Slacker Logo


Unwritten Law

Veteran San Diego, California punk rock band Unwritten Law were formed in the early '90s by drummer Wade Youman. After a few different iterations in its lineup, the band eventually coalesced around vocalist Scott Russo, guitarists Rob Brewer and Steve Morris, bassist John Bell, and Youman. After releasing their debut, Blue Room, on Red Eye Records, Unwritten Law toured America several times but grew frustrated by the lack of distribution of their records. They eventually signed to Epic, which re-released Blue Room and issued their second album, Oz Factor, in 1996. The following year, the group jumped to Interscope and recorded its self-titled third LP in 1998. Just before its release in June of that year, Bell left and was replaced by Sprung Monkey's Pat Kim. Unwritten Law spawned a few scene hits, like "Lonesome" and "Cailin." In early 2002, the band issued its fourth full-length, the less punk, more hard rock Elva. Debut single "Seein' Red" was a hit on MTV's TRL and mainstream radio charts. Before the year came to a close, Unwritten Law inked a major deal with Lava Records. The largely acoustic Music in High Places followed in early 2003. Recorded on location in Yellowstone National Park, the album was part of VH1's Music from High Places series, a sort of National Geographic Explorer for the Warped Tour set. Shortly after, as the band started recording its fifth studio effort, Tony Palermo (Pulley, the Jealous Sound) replaced founding drummer Youman. The Sean Beavan-produced Here's to the Mourning followed in February 2005, featuring the single "Save Me," which also garnered the band another radio hit. A month later during a tour with Sum 41, Rob Brewer was ejected from the band after an on-stage altercation with Russo. The band decided to continue on as a four-piece instead of replacing him. Unwritten Law's installment for the 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection series was issued in fall 2006 by their former label, Interscope, a curious move considering the band was due to release its own greatest-hits compilation, The Hit List (which included various re-recordings and a new song), in early January 2007. The following year, Palermo left Unwritten Law and joined Papa Roach. He was replaced for a few years by Dylan Howard. The band continued touring and released Live and Lawless in late 2008. After a few years of silence, Swan, the group's sixth studio album, arrived in 2011 via Suburban Noize Records. While touring behind the album, Steve Morris and Pat Kim left the band and were replaced by Derik Envy and Kevin Besignano. Their stint was also short-lived, as they too parted ways after the reconciliatory return of Youman. The band recruited Jonny Grill and Chris Lewis to fill out the quartet in 2013. In 2016 the band released another acoustic collection, the 13-track Acoustic, which included a cover of a John Legend/MSTRKRFT song, as well as a new track, "Belongs to You." ~ John Bush & Neil Z. Yeung
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Unwritten Law


    4 songs

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    2 songs

    Punk U

    Punk U
    5 songs

    Acoustic Rock

    Acoustic Rock
    1 song

Albums by
Unwritten Law

Top Songs by
Unwritten Law

  1.   Song
  2.   Up All Night
  3.   Seein' Red
  4.   Harmonic
  5.   Cailin
  6.   Superman
  7.   Sorry
  8.   Rest of My Life
  9.   Save Me
  10.   California Sky
  11.   Teenage Suicide
  12.   Stop to Think
  13.   Underground
  14.   Starships
  15.   Teenage
  16.   Evolution
  17.   Rescue Me
  18.   Oz Factor
  19.   Shoulda
  20.   Huartbreaker
  21.   Starships and Apocalypse
  22.   Sing
  23.   Nevermind
  24.   Let You Go
  25.   Dark Dayz
  26.   I Like the Way
  27.   Celebration Song
  28.   Get Up
  29.   Elva
  30.   Actress, Model...
  31.   How You Feel
  32.   Sound Siren
  33.   Mean Girl
  34.   Baby, Baby
  35.   World War III
  36.   Switch
  37.   Kill to Breathe
  38.   Superficial Society
  39.   Lessons
  40.   Tribute
  41.   Obsession
  42.   What About Me
  43.   Genocide/418
  44.   Close Your Eyes
  45.   Coffin Text
  46.   Lame
  47.   Differences
  48.   Shallow
  49.   Falling Down
  50.   Suzanne
  51.   Denied
  52.   Tell Me Why
  53.   Celebration
  54.   Please Come Home for Christmas
  55.   Swan Song
  56.   On My Own
  57.   Love Love Love
  58.   Welcome to Oblivion
  59.   Shoulda Known Better
  60.   Oblivion
  61.   Walrus
  62.   F.I.G.H.T.
  63.   Rejections Cold
  64.   She Says
  65.   Slow Dance
  66.   Lost Control
  67.   Because of You
  68.   Intro
  69.   Babalon
  70.   Raleigh, Pt. 6
  71.   Geronimo
  72.   Hellborn
  73.   Nick and Phil
  74.   Blame It on Me
  75.   C.P.K.
  76.   Darkside
  77.   Blurred, Pt. 2
  78.   Rejected
  79.   Legend of Johnny and Sarah
  80.   Goody Two Shoes
  81.   Lonesome
  82.   Holiday
  83.   Before I Go
  84.   Armageddon Singalong
  85.   Belongs to You
  86.   Last Chance
  87.   Chicken (Ready to Go)
  88.   Hit and Run
  89.   Superbad