Slacker Logo


The Drums

Mixing Factory Records-style indie and '50s-inspired melodies, the Drums is the project of singer/songwriter Jonny Pierce. Pierce began making music with childhood friend Jacob Graham while they were teens as the electropop duo Goat Explosion. However, the band split and Pierce and Graham went on to other projects: Graham formed the indie pop group Horse Shoes, who released an EP on Shelflife in 2009. Meanwhile, Pierce and another friend, Adam Kessler, founded the new wave-inspired band Elkland, who were signed to Columbia Records and issued the album Golden in 2005. That year, Pierce left the band (which broke up in 2006) and took a hiatus from making music. In 2008, Graham and Pierce reconnected and began writing songs together, trading the electronic direction of their earlier collaboration for a guitar-based approach. Early the following year, Pierce and Graham moved from central Florida to New York City, where Kessler became their second guitarist. With the addition of drummer Connor Hanwick, formerly of Cape of No Hope, the Drums' lineup was complete. Moshi Moshi released the Drums' singles "Let's Go Surfing" and "I Felt Stupid," and their debut EP, Summertime!, arrived late in 2009. The singles "Best Friend" and "Forever and Ever Amen" preceded the band's self-titled first album, which Moshi Moshi released in the U.K. in spring 2010; it arrived in the States that autumn. During their first U.S. tour, Kessler left the group; friend of the band Tom Haslow played guitar for the rest of those dates. The Drums commenced writing and recording as a trio, releasing their first single with this lineup, "The New World," in April 2011. Recruiting Violens' Chris Stein and Myles Matheny as members of their touring act, the band released the darker, keyboard-heavy Portamento that September. Hanwick, who had switched from drums to guitar, left the Drums during their 2012 tour. Pierce and Graham took time to regroup, each announcing solo projects. Pierce released the electropop solo single "I Didn't Realise" late in 2012, while Graham formed the dreamy synth outfit Cascading Slopes. That November, the duo announced that another Drums album was on the way; recorded in a lakeside cabin in upstate New York, 2014's Encyclopedia ranged from Pixies-esque rock to folk-pop. Following a bad breakup, Pierce took some time away from music and relocated to Los Angeles; meanwhile, Graham left the Drums in 2016 to focus on his puppetry career and his band, Sound of Ceres. For the Drums' cheerily heartbroken 2017 album, Abysmal Thoughts, Pierce wrote and played everything on his own during sessions engineered by Eaters' Jonathan Schenke. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Drums

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    3 songs

    New Alternative First

    1 song

    Coffeehouse Corner

    1 song

Albums by
The Drums

Top Songs by
The Drums

  1.   Song
  2.   Let's Go Surfing
  3.   Forever and Ever Amen
  4.   Money
  5.   Saddest Summer
  6.   Blood Under My Belt
  7.   Days
  8.   How It Ended
  9.   Mirror
  10.   Me and the Moon
  11.   Heart Basel
  12.   Head of the Horse
  13.   Book of Revelation
  14.   There Is Nothing Left
  15.   I Need a Doctor
  16.   In the Cold
  17.   Down by the Water
  18.   I'll Fight for Your Life
  19.   I Can't Pretend
  20.   Best Friend
  21.   We Tried
  22.   Rich Kids
  23.   Under the Ice
  24.   Wild Geese
  25.   Face of God
  26.   Magic Mountain
  27.   What You Were
  28.   I'll Never Drop My Sword
  29.   I Need Fun in My Life
  30.   I Hope Time Doesn't Change Him
  31.   U.S. National Park
  32.   Submarine
  33.   Abysmal Thoughts
  34.   Are U Fucked
  35.   Shoot the Sun Down
  36.   The Rules of Your Life
  37.   Deep in My Heart
  38.   Kiss Me Again
  39.   Please Don't Leave
  40.   If He Likes It Let Him Do It
  41.   Instruct Me
  42.   The Future
  43.   It Will All End in Tears
  44.   Skippin' Town
  45.   Book of Stories
  46.   Make You Mine
  47.   I Felt Stupid
  48.   Don't Be a Jerk, Johnny
  49.   Let Me
  50.   Hard to Love
  51.   We Found It
  52.   Searching for Heaven
  53.   I Don't Know How to Love
  54.   If All We Share (Means Nothing)
  55.   Your Tenderness
  56.   The New World
  57.   Bell Laboratories
  58.   Blue Stripes
  59.   Break My Heart

Artists Related to The Drums


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |