Slacker Logo


The Drums

Mixing Factory Records-style indie and '50s-inspired melodies, the Drums is the project of singer/songwriter Jonny Pierce. Pierce began making music with childhood friend Jacob Graham while they were teens as the electropop duo Goat Explosion. However, the band split and Pierce and Graham went on to other projects: Graham formed the indie pop group Horse Shoes, who released an EP on Shelflife in 2009. Meanwhile, Pierce and another friend, Adam Kessler, founded the new wave-inspired band Elkland, who were signed to Columbia Records and issued the album Golden in 2005. That year, Pierce left the band (which broke up in 2006) and took a hiatus from making music. In 2008, Graham and Pierce reconnected and began writing songs together, trading the electronic direction of their earlier collaboration for a guitar-based approach. Early the following year, Pierce and Graham moved from central Florida to New York City, where Kessler became their second guitarist. With the addition of drummer Connor Hanwick, formerly of Cape of No Hope, the Drums' lineup was complete. Moshi Moshi released the Drums' singles "Let's Go Surfing" and "I Felt Stupid," and their debut EP, Summertime!, arrived late in 2009. The singles "Best Friend" and "Forever and Ever Amen" preceded the band's self-titled first album, which Moshi Moshi released in the U.K. in spring 2010; it arrived in the States that autumn. During their first U.S. tour, Kessler left the group; friend of the band Tom Haslow played guitar for the rest of those dates. The Drums commenced writing and recording as a trio, releasing their first single with this lineup, "The New World," in April 2011. Recruiting Violens' Chris Stein and Myles Matheny as members of their touring act, the band released the darker, keyboard-heavy Portamento that September. Hanwick, who had switched from drums to guitar, left the Drums during their 2012 tour. Pierce and Graham took time to regroup, each announcing solo projects. Pierce released the electropop solo single "I Didn't Realise" late in 2012, while Graham formed the dreamy synth outfit Cascading Slopes. That November, the duo announced that another Drums album was on the way; recorded in a lakeside cabin in upstate New York, 2014's Encyclopedia ranged from Pixies-esque rock to folk-pop. Following a bad breakup, Pierce took some time away from music and relocated to Los Angeles; meanwhile, Graham left the Drums in 2016 to focus on his puppetry career and his band, Sound of Ceres. For the Drums' cheerily heartbroken 2017 album, Abysmal Thoughts, Pierce wrote and played everything on his own during sessions engineered by Eaters' Jonathan Schenke. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Drums

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    2 songs

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    3 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    3 songs

    New Alternative First

    1 song

    Coffeehouse Corner

    1 song

Albums by
The Drums

Top Songs by
The Drums

  1.   Song
  2.   Let's Go Surfing
  3.   Forever and Ever Amen
  4.   Money
  5.   Saddest Summer
  6.   Blood Under My Belt
  7.   Days
  8.   How It Ended
  9.   Head of the Horse
  10.   Mirror
  11.   Heart Basel
  12.   Me and the Moon
  13.   There Is Nothing Left
  14.   Book of Revelation
  15.   Shoot the Sun Down
  16.   In the Cold
  17.   Kiss Me Again
  18.   Under the Ice
  19.   The New World
  20.   Face of God
  21.   Down by the Water
  22.   Your Tenderness
  23.   The Rules of Your Life
  24.   Magic Mountain
  25.   Instruct Me
  26.   The Future
  27.   Skippin' Town
  28.   Book of Stories
  29.   I Felt Stupid
  30.   Make You Mine
  31.   Deep in My Heart
  32.   I Can't Pretend
  33.   Blue Stripes
  34.   What You Were
  35.   Please Don't Leave
  36.   If He Likes It Let Him Do It
  37.   Hard to Love
  38.   We Tried
  39.   Best Friend
  40.   I Hope Time Doesn't Change Him
  41.   Bell Laboratories
  42.   Wild Geese
  43.   U.S. National Park
  44.   It Will All End in Tears
  45.   Submarine
  46.   If All We Share
  47.   Rich Kids
  48.   We Found It
  49.   I Need a Doctor
  50.   I'll Never Drop My Sword
  51.   Don't Be a Jerk, Johnny
  52.   Break My Heart
  53.   Let Me
  54.   Searching for Heaven
  55.   I'll Fight for Your Life
  56.   Abysmal Thoughts
  57.   I Don't Know How to Love
  58.   I Need Fun in My Life
  59.   Are U Fucked

Artists Related to The Drums


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |