Slacker Logo


Ursula 1000

Ursula 1000 is a stylish American producer, multi-instrumentalist, and DJ who creates sampladelic easy listening breakbeat tracks in a style similar to continental popsters from Pizzicato Five to Dimitri from Paris. Born Alex Gimeno, he was raised in Miami, where he studied commercial art and owned an underground comic-book store before joining the local band 23 as a drummer. Absorbed partially through his enormous record collection, Gimeno soon fused his fanatical love of music and pop culture to birth Ursula 1000. He bought turntables and a mixer, learned to spin, and began DJ'ing at both a local college station and Miami nightclubs, recording along the way as well. After becoming a fixture -- as both DJ and drummer -- in the Miami scene for nearly a decade, Gimeno relocated to New York City to further both his mixing and production career. Gimeno signed to the Eighteenth Street Lounge label run by D.C.'s Thievery Corporation, which became the outlet for virtually all of his releases. From 1999 through 2009, he issued four studio albums (1999's The Now Sound of Ursula 1000, 2002's Kinda' Kinky, 2005's Here Comes Tomorrow, 2009's Mystics), a remix set (2007's Undressed ...Remixed), and a pair of mix albums (2000's All Systems Are Go Go and 2004's Ursadelica). His 2011 release Mondo Beyondo featured rapper Ms. G and vocalists Fred Schneider of the B-52s and Thievery Corporation's Natalia Clavier. While his sound became increasingly heavy and more dancefloor-oriented, his sense of genre-mashing playfulness never waned. In 2014 he introduced both his alias Quentin Quatro and his label Insect Queen Music with the EP The Disco Quatro. He returned to the Ursula 1000 moniker for 2015's Voyeur, an album that featured guest appearances from Mocean Worker, Lady Bunny, and Puddles Pity Party. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Ursula 1000

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

    Modern Jazz

    Modern Jazz
    1 song

Albums by
Ursula 1000

Top Songs by
Ursula 1000

  1.   Song
  2.   The Girl From N.O.W.H.E.R.E.
  3.   Along Came Mister Nobody
  4.   Riviera Rendezvous
  5.   Balearix
  6.   Mambo 1000
  7.   Smoke Machine
  8.   Mirkin the Mystic
  9.   Mucho Tequila
  10.   Les Techniques de l'Amour
  11.   Kinda Kinky
  12.   Smokebomb
  13.   Faded Denim Wash (Ursula's 80s High Waisted Redux)
  14.   The Shake
  15.   Step Back
  16.   Continental Break Fest
  17.   Dancing Undergound
  18.   Hip Length
  19.   Mondo
  20.   Bass and Tremble
  21.   Boop
  22.   Electrik Boogie
  23.   Full on Cheetah
  24.   Chase Sequence #3
  25.   The Shadow Of Your Smile
  26.   Faded Denim Wash
  27.   I Got What You Need
  28.   Tropical Intention
  29.   Blast Off! by Lady Bunny
  30.   Clap Your Hands
  31.   The Fly
  32.   Répétez Le Repertoire by Isabelle Antena
  33.   Disko-Tech
  34.   Baby Laser Love by Ms. G
  35.   (You Can't Control) The Spectrum Soul
  36.   Stinger
  37.   Hey You!
  38.   Graveyard Stomp
  39.   Fuzz 1000
  40.   Rump
  41.   Zombies
  42.   This Magick
  43.   The Wizard
  44.   Tension
  45.   Star Machine
  46.   Rocket
  47.   I.C.O.M.E.
  48.   Do It Right
  49.   Princess T.N.T.
  50.   Her Comes Tomorrow by Robert Conroy
  51.   Ragnarock
  52.   Urgent/Anxious
  53.   Two Tone Rocka
  54.   Hello! Let's Go to a Disco
  55.   Kaboom!
  56.   Got Cha
  57.   Samba 1000
  58.   That Kindu That You Do
  59.   Jackie Go!
  60.   Beatbox Cha Cha
  61.   Ram Balram
  62.   Ford Capri 2
  63.   Polyblend
  64.   Le Fini
  65.   Very Leggy
  66.   Savoir Faire
  67.   Slinky
  68.   Mr. Hrundi's Holiday
  69.   Funky Bikini
  70.   I'm Gonna Shock You Daddy
  71.   Dancing Underground
  72.   Descarga en La Discoteca by Los Amigos Invisibles
  73.   Arrastao
  74.   Destination - Paradise
  75.   Red Hot Mama by "Big" Mike Geier
  76.   Mystics
  77.   The Elegant Oracle
  78.   Gambit
  79.   Tropicadelica by Natalia Clavier
  80.   Tigerbeat
  81.   Don't Get Your Panties in a Bunch
  82.   Pleasure Unit
  83.   Soft Landing
  84.   Supersonic Sounds
  85.   Boogaloop
  86.   Nightcap