Slacker Logo


Tracey Thorn

One of the most enduring English singer/songwriters, Tracey Thorn began making music with Stern Bops and then, more notably, Marine Girls, a minimalist pop group that released a pair of albums inspired by Young Marble Giants and the Raincoats. While Marine Girls were active, Thorn released A Distant Shore, a relatively moody, if similarly skeletal solo album, on Cherry Red in 1982. Around that time, she met Ben Watt -- who was also signed to Cherry Red -- and formed a partnership as Everything But the Girl. From 1984 through 1999, Thorn and Watt released ten albums that shifted from indie pop to slick sophisti-pop to downtempo club music. Additionally, Thorn appeared on recordings by the likes of the Style Council, the Go-Betweens, and Massive Attack. Shortly after having twin daughters together, she and Watt put EBtG on ice, as Watt DJ'ed and operated his Buzzin' Fly label while Thorn stayed home with the children. They had a third child, a boy, in 2001. After several years away from music, Thorn began writing again and recorded her second solo album, Out of the Woods, which was released in early 2007. Instead of working with Watt, she collaborated with a number of producers, including Ewan Pearson, Charles Webster, Cagedbaby, Sasse, and Martin Wheeler. A year later, Thorn and Watt married. Pearson returned as sole producer of Thorn's 2010 effort Love and Its Opposite, released in the U.K. by Watt's Strange Feeling label. In 2012, Thorn released Tinsel and Lights, a holiday album featuring songs by contemporary composers. A well-received memoir, Bedsit Disco Queen: How I Grew Up and Tried to Be a Pop Star, was published in 2013. Following that, there were a couple low-key releases, including the two-song Molly Drake Songs (recorded with Watt for a BBC 4 documentary about the mother of Nick Drake) and "Under the Ivy" (a Kate Bush cover). Thorn was sought out by screenwriter and director Carol Morley to provide the soundtrack for The Falling, a drama that debuted at the BFI London Film Festival in 2014. Just prior to the film's wider release the following April, Thorn's contribution -- eight short songs -- was issued as Songs from The Falling. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Tracey Thorn

    Indie Chill

    Indie Chill
    5 songs

    Electronic Chill

    Electronic Chill
    1 song

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

Albums by
Tracey Thorn

Top Songs by
Tracey Thorn

  1.   Song
  2.   Hands Up to the Ceiling
  3.   Grand Canyon
  4.   Get Around to It
  5.   Singles Bar
  6.   Late in the Afternoon
  7.   Femme Fatale
  8.   Oh, the Divorces!
  9.   You Are a Lover
  10.   Night Time
  11.   Kentish Town
  12.   Swimming
  13.   Easy
  14.   Maybe This Christmas
  15.   A-Z
  16.   Falling Off a Log
  17.   Raise the Roof
  18.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  19.   How Wild the Wind Blows
  20.   Let Me In
  21.   King's Cross
  22.   Under the Ivy
  23.   Sister Winter
  24.   Simply Couldn't Care
  25.   Protection
  26.   The Tree Knows Everything
  27.   Venceremos: We Will Win by Working Week
  28.   Hospital
  29.   They Only Do Harm
  30.   Are You There?
  31.   The Book of Love
  32.   Night Is My Friend
  33.   Taking Down the Tree
  34.   Tinsel and Lights
  35.   Snow
  36.   In the Cold, Cold Night
  37.   Hard Candy Christmas
  38.   Joy
  39.   Taxi Cab
  40.   Why Does the Wind?
  41.   Long White Dress
  42.   Hormones
  43.   Come on Home to Me
  44.   It's All True
  45.   Goodbye Joe
  46.   New Opened Eyes
  47.   Seascape
  48.   By Piccadilly Station I Sat Down and Wept
  49.   Follow Me Down
  50.   All The Seasons
  51.   Damage
  52.   Nowhere Near
  53.   River
  54.   Here It Comes Again
  55.   It Was Always Me
  56.   Plain Sailing
  57.   Overture
  58.   Little Things
  59.   Dreamy
  60.   Too Happy
  61.   Snow in Sun
  62.   Better Things by Massive Attack
  63.   Small Town Girl
  64.   Like a Snowman

Artists Related to Tracey Thorn

Zero 7

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |