Slacker Logo



Late-'70s/early-'80s prog metallists Triumph endured countless comparisons to Rush throughout their career, and with good reason; they were both quite similar musically and lyrically, comprised of three members each, and hailed from Canada (although it must be said that Rush were the originator, and were much more commercially successful). Formed in Toronto during 1975, the trio consisted of guitarist/singer Rik Emmett, drummer/singer Gil Moore, and bassist/keyboardist Mike Levine, and issued its self-titled debut a year later via the independent Attic label. Although the album was largely ignored, it became a favorite of a radio DJ in San Antonio, Texas, which led to a regional following solidified by a tour of the state. The exposure also gave way to a deal with RCA Records, which reissued the debut as well as Triumph's sophomore effort, 1977's Rock & Roll Machine, which spawned the group's first semi-hit single, a cover of Joe Walsh's "Rocky Mountain Way." It was also around this time that the group became known for its concerts, which relied heavily on pyrotechnics and an intricate light show (just in case their following couldn't figure this out themselves, the trio penned a track called "Blinding Light Show"). With their stock rising among hard rock fans, Triumph inked a new recording contract with MCA, which led to their most successful period both artistically and commercially. Such resulting albums as 1979's Just a Game and 1980's Progressions of Power inched the group closer to breakthrough success, which was obtained by a pair of back-to-back gold-certified albums: 1981's Allied Forces (often considered the group's best album, which spawned the hit anthem "Fight the Good Fight") and 1982's Never Surrender. Such further albums as 1984's Thunder Seven, 1985's Stages, 1985's The Sport of Kings, and 1987's Surveillance failed to meet the expectations set by Triumph's earlier releases, yet the group was able to retain its following. Come 1988, Emmett opted to leave the group to pursue a solo career, but instead of calling it a day, Moore and Levine decided to carry on with a new frontman/guitarist, while an 11-track best-of set, Classics, was issued a year after Emmett's exit. Their first choice, ex-Thin Lizzy/Whitesnake member John Sykes, was too busy getting his project Blue Murder off the ground at the time, so the gig ultimately went to former Frozen Ghost/Aldo Nova associate Phil X (it was also around this time that the group built its own recording studio in Mississauga, Ontario, called Metalworks). The Phil X-led version of the group only managed to issue a single release, however, 1993's Edge of Excess, before Triumph split up for good. In the wake of their breakup, several archival releases popped up in record stores, such as 1995's In the Beginning and 1996's King Biscuit Flower Hour (the latter of which chronicled a 1981 concert), while Rik Emmett continued on with his solo career, issuing albums on a regular basis throughout the '90s. In 2007, it was announced that Triumph were to be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Subsequently, the original lineup of Emmett, Levine, and Moore reunited for several high-profile live shows leading up to their induction into the Hall of Fame during the 2008 Juno Awards. In 2012, the band released the DVD/CD set Live at Sweden Rock Festival, which documents Triumph's reunion concert from 2008. ~ Greg Prato
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Classic Metal

    Classic Metal
    3 songs

    Deep Classic Rock

    Deep Classic Rock
    2 songs

    Hair Metal

    Hair Metal
    2 songs

    Classic Rock

    Classic Rock
    4 songs

    Classic Hard Rock

    4 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Fight the Good Fight
  3.   Lay It on the Line
  4.   Magic Power
  5.   Hold On
  6.   Spellbound
  7.   Never Surrender
  8.   Allied Forces
  9.   I Live for the Weekend
  10.   Rock & Roll Machine
  11.   Follow Your Heart
  12.   Somebody's Out There
  13.   Tears in the Rain
  14.   Rock Out, Rock On
  15.   I Can Survive
  16.   When the Lights Go Down
  17.   Takes Time
  18.   Too Much Thinking
  19.   Fool for Your Love
  20.   Movin' On
  21.   Little Texas Shaker
  22.   A World of Fantasy
  23.   Don't Take My Life
  24.   Time Goes By
  25.   Ordinary Man
  26.   American Girls
  27.   Just a Game
  28.   Young Enough to Cry
  29.   Mind Games
  30.   Don't Love Anybody Else But Me
  31.   Never Say Never
  32.   Be My Lover
  33.   The Waking Dream (Prelude)
  34.   All the King's Horses
  35.   Stranger in a Strange Land
  36.   Killing Time
  37.   Midsummer's Daydream
  38.   In the Middle of the Night
  39.   Fingertalkin'
  40.   Take My Heart
  41.   In the Night
  42.   Hot Time (In This City Tonight)
  43.   Air Raid
  44.   Rocky Mountain Way
  45.   Nature's Child
  46.   Easy Life
  47.   What's Another Day of Rock' N ' Roll
  48.   Street Fighter
  49.   Woman in Love
  50.   Long Time Gone
  51.   24 Hours a Day
  52.   Veranoski by Edu Imbernón
  53.   Mystery Inside featuring Edu Imbernón
  54.   New York City Streets, Pt. 2
  55.   All Over Again
  56.   On and On
  57.   Let the Light (Shine on Me)
  58.   Carry on the Flame
  59.   Headed for Nowhere
  60.   Prologue: Into the Forever
  61.   Battle Cry
  62.   A Minor Prelude
  63.   Epilogue (Resolution)
  64.   Overture (Processional)
  65.   Fantasy Serenade
  66.   Empty Inside
  67.   Little Boy Blues
  68.   Time Canon
  69.   Play with the Fire
  70.   Embrujo
  71.   Hooked on You
  72.   Let Me Get Next to You
  73.   Blinding Light Show/Moonchild
  74.   All the Way
  75.   Tear the Roof Off
  76.   Bringing It on Home
  77.   New York City Streets, Pt. 1
  78.   The City: War March/El Duende Agonizante/Minstrel's Lament
  79.   Petite Etude
  80.   Trouble, Pt. 2
  81.   Believe
  82.   Love Hurts
  83.   Running in the Night
  84.   Rock You Down
  85.   Writing on the Wall
  86.   Suitcase Blues
  87.   Cool Down
  88.   Just One Night
  89.   Take a Stand
  90.   If Only
  91.   Say Goodbye
  92.   Hard Road
  93.   Your Eyes
  94.   History
  95.   What Rules My Heart
  96.   Destiny
  97.   Trouble