Slacker Logo


VHS or Beta

VHS or Beta formed in 1997 in Louisville, Kentucky, when bassist Mark Palgy and guitarists Zeke Buck and Craig Pfunder met after high school. After a brief stint with noise punk and the addition of drummer Mark Guidry, they re-formed in response to their love of house music, soul, and disco. The new sound, enhanced by keyboards, vocoder, samples, and electronic drums, eventually brought in hundreds of dancing people at their shows. Soon, the band released the vinyl-only EP ON & ON. After playing the 2000 South by Southwest music festival and negotiating with record labels, they released Le Funk on their own label, ON! Records, in June 2002. In summer 2002, VHS or Beta toured with I Am the World Trade Center. Chea Beckley was added for the band's performances to handle vocoder, samples, and keyboards. By the time the band's Astralwerks debut, Night on Fire, arrived in 2004, their sound owed more to dance-punk than Daft Punk. Over the next few years, the group hid out at Echo Mountain Studio in Asheville, North Carolina, and concentrated on writing songs with producer Brandon Mason. Buck left in 2006, just before the release of Bring on the Comets in 2007. Following the album, Pfunder and Palgy moved to New York City, leaving behind another member, Mark Guidry. The two continued as a duo, and drummer Jim Orso filled in for their follow-up, Diamonds & Death, which was released in 2011. ~ Kenyon Hopkin
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
VHS or Beta

Albums by
VHS or Beta

Top Songs by
VHS or Beta

  1.   Song
  2.   Can't Believe A Single Word
  3.   Bring On The Comets
  4.   Burn It All Down
  5.   Night on Fire
  6.   You Got Me
  7.   Alive
  8.   Euglama
  9.   Heaven
  10.   Eyes Dub
  11.   Solid Gold
  12.   Watch out Dub
  13.   I Found a Reason Dub
  14.   Under the Sun
  15.   I Found a Reason
  16.   Army Of None
  17.   We Could Be One
  18.   Fall Down Lightly
  19.   Nightwaves
  20.   Flash
  21.   Eyes
  22.   No Cabaret!
  23.   All Summer in a Day Dub
  24.   On & On
  25.   Diamonds and Dub
  26.   Breaking Bones Dub
  27.   Watch Out
  28.   Over
  29.   Jellybean
  30.   Breaking Bones
  31.   All Summer in a Day
  32.   Love In My Pocket
  33.   The Ocean
  34.   Dynamize
  35.   Forever
  36.   The Stars Where We Came From
  37.   Diamonds and Death
  38.   Alpha Theta
  39.   Disco Paradise
  40.   Jellybean Dub
  41.   New Day Rising
  42.   Take It Or Leave It
  43.   Time Stands Still
  44.   She Says
  45.   Everybody
  46.   The Melting Moon
  47.   Irreversible
  48.   Teenage Dancefloor

Artists Related to VHS or Beta

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |