Slacker Logo


Warren G

Born Warren Griffin III, Warren G exploded out of the burgeoning Long Beach rap scene in 1994 with the smash single "Regulate," a duet with longtime friend Nate Dogg, and its accompanying album, Regulate...G Funk Era. G grew up in Long Beach listening to his parents' extensive collection of jazz, soul and funk records, also frequently hanging out at the local V.I.P. record store. As a teenager, he and his friends Nate Dogg and future superstar Snoop Dogg formed a rap group called 213, after their area code. Unfortunately, all three had brushes with the law and spent time in jail, which motivated them to get jobs, also working on their music on the side. Eventually, the V.I.P. record store allowed the trio to practice and record in a back room. It was here that Snoop cut the demo "Super Duper Snooper," which G played for his half-brother Dr. Dre at a party. Dre invited all three to his studio and wound up collaborating with Snoop on The Chronic. While G also made several contributions, he opted to develop his talents mostly outside of Dre's shadow. He honed his musical skills while producing such artists as MC Breed and 2Pac. A break came when his vocal collaboration with Mista Grimm, "Indo Smoke," appeared on the Poetic Justice soundtrack. Soon after that, G recorded his debut album for Violator. "Regulate" appeared on the Above the Rim soundtrack and was released as a single. It quickly became a massive hit, peaking at #2 on the Billboard charts and pushing the album up to the same position. The album eventually went triple platinum, with "This D.J." becoming his second Top 10 hit. Warren G took nearly three years to complete his second album, returning in the spring of 1997 with Take A Look Over Your Shoulder, which was greeted with decidedly mixed reviews and weak sales. I Want It All followed in 1999 with The Return of the Regulator appearing two years later. In 2005 he signed with Lightyear Enterntainment and released In the Mid-Nite Hour. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Warren G

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    6 songs

    West Coast Hip-Hop

    West Coast Hip-Hop
    4 songs

    '80s Hip-Hop

    '80s Hip-Hop
    1 song

    '80s Urban Music

    '80s Urban Music
    1 song

    Classic Hip-Hop

    1 song

    Top Hip-Hop

    1 song

    Hip-Hop Party

    1 song

    '90s Pop

    1 song

Albums by
Warren G

Top Songs by
Warren G

  1.   Song
  2.   Regulate by Nate Dogg
  3.   This D.J.
  4.   I Shot the Sheriff
  5.   Do You See
  6.   So Many Ways
  7.   This Is the Shack
  8.   100 Miles and Runnin' featuring Nate Dogg
  9.   I Want It All
  10.   Lookin' at You
  11.   This Is Dedicated to You by Latoya Williams
  12.   Game Don't Wait
  13.   Yo' Sassy Ways
  14.   I Need a Light
  15.   PYT
  16.   Super Soul Sis
  17.   In the Mid-Nite Hour
  18.   Weed Song
  19.   And Ya Don't Stop
  20.   Smokin' Me Out
  21.   Let's Get High (420) featuring Black Nicc
  22.   I Like That There
  23.   Young Fun
  24.   What's Next
  25.   World Wide Ryders
  26.   What We Go Through
  27.   Back Up
  28.   Transformers
  29.   Keep on Hustlin' featuring Bun B
  30.   My House by Nate Dogg
  31.   True Star by BJ
  32.   Suicide by RBX
  33.   Get U Down, Pt. 2
  34.   All I Ask of You
  35.   Yes Sir
  36.   Garilla Pimpin
  37.   Wheels Keep Spinning
  38.   A Chronic Break
  39.   In Case Some Sh$# Go Down
  40.   Do What It Do (Featuring Bishop Lamont)
  41.   G-Funk Is Here 2 Stay
  42.   Young Locs Slow Down
  43.   '94 Ho Draft
  44.   Dollars Make Sense
  45.   Gangsta Love
  46.   On My Mind (11:59 P.M.)
  47.   We Brings Heat
  48.   On My Mind
  49.   West is Back featuring Halla
  50.   Swagger Rich featuring Cassie Davis
  51.   Skate, Skate by Halla
  52.   Intro SHHHHH
  53.   Ahh
  54.   Walk These Streets
  55.   Get U Down
  56.   Shhhh (Intro)
  57.   Turn It Up Loud
  58.   They Lovin' Me Now
  59.   Keepin' It Strong
  60.   It Ain't Nothin' Wrong With You
  61.   Deez Nuts, Pt. 2 (Skit)
  62.   Speed Dreamin'
  63.   Pump Up (Skit)
  64.   This Gangsta S**t Is Too Much
  65.   Somethin' to Bounce To
  66.   Intro
  67.   Runnin' Wit No Breaks
  68.   Recognize
  69.   Gangsta Sermon
  70.   Outro
  71.   You Never Know
  72.   Havin' Things
  73.   Why Oh Why
  74.   Star Trek Intro
  75.   Mid-Nite Hour
  76.   In Case Some Shit Go Down
  77.   In Case Some SHS' Go Down
  78.   Masquerade