Slacker Logo


Urge Overkill

Few bands ever lusted after rock stardom quite as blatantly as Chicago's Urge Overkill. Although they draped their quest for stardom in a cloak of ironic detachment, it's quite clear the trio members expected that if they acted like stars, they would become stars. For a while, their stylish, retro-'70s outfits, matching medallions, and heavy Cheap Trick homages earned the group a popular following in alternative rock circles. The SuperSonic Storybook and the Stull EP were both underground hits in the early '90s, before alternative rock became big business. Once alternative rock entered the big leagues, it seemed likely that Urge Overkill, with their exceptionally accessible combination of arena rock, power pop, and underground punk, would follow Nirvana to the top of the charts, but mainstream America never quite understood their ironic outlook, embracing the group only after their cover of Neil Diamond's "Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon" was used in a key scene in Pulp Fiction. Instead of breaking down the doors to stardom, the song proved to be a breaking point. Exit the Dragon, the first album released after the hit single, was a bomb, receiving little radio or MTV support, and the bandmembers soon fell prey to their widely documented excesses. Of course, Urge Overkill were always unlikely candidates for rock stardom. The group's core members, Nash Kato (b. Nathan Katruud; occasionally billed as National Kato) and Eddie "King" Roeser, were Midwest suburbanites who met at college in Chicago. Taking their name from a Parliament song, the duo formed Urge Overkill in 1985 with drummer Jack Watt (billed as "the Jaguar") and recorded their debut EP, Strange, I... with Kato's roommate Steve Albini the following year. Neither Strange, I... nor its full-length follow-up, the Albini-produced Jesus Urge Superstar, gained much attention, primarily because the group was attempting to replicate the noise rock aesthetic of so many other Chicago-based acts on Touch & Go Records. However, the Butch Vig-produced Americruiser (1990) featured an improved sound and sense of style, highlighted on the near-college hit "Ticket to LA." Drummer Blackie Onassis (b. Johnny Rowan) was added to the band prior to the recording of its third album. With Onassis in the band, Urge Overkill landed on their Stonesy fusion of arena rock and punk, as well as their idea to act like stars. The new Urge Overkill were debuted on 1991's The SuperSonic Storybook, which became an underground hit thanks to strong reviews and a slot opening for Nirvana on the American Nevermind tour. Urge hired Kramer to produce the 1992 Stull EP, which featured both "Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon" and "Goodbye to Guyville," a kiss-off to the Chicago indie rock scene the band had alienated; Liz Phair would later borrow the term for her acclaimed debut album, Exile in Guyville. Urge Overkill signed to DGC Records in 1992, although they were still contracted to record another album for Touch & Go. Their jump to the majors angered the whole label, particularly their former producer Albini, who publicly attacked the band in several interviews. Still, the band's 1993 major-label debut, Saturation, was greeted with strong reviews upon its summer release. Produced by the Butcher Brothers (Cypress Hill), the album sounded like a sure-fire alternative crossover hit, but only "Sister Havana" earned much airplay. Furthermore, the band began to alienate certain members of the alternative rock community with its constant preening, and a few anti-Urge campaigns were launched in the American indie rock underground. As the band was preparing to record its follow-up to Saturation, Quentin Tarantino picked the group's cover of "Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon" for the soundtrack to his unexpected hit Pulp Fiction. On the strength of the movie's success, the song became a hit, seemingly setting the stage for a breakthrough success with 1995's Exit the Dragon. But the success never happened. Scheduled for early summer of 1995, the album didn't appear until the fall, when it was greeted with mixed reviews. The lead single from the album, "The Break," was rather uncommercial, and received little airplay. The group began a tour that fall but it quickly turned disastrous, with opening act Guided by Voices being kicked off amidst much controversy just a few weeks in. A few weeks later, the remaining concerts were canceled altogether and never rescheduled. Toward the end of the year, Blackie Onassis was picked up for heroin possession. No charges were pressed and the incident was kept quiet, but the album was already pronounced dead in the water by the media and DGC. Urge Overkill spent 1996 in seclusion as they attempted to regroup. By the end of the year, tensions between Nash Kato and Eddie "King" Roeser had escalated, resulting in Roeser's departure from the band. Kato and Onassis continued on as a duo, leaving DGC for 550 Music in early 1997. As the band was preparing its first album for 550 Music, Roeser was replaced with guitarist Nils St. Cyr. However, unhappy with the results, the label soon dropped them, upon which point Urge Overkill disbanded. Nash Kato released his solo debut, Debutante, in early 2000. The band, this time minus Onassis, reunited for a worldwide tour in 2004 and played the occasional festival or one-off show afterwards. In 2010 the band got serious and hit the recording studio with a renewed sense of purpose. In May of 2011, the new version of Urge, which included Kato and Roeser along with ex-Polvo drummer Bonn Quast and ex-Gaza Strippers bassist Mike "Hadji" Hodgkiss, released its first collection of new studio material in 16 years, Rock & Roll Submarine. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Urge Overkill

    Martini Lounge

    Martini Lounge
    1 song

    Movie Tracks

    Movie Tracks
    1 song

    '90s Alternative

    '90s Alternative
    1 song

Albums by
Urge Overkill

Top Songs by
Urge Overkill

  1.   Song
  2.   Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon
  3.   Sister Havana
  4.   Positive Bleeding
  5.   Tequila Sundae
  6.   Back on Me
  7.   Heaven 90210
  8.   Honesty Files
  9.   The Stalker
  10.   View of the Rain
  11.   Need Some Air
  12.   Jaywalkin'
  13.   Take a Walk
  14.   Goodbye to Guyville
  15.   Thought Balloon
  16.   Nite and Grey
  17.   Quiet Person
  18.   What's This Generation Coming To?
  19.   And You'll Say
  20.   Little Vice
  21.   End of Story
  22.   Blackie's Birthday, (Today Is)
  23.   The Kids Are Insane
  24.   The Valiant
  25.   She's My Ride
  26.   Rock & Roll Submarine
  27.   Poison Flower
  28.   Mason/Dixon
  29.   Effigy
  30.   Eggs
  31.   Smokehouse
  32.   Ticket to L.A.
  33.   Digital Black Epilogue
  34.   Monopoly
  35.   Tin Foil
  36.   Take Me
  37.   The Mistake
  38.   This Is No Place
  39.   The Break
  40.   Crackbabies
  41.   Bottle of Fur
  42.   Easter '88
  43.   Theme From Navajo
  44.   Vacation in Tokyo
  45.   Bionic Revolution
  46.   Emmaline
  47.   The Candidate
  48.   Henhough: The Greatest Story Ever Told
  49.   76 Ball
  50.   Dropout
  51.   Viceroyce
  52.   Stull, Pt. 1
  53.   Faroutski
  54.   Last Train to Heaven
  55.   Last Night/Tomorrow
  56.   Erica Kane
  57.   Head On
  58.   (Now That's) The Barclords
  59.   Dubbledead
  60.   God Flintstone
  61.   Crown of Laffs
  62.   Somebody Else's Body
  63.   Niteliner
  64.   All the Way
  65.   Last Night and Tomorrow
  66.   Positive
  67.   Ticket
  68.   Out on the Airstrip
  69.   Empire Builder
  70.   Blow Chopper
  71.   Woman 2 Woman
  72.   The Polaroid Doll
  73.   Barclords
  74.   Dump Dump Dump
  75.   Erica
  76.   What Is Artane?
  77.   Woman to Woman
  78.   New O
  79.   Your Friend Is Insane
  80.   Generation
  81.   Witchita Lineman
  82.   Stitches
  83.   Very Sad Trousers

Artists Related to Urge Overkill