Slacker Logo


Unearthly Trance

Long Island and Brooklyn, New York's Unearthly Trance came into existence at the dawn of the new millennium around the talents of vocalist/guitarist Ryan Lipynsky, bassist Jay Newman, and drummer Darren Verni. Sworn to perpetrate the most corrosive blackened doom/sludge metal dirges imaginable, the heavy-handed trio followed on the heels of bands like Warhorse, Khanate, and others. A couple of self-financed early releases, Hadit and V.V.V.V., preceded the arrival of their full-length debut, 2003's Season of Séance, Science of Silence. The punishing In the Red arrived the following year, and in 2006 Unearthly Trance inked a deal with Relapse Records and issued their third studio long-player, The Trident. Arriving in 2008, Electrocution saw them expanding their sound by adding elements of progressive and experimental metal into the mix, and 2010's V catered to both persuasions, delivering the visceral punch of their earlier works while maintaining the more exploratory nature of their recent offerings. In 2012, after years of touring and recording, Unearthly Trance decided to call it quits, but they reconvened in 2015, releasing a double album of early vinyl-only material called Ouroboros. Energized by the process, the band headed back into the studio the following year to lay down tracks for a studio LP. The resulting Stalking the Ghost, released via Relapse, arrived in 2017. ~ James Christopher Monger
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Unearthly Trance

Albums by
Unearthly Trance

Top Songs by
Unearthly Trance

  1.   Song
  2.   Possession in Poverty
  3.   Current
  4.   Firebrand
  5.   Inself/Infinite
  6.   In the Forest's Keep
  7.   Unveiled
  8.   Distant Roads Overgrown
  9.   The Leveling
  10.   Invisible Butchery
  11.   Solar Eye
  12.   Dream State Arsenal
  13.   Wandering Winter Winds
  14.   Where the Unbelievable Is Ordinary
  15.   Penta(grams)
  16.   The Great Cauldron
  17.   [Untitled]
  18.   Sleeping While They Feast
  19.   Turning Piss into Gold
  20.   Adversaries Mask I
  21.   In the Red
  22.   Decrepitude
  23.   The Aftermath Was Morbid
  24.   Burn You Insane
  25.   Scarlet
  26.   Scythe
  27.   Black Heart/Black Lung
  28.   Wake Up and Smell the Corpses
  29.   Into the Spiral
  30.   Submerged Metropolis
  31.   Lion Strength
  32.   Raised by the Wolves
  33.   Adversaries Mask 1
  34.   Into a Chasm
  35.   Adversaries Mask 2
  36.   Mass of the Phoenix
  37.   Adversaries Mask II
  38.   You Get What You Want
  39.   Famine
  40.   God Is a Beast
  41.   Untitled
  42.   Permanent Ice
  43.   The Horsemen Arrive in the Night
  44.   Servants of the Warsmen
  45.   When Anti-Humanity Flourishes
  46.   Physical Universe Distorts
  47.   The Scum Is in Orbit
  48.   It Is the Never and Forever That You Fear
  49.   Religious Slaves
  50.   The Tesla Effect
  51.   Chaos Star
  52.   Diseased
  53.   The Air Exits/The Sea Accepts Me
  54.   Long Gone
  55.   The Dust Will Never Settle

Artists Related to Unearthly Trance


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |