Slacker Logo


The Go! Team

The sound of the Go! Team, a six-piece group from Brighton, England, is a stunning blend of indie rock guitars, police show themes, hip-hop beats, and schoolyard chants built on samples and then augmented by live instrumentation. The founder and leader of the Team is Ian Parton, who provides guitar and sculpts their sound. The rest of the group includes Sam Dook on guitar, banjo, and drums; Chi "Ky" Fukami Taylor on drums; Jaime Bell on bass; Ninja on vocals; and Kaori Tsuchida on drums, guitar, keyboards, and melodica. Their first release, 2000's Get It Together, was primarily a solo effort by Parton that gained support from John Peel and others, but legal problems prevented a timely follow-up. By the time of 2003's Junior Kickstart single, the group had been assembled (and included Silke Steidinger, who left in the fall of 2005) and signed to Memphis Industries. Thunder, Lightning, Strike was released in 2004 and quickly became a sensation in the U.K., where it was nominated for the Mercury Prize, and in the U.S., where the band became an MP3 blog darling. A bidding war ensued in the U.S., with Columbia winning, but before the album could gain release, many of the samples had to be replaced (which didn't affect the quality of the record at all). The group followed up the album with two U.K. singles, 2005's Bottle Rocket and 2006's Ladyflash, and extensive world touring. While Thunder, Lightning, Strike was an artistic success, it didn't sell the way Columbia would have liked and the band found itself label-less in America. Sub Pop soon picked them up and (with Memphis Industries) released Proof of Youth in 2007. After a long break, the group returned in early 2011 with its third album. Rolling Blackouts had the same core group as previous records and featured guest appearances by Deerhoof's Satomi Matsuzaki and Bethany Cosentino of Best Coast. After another long break, during which Parton called a band meeting and basically fired the whole group, the fourth Go! Team album, The Scene Between, was released in early 2015. With Parton calling all the shots musically and a different singer on each track, the album was both a return to their early way of working and a step in a new direction. ~ Tim Sendra
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Go! Team

Albums by
The Go! Team

Top Songs by
The Go! Team

  1.   Song
  2.   Buy Nothing Day
  3.   Grip Like A Vice
  4.   Ladyflash
  5.   Titanic Vandalism
  6.   The Wrath of Marcie
  7.   The Power Is On
  8.   Huddle Formation
  9.   Waking the Jetstream
  10.   Her Last Wave
  11.   My World
  12.   Fake ID
  13.   Milk Crisis
  14.   Did You Know?
  15.   Get It Together
  16.   Huddle Flash (Kevin Shields v The Go! Team)
  17.   Blowtorch
  18.   T.O.R.N.A.D.O
  19.   Bust Out Brigade
  20.   I'm Not Satisfied
  21.   Doing It Right
  22.   Flashlight Fight
  23.   Bottle Rocket
  24.   Air Raid GTR
  25.   Yosemite Theme
  26.   The Floating Felt Tip
  27.   Panther Dash
  28.   Kill the Klansmen
  29.   Reason Left To Destroy
  30.   Catch Me On the Rebound
  31.   Gaffa Tape Bikini
  32.   Rolodex the Seasons
  33.   What D'you Say?
  34.   Rolling Blackouts
  35.   Lazy Poltergeist
  36.   Back Like 8 Track
  37.   Apollo Throwdown
  38.   The Ice Storm
  39.   Flashlight Fight
  40.   A Version of Myself
  41.   Patricia's Moving Picture
  42.   I Never Needed It Now So Much
  43.   Universal Speech
  44.   Keys to the City
  45.   We Just Won't Be Defeated
  46.   Junior Kickstart
  47.   Super Triangle
  48.   The Running Range
  49.   The Art of Getting By (Song For Heaven's Gate)
  50.   Pocket Money Rodeo
  51.   Everyone's a V.I.P. To Someone
  52.   Friendship Update
  53.   Ready to Go Steady
  54.   Voice Yr Choice
  55.   Til We Do It Together
  56.   Feelgood by Numbers
  57.   Hold Yr Terror Close
  58.   Ye Ye Yamaha
  59.   We Listen Everyday
  60.   Secretary Song
  61.   The Scene Between
  62.   [Untitled Track]
  63.   Phantom Broadcast
  64.   Bull in the Heather
  65.   Huddle Flash by Kevin Shields
  66.   Did You Feel It Too?
  67.   Assembly
  68.   Headache in My Heart
  69.   Flashlight Flight by Chuck D

Artists Related to The Go! Team


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |