Slacker Logo


The Fray

By pitching their music somewhere between the arena-friendly style of U2 and the mature pop/rock of bands like Maroon 5 and Counting Crows, the Fray rose to commercial prominence with their 2005 debut, How to Save a Life. The Denver-based band had formed three years prior, when former schoolmates Isaac Slade (vocals, piano) and Joe King (guitar, vocals) unexpectedly bumped into each other at a local music store. The pair began a series of two-man jam sessions and soon expanded their lineup with two of Slade's former bandmates, drummer Ben Wysocki and guitarist David Welsh. Slade's younger brother, Caleb, also joined the band for a time but was ultimately asked to leave; the resulting rift between the two siblings would later inspire the band's first hit single, "Over My Head (Cable Car)." After issuing the Movement EP in 2002, the quartet gained the support of Denver's KTCL radio station with a follow-up release, 2003's Reason EP. As the Fray's airplay increased alongside their local profile (Westword, a Denver alternative weekly publication, deemed them Best New Band in 2004), they began attracting attention from Epic Records. The label ultimately signed the band in December 2004, and the Fray toured alongside Weezer and Ben Folds the following summer. How to Save a Life was released in September 2005, and "Over My Head (Cable Car)" found a quick home on modern rock radio. By early 2006, it had crossed over to Top 40 chart status, peaking at number eight and whetting the public's appetite for another hit. The Fray responded by releasing the album's title track, which was heavily used in a promotional campaign for the TV series Grey's Anatomy and quickly became one of 2006's biggest singles. "How to Save a Life" was a worldwide smash, reaching the Top Ten in the U.S. (where it continued to chart for 58 consecutive weeks) and peaking at number one in Bulgaria, Ireland, Canada, and Spain. By the time the smoke had cleared, the Fray's debut had been certified double-platinum in the U.S. and was declared the best-selling digital album of all time. As How to Save a Life continued to enjoy worldwide chart success, the live album Live at the Electric Factory was released in selected independent stores in July 2006. The Fray re-released their Reason EP the following year while continuing to tour, occasionally playing new material at their high-profile shows. The band also found time to return to the recording studio, and 2009 saw the release of their self-titled sophomore effort, The Fray. The band's third studio outing was produced by Brendan O'Brien and was inspired by the group's trips to Rwanda and Germany. The resulting Scars and Stories, which was named after an unused B-side, was preceded by the single "Heartbeat" and released on February 7, 2012. At the end of the year, frontman Isaac Slade confirmed the band was starting work on its fourth record, and the Fray subsequently headed into the studio with producer Stuart Price (the Killers, Madonna, Keane). The resulting Helios, released in 2014, received mixed reviews, but introduced some new fan favorites into the Fray lexicon via the stadium-ready singles "Love Don't Die" and "Break Your Plans." Two years later saw the release of Through the Years: The Best of the Fray, a career retrospective that included a new single, "Singing Low." ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Fray

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    3 songs

    Christian Rock

    Christian Rock
    2 songs

    Oldies Holiday

    Oldies Holiday
    1 song

    Lite Hits

    Lite Hits
    3 songs

    Love Songs

    2 songs

    Adult Alternative

    2 songs

    Adult Rock

    2 songs

    Shuffle Hits

    2 songs

Albums by
The Fray

Top Songs by
The Fray

  1.   Song
  2.   Over My Head (Cable Car)
  3.   How To Save A Life
  4.   You Found Me
  5.   Happy X-Mas (War Is Over)
  6.   Never Say Never
  7.   Syndicate
  8.   Heartbeat
  9.   All at Once
  10.   Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World
  11.   Look After You
  12.   Happiness
  13.   Vienna
  14.   Enough For Now
  15.   She Is
  16.   Run for Your Life
  17.   Little House
  18.   Heartless (Swinghouse Session)
  19.   Love Don't Die
  20.   Break Your Plans
  21.   Rainy Zurich
  22.   Be Still
  23.   Singing Low
  24.   Mahna Mahna
  25.   Dead Wrong
  26.   Changing Tides
  27.   Boulder to Birmingham by Emmylou Harris
  28.   1961
  29.   Absolute
  30.   Heaven Forbid
  31.   Without Reason
  32.   Maps
  33.   Where the Story Ends
  34.   Interlude 2
  35.   Fall Away
  36.   Oceans Away
  37.   Shadow and a Dancer
  38.   Hold My Hand
  39.   Ready or Not
  40.   48 to Go
  41.   Turn Me On
  42.   Take Your Time
  43.   Ungodly Hour
  44.   Unsaid
  45.   Wherever This Goes
  46.   Keep on Wanting
  47.   Hurricane
  48.   Closer to Me
  49.   Give It Away
  50.   Streets of Philadelphia
  51.   Why
  52.   Here We Are
  53.   We Build Then We Break
  54.   Hundred
  55.   Trust Me
  56.   "Chips and Salsa"
  57.   Corners
  58.   Same as You
  59.   Our Last Days
  60.   The Fighter
  61.   Great Beyond
  62.   "It's Not Easy Being Skinny"
  63.   Some Trust
  64.   Munich
  65.   The Wind
  66.   Hips Don't Lie
  67.   I Can Barely Say
  68.   Together
  69.   Say When
  70.   Interlude 1
  71.   City Hall
  72.   The Making of Over My Head (Cable Car)
  73.   On the Road
  74.   The Story
  75.   How to Save a Life/The Story
  76.   The Making Of Never Say Never
  77.   Heartless
  78.   Fair Fight
  79.   Be the One
  80.   Uncertainty
  81.   01 Absolute
  82.   New Album Version
  83.   Acoustic Version From Q101
  84.   Video
  85.   Chamging Tides