Slacker Logo



Volbeat, a Danish metal band begun by former Dominus leader Michael Poulsen in October of 2001, became a dominant force not only in Danish metal, but in Danish rock as a whole, charting albums and singles on a regular basis. Poulsen's earlier group, Dominus, was a giant in Danish metal, releasing four albums in ten years, and making a lasting impression on the scene. Poulsen felt it was time to start over, and his concept of giving straight-up heavy metal a more trad rock flourish (Poulsen was a big Elvis fan, if that is any indication) was at the heart of Volbeat. Bringing together members Franz Gottschalk on guitar (he would be replaced by Thomas Bredahl in 2006), Jon Larsen on drums, and Anders Kjølholm on bass, vocalist and guitarist Poulsen was able to release the band's first demo, Volbeat, in 2002. Reception was lukewarm to the initial release, but the group's second demo, Beat the Meat, was an instant success, getting airplay on European radio. Volbeat consolidated this early win with a semifinal appearance on the Danish talent show competition Live Contest. From then on, Volbeat began an almost constant work schedule, including performances with Europe and America's biggest metal acts, as well as winning a number of genre and industry awards for their music. The band soon landed a record deal with Rebel Monster, and released The Strength/The Sound/The Songs. That first "official" release was a relative monster in the band's home nation, and beyond brisk sales, the album won a handful of awards, including Best Album in the Danish Metal Musik Awards in 2005. Volbeat had further reason to celebrate, as 2006 saw the group playing most of the Continent's best-known rock festivals, including Roskilde and Summer Breeze. They followed up these appearances with a Danish tour. A follow-up to their best-selling debut finally appeared in shops in 2007. Titled Rock the Rebel/Metal the Devil, the album debuted at number one in Denmark, and later that year Volbeat made a repeat appearance at Roskilde, opened for Metallica and Megadeth, and once again toured Europe. They followed that chart-topper with Guitar Gangsters and Cadillac Blood in 2008, which also hit the top spot in Denmark, and once more toured festivals worldwide, seeing their brand of metal, hard rock, and punk cross over into the pop market without a concession in their sound. In 2010 Volbeat released Above Heaven/Beyond Hell with guest appearances from Mercyful Fate/King Diamond guitarist Michael Denner, Napalm Death's Mark "Barney" Greenway, Kreator's Mille Petrozza, and Jacob Øelund of rockabilly crew Taggy Tones. They toured relentlessly for the next year and a half on their own and played many festivals. In 2012 Volbeat reentered the studio and emerged in April 2013 with their fifth album, Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies, which introduced a new member of the group, former Anthrax guitarist Robert Caggiano, who was brought in to co-produce and add guitar solos for the project and ended up joining the band. One of Volbeat's most stylistically diverse offerings to date, Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies also became a major international success; it went to number one in Austria, Canada, Denmark, Holland, Germany, Norway, and Switzerland, while making the Top Ten in the United States, Sweden, Holland, and Belgium. After extensive global touring and numerous festival appearances, Volbeat jumped right back into the studio with co-producer Jacob Hansen. A pre-release single, "The Devil's Bleeding Crown," was issued in April 2016. The full length Seal the Deal & Let's Boogie, followed in June. ~ Chris True
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    8 songs

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    5 songs

    Grammy Awards 2014

    Grammy Awards 2014
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Still Counting
  3.   The Hangman's Body Count
  4.   Fallen
  5.   Heaven Nor Hell
  6.   Lola Montez
  7.   A Warrior's Call
  8.   The Devil's Bleeding Crown
  9.   Dead But Rising
  10.   Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood
  11.   A Moment Forever
  12.   You or Them
  13.   My Body
  14.   The Garden's Tale
  15.   Room 24
  16.   Seal the Deal
  17.   Doc Holliday
  18.   Hallelujah Goat
  19.   The Loa's Crossroad
  20.   Thanks
  21.   Room 24
  22.   A Broken Man and the Dawn
  23.   The Bliss
  24.   We
  25.   16 Dollars - Live From ROCK'N'HEIM, Hockenheimring, Germany / August 16, 2013
  26.   I Only Wanna Be With You
  27.   Sad Man's Tongue
  28.   Radio Girl
  29.   Lonesome Rider
  30.   Mary Ann's Place
  31.   Battleship Chains
  32.   Cape of Our Hero
  33.   Rebel Angel
  34.   I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  35.   Goodbye Forever
  36.   7 Shots
  37.   The Nameless One
  38.   The Gates of Babylon
  39.   Marie Laveau
  40.   Ecotone
  41.   The Sinner Is You
  42.   Maybellene I Hofteholder
  43.   Beyond Hell / Above Heaven
  44.   Black Rose
  45.   Say Your Number
  46.   Outro
  47.   Our Loved Ones
  48.   16 Dollars
  49.   Pearl Hart
  50.   Healing Subconsciously
  51.   Pool of Booze, Booze, Booza/Boa
  52.   Making Believe
  53.   Marie Laveu
  54.   The Mirror and the Ripper
  55.   Danny & Lucy (11 PM)
  56.   Angelfuck
  57.   Magic Zone
  58.   Let It Burn
  59.   Mary Jane Kelly
  60.   Light a Way
  61.   A New Day
  62.   Bonus Material
  63.   You Will Know
  64.   Find That Soul
  65.   Something Else Or...
  66.   Rebound
  67.   Wild Rover of Hell
  68.   River Queen
  69.   Caroline #1
  70.   A Better Believer
  71.   Soulweeper
  72.   Another Day, Another Way
  73.   Who They Are
  74.   Evelyn
  75.   Always, Wu
  76.   Fire Song
  77.   Everything's Still Fine
  78.   Caroline Leaving
  79.   Alienized
  80.   Slaytan
  81.   No Name
  82.   Let's Shake Some Dust
  83.   Black Bart
  84.   Being 1
  85.   Mr. and Mrs. Ness
  86.   Devil or the Blue Cat's Song
  87.   Boa (JDM)
  88.   Rebel Monster
  89.   The Human Instrument
  90.   Back to Prom
  91.   Peart Hart
  92.   Fo