Slacker Logo


The Radio Dept.

The Radio Dept. were one of the more successful shoegaze-influenced indie rock bands to come out of Sweden in the early 2000s, making waves among indie aficionados on the strength of their critically acclaimed first release, Lesser Matters. Elin Almered and Johan Duncanson formed a prototypical version of the group in Lund, Sweden, in 1995 while they were in high school, naming the group after a gas station called Radioavdelningen. Almered and Duncanson disbanded almost as soon as they'd found a name, but Duncanson revived the group three years later, teaming up with Martin Larsson. Bassist Lisa Carlberg, drummer Per Blomgren, and keyboardist Daniel Tjader rounded out the lineup in 2001, and things took off for the group at that point. They sent a demo to Sonic magazine, which went on to feature the band on a CD sampler. Swedish indie giant Labrador caught wind of the demo via the sampler and snapped the band up; the group's debut full-length, Lesser Matters, arrived two years later, during which time Blomgren amicably split with the group. That album and the band's second release on Labrador, 2005's Pulling Our Weight EP, received widespread attention with the release of Sofia Coppola's Marie Antoinette, which featured "Keen on Boys," "Pulling Our Weight," and "I Don't Like It Like This." Carlberg left the group soon after Pulling Our Weight was released, and the group refrained from hiring another bassist, opting instead for the use of a drum machine on its next album. That release, 2006's Pet Grief, found Duncanson and Larsson turning away from the guitar-driven aspects of their first full-length and delving into synth pop in the spirit of the Pet Shop Boys. Due to various factors, including the fact that the band didn't tour heavily in support of the album, Pet Grief failed to sell as well as its predecessor and received little attention from the mainstream music press. The Radio Dept. took their time recording material for their next album, and it wasn't until summer of 2008 that a new single, Freddie and the Trojan Horse, was released. More delays led to nothing further surfacing until the next summer, when the single David was released. The album that had been rumored to be finished in late 2008, Clinging to a Scheme, finally saw the light of day in April of 2010. The Radio Dept. quickly followed up later that year with a single, "The New Improved Hypocrisy," that showed their unvarnished political leanings. Their next release was Passive Aggressive: Singles 2002–2010 in January of 2011. The collection compiled all the single A-sides and many of the B-sides, plus a few rarities. Also that year, the group was nominated for Band of the Year and Clinging to a Scheme was a finalist for Album of the Year at the Swedish Grammis. Though they didn't win, it spoke to the high regard the Radio Dept. had achieved in their home country. Later, they set out on a lengthy tour of North America, Latin America, and Asia. It was their last activity for a few years as their next single, "Death to Fascism," didn't come out until 2014. During that time they became disillusioned with the contract they had with Labrador Records and their publishers, which led to the band suing both. The album they had begun working on, a return to a shoegazey sound, was stalled in the process. Eventually, the band (now down to the duo of Duncanson and Larsson) lost its suit and began working on a new, more dance music-based album. First, they released two singles during 2015 ("Occupied" and "This Repeated Sodomy") and played at Coachella. As part of the lawsuit's settlement, the duo owed Labrador one more album, and they delivered the politically charged Running Out of Love in late 2016. ~ Margaret Reges & Tim Sendra
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Radio Dept.

    Indie Chill

    Indie Chill
    1 song

    Electronic Chill

    Electronic Chill
    2 songs

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    2 songs

Albums by
The Radio Dept.

Top Songs by
The Radio Dept.

  1.   Song
  2.   Heaven's on Fire
  3.   Domestic Scene
  4.   Keen on Boys
  5.   David
  6.   Messy Enough
  7.   On Your Side
  8.   The Idle Urban Contemporaries
  9.   Never Swallow Fruit
  10.   The One
  11.   Pulling Our Weight
  12.   Freddie and the Trojan Horse
  13.   The Worst Taste in Music
  14.   Slottet #2
  15.   Committed to the Cause
  16.   Can't Be Guilty
  17.   Someone Else
  18.   Bus
  19.   Against the Tide
  20.   Where Damage Isn't Already Done
  21.   Stay Off Route
  22.   It's Personal
  23.   I Don't Like It Like This
  24.   What Will Give
  25.   Why Won't You Talk About It?
  26.   Teach Me to Forget
  27.   This Thing Was Bound to Happen
  28.   Swedish Guns
  29.   It Looked Like Heaven (But Feels Like Hell)
  30.   We Would Fall Against the Tide
  31.   Värnhem
  32.   This Past Week
  33.   Annie Laurie
  34.   I Don't Need Love, I've Got My Band
  35.   You Stopped Making Sense
  36.   Peace of Mind
  37.   I Wanted You To Feel The Same
  38.   Mad About the Boy
  39.   Strange Things Will Happen
  40.   Thieves of State
  41.   Lost and Found
  42.   Running Out of Love
  43.   The Video Dept.
  44.   We Made the Team
  45.   Slottet
  46.   Death To Fascism
  47.   South Side
  48.   Sleeping In
  49.   We Climb the Wired Fences
  50.   Tåget
  51.   Window
  52.   Down Down Down
  53.   The City Limit
  54.   Let Me Have This
  55.   This Time Around
  56.   A Token of Gratitude
  57.   Tell
  58.   Always A Relief
  59.   Your Father
  60.   1995
  61.   Gibraltar
  62.   We Got Game
  63.   It's Been Eight Years
  64.   The New Improved Hypocrisy
  65.   The Room, Tarzana
  66.   Too Soon
  67.   Sloboda Narodu
  68.   Memory Loss
  69.   All About Our Love
  70.   Ewan
  71.   Bachelor Kisses
  72.   Four Months in the Shade
  73.   Liebling
  74.   Occupied
  75.   You and Me Then?
  76.   Pet Grief
  77.   This Repeated Sodomy
  78.   Closing Scene
  79.   Every Time
  80.   Deliverance
  81.   Never Follow Suit
  82.   What You Sell

Artists Related to The Radio Dept.