Slacker Logo


Theresa Andersson

Violinist and singer/songwriter Theresa Andersson, who was born and raised on the Swedish island of Gotland, emigrated to the U.S. in 1990 at age 18 with her then-companion, guitarist Anders Osborne, and the couple settled in New Orleans, where Andersson first appeared on records by Osborne and by Merritt Doggins & the Bloodhounds. Rabadash Records released her debut solo album, the jazz-styled Vibes, in 1994. Sessions continued as she appeared on albums by Marva Wright, the Shines, Rockin' Jake Band, Cowboy Mouth, Lenny McDaniel, Mike West, George McCorkle, Jonas Risin', Galactic, the Radiators, Martin Hoybye, Kenny Edwards, Johnny Sketch & the Dirty Notes, and Gary Hirstius, among others, in the late '90s and early 2000s, while relocating to Nashville, Austin, and then back to New Orleans. Her second solo album, No Regrets, was released by PoVolt Records in 2002. Basin Street Records issued her third solo album, Shine, on April 20, 2004. Her songs were featured in the cable-TV movies The Brook Ellison Story and Infidelity, and she made cameo appearances in both. She also had a cameo in the feature film A Love Song for Bobby Long, and she sang Neil Young's "Like a Hurricane" in the cable-TV movie New Orleans Music in Exile. A self-titled EP appeared on May 30, 2006, as Andersson embarked on a tour of the South, accompanied by a four-piece band made up of former members of World Leader Pretend. Her next record, 2008's Hummingbird, Go!, was produced by fellow Swede singer/songwriter Tobias Fröberg and featured a cameo by New Orleans legend Allen Toussaint. In 2010, she appeared on the song "Ladies in Blue" from David Byrne and Fatboy Slim's album Here Lies Love. Andersson had children in 2011 and 2012 but kept up a busy performing and recording schedule, issuing Street Parade -- which featured a collaboration with Peter Bjorn and John's Peter Moren -- in April 2012 and embarking on a North American tour supporting the album soon after its release. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Theresa Andersson

    New Orleans Sounds

    New Orleans Sounds
    4 songs

Albums by
Theresa Andersson

Top Songs by
Theresa Andersson

  1.   Song
  2.   Injuns
  3.   Endymion
  4.   Fiya's Gone
  5.   What Comes Next by Peter Morén
  6.   God's Highway by Tobias Fröberg
  7.   Sleepsong For Saoirse
  8.   I'm on My Way
  9.   Summer Time
  10.   Bluesette
  11.   Ruby
  12.   Brian's Ballad
  13.   Street Parade
  14.   Birds Fly Away
  15.   Just as Far as You Run
  16.   Carey
  17.   It's Gonna Be Okay
  18.   Hummingbird, Go!
  19.   Lorraine's Song
  20.   Shine
  21.   Minor Changes
  22.   Well You Needn't
  23.   Good Girl
  24.   Hold On To Me
  25.   Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
  26.   Innan du Går by Ane Brun
  27.   Hi-Low
  28.   January
  29.   Japanese Art
  30.   Locusts Are Gossiping
  31.   What You Give
  32.   Plucks
  33.   'Round Midnight
  34.   Listen To My Heels
  35.   Speak Low
  36.   Na Na Na
  37.   Don't Disturb
  38.   Break Up
  39.   Lie to Me
  40.   Connected
  41.   The Waltz
  42.   Make It Pop
  43.   Swing Low
  44.   Introducing the Kitchenettes
  45.   False Alarm
  46.   Missin' You
  47.   Clusters

Artists Related to Theresa Andersson


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |