Slacker Logo


Velvet Revolver

Velvet Revolver began with a spring 2002 jam session that reunited ex-Guns N' Roses bandmates Slash (guitar), Duff McKagan (bass), and Matt Sorum (drums) on-stage. With the discovery that their chemistry was still going strong, the trio began pushing around some new music and auditioning singers for what became known as "the Project." Early entries included ex-Buckcherry shouter Josh Todd and Neurotica's Kelly Shaefer; both became acquainted with the cutting room floor. By early 2003, the existence of "the Project" -- and its quest for a singer -- was common knowledge, so much so that VH1 sent cameras to document the search. Dave Kushner (Wasted Youth, Dave Navarro) also joined up as second guitarist. Troubled STP-er Scott Weiland came on board next. He and the band clicked immediately and recorded a hyper piece of glitter metal for the Hulk soundtrack called "Set Me Free." By June, "the Project" had been renamed Velvet Revolver, and Weiland was officially made its lead singer, though possession charges stemming from a May bust were still outstanding. The band signed a deal with RCA and spent the rest of 2003 fitting in gigs and recording sessions around Weiland's court-ordered rehab. RCA next announced an April 2004 release for Contraband, Velvet Revolver's full-length debut; the date was then pushed to May, and finally to June. That spring, Weiland labored through court dates and recovery as Slash and Duff did advance press for Contraband, and fan anticipation for the album grew. VR also released the single "Slither," a rabid, ambitious rocker guided by Slash's signature guitar sound. The single sidled steadily up the active rock charts, and when Contraband finally dropped, it was to general appreciation for its mix of STP and GNR signatures and its surprising turn toward hedonistic maturity. Velvet Revolver's sophomore effort, Libertad, followed in 2007. In December 2015, Weiland was found dead in Bloomington, Minnesota, while on tour with his then-band, the Wildabouts. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Velvet Revolver

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    2 songs

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    1 song

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    1 song

Albums by
Velvet Revolver

Top Songs by
Velvet Revolver

  1.   Song
  2.   Slither
  3.   Fall to Pieces
  4.   She Builds Quick Machines
  5.   Loving the Alien
  6.   Dirty Little Thing
  7.   Set Me Free
  8.   Money
  9.   The Last Fight
  10.   American Man
  11.   Surrender
  12.   Sucker Train Blues
  13.   Tierra Roja, Sangre Roja
  14.   Gas & A Dollar Laugh
  15.   Big Machine
  16.   [Video]
  17.   Just Sixteen
  18.   Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love
  19.   Illegal i Song
  20.   Can't Get You out of My Head
  21.   Come On, Come In
  22.   She Mine
  23.   Can't Get It Out Of My Head
  24.   Let It Roll
  25.   Headspace
  26.   Used To Love Her
  27.   Pills, Demons & Etc.
  28.   For a Brother
  29.   Spectacle
  30.   Spay
  31.   Re-Evolution: Making of Libertad
  32.   Do It for the Kids
  33.   Illegal I
  34.   Crackerman
  35.   Psycho Killer
  36.   Making of Libertad
  37.   Gravedancer
  38.   Get Out The Door
  39.   Superhuman
  40.   You Got No Right
  41.   Negative Creep
  42.   Bodies
  43.   No More, No More
  44.   Mary Mary
  45.   It's So Easy
  46.   Best of Both Worlds
  47.   Sex Type Thing
  48.   Introduction featuring Amanda Thompson
  49.   Origins featuring Amanda Thompson
  50.   Rock Infamy featuring Amanda Thompson
  51.   Break and Rejuvenate featuring Amanda Thompson
  52.   Singer Required, Apply Within featuring Amanda Thompson
  53.   Shooting from the Hip featuring Amanda Thompson
  54.   A Sight to Behold featuring Amanda Thompson
  55.   Uppers and Uppers featuring Amanda Thompson
  56.   Shooting Up featuring Amanda Thompson
  57.   Here to Stay featuring Amanda Thompson
  58.   Re-Evolution

Artists Related to Velvet Revolver


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |