz No. 3 in B-Flat
  80.   Heaven, Have Mercy on Us

Artists Related to The Dears

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |