Slacker Logo



School chums Chris Brown and Peter Charell absorbed the heavy rock sound of Korn, Soundgarden, and Metallica during the mid-'90s. Both were music geeks and naturally flirted with the idea of getting a group together. Casual gigs in school motivated them even more, leaving Brown and Charell to design what would become Trapt. In 1997, fellow guitarist Simon Ormandy joined the band. The trio recorded its own demo and landed gigs in and around the suburbs of southern California. Within a year, Trapt were opening up for the likes of Papa Roach, Dredg, and Spike 1000, but high-school graduation loomed ahead. Trapt's second album, Amalgamation, was self-released in 1998, but the band's dynamic was shifting. Ormandy and Brown were attending classes at UC Santa Barbara by fall 1999 while Charell was several hours away at UC Santa Cruz. The band met up on weekends for rehearsals and shows, and also managed to issue another record, Glimpse, in early 2000 with hopes that a record label would notice. As luck would have it, Trapt impressed those at the Immortal label after a stellar gig at the Troubadour one evening in late 2000. Talks of a deal were in the works, but Immortal dropped the band after eight weeks. Each member eventually dropped out of school and moved to Los Angeles to focus solely on Trapt. Seattle native Aaron Montgomery joined to play drums, and after a 9/11 benefit show, Warner Bros. offered the band a deal in late 2001. A year later, Trapt prepared their proper debut, and a self-titled EP appeared in spring 2004. The band returned in 2005 with Someone in Control. A live album released in 2007 -- simply titled Live -- was their first for Nikki Sixx's Eleven Seven label. A year later they teamed with producer GGGarth Richardson for their third studio album, Only Through the Pain. For their fourth album, the band went into the studio with producer Johnny K, and in 2010 released No Apologies. For their next album the band expanded their sound by adding synthesizers and samples, making their fifth album, Reborn, their most ambitious album to date. ~ MacKenzie Wilson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    3 songs

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    5 songs

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Headstrong
  3.   Stand Up
  4.   Sound Off
  5.   Disconnected (Out of Touch)
  6.   Still Frame
  7.   Bring It
  8.   Who's Going Home With You Tonight
  9.   Echo
  10.   Contagious
  11.   End of My Rope
  12.   Love Hate Relationship
  13.   Waiting
  14.   These Walls
  15.   Made of Glass
  16.   When All Is Said and Done
  17.   Only One in Color
  18.   Hollowman
  19.   Wasteland
  20.   New Beginning
  21.   Living in the Eye of the Storm
  22.   Black Rose
  23.   Skin Deep
  24.   Ready When You Are
  25.   The Game
  26.   Enigma
  27.   Stories
  28.   Lost Realist
  29.   Passenger
  30.   Too Close
  31.   Going Under
  32.   Overloaded
  33.   Bleed Like Me
  34.   Human (Like the Rest of Us)
  35.   Get Out of Your Own Way
  36.   Experience
  37.   Beautiful Scar
  38.   Cover Up
  39.   Stay Alive
  40.   Promise
  41.   Livewire (Light Me Up)
  42.   The Wind
  43.   Stranger in the Mirror
  44.   The Last Tear
  45.   Victim
  46.   Repeat Offender
  47.   When It Rains
  48.   No Apologies
  49.   Drama Queen
  50.   Use Me to Use You
  51.   Get Up
  52.   Wherever She Goes
  53.   Everything to Lose
  54.   Lost in a Portrait
  55.   It's Over
  56.   Are You with Me
  57.   Forget About the Rain
  58.   Influence
  59.   Storyteller
  60.   Policy of Truth
  61.   Strength in Numbers
  62.   Product of My Own Design
  63.   Curiosity Kills
  64.   You're No Angel
  65.   Alibi
  66.   [CD-Rom Track]
  67.   Patience
  68.   Perfect Dream
  69.   Avelyn (Acoustic)
  70.   Only in One Color

Artists Related to Trapt

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |