Slacker Logo



Named for his fear of the ocean, Wavves, the skuzzy project of San Diego slacker Nathan Williams, is a blend of distorted no-fi and refined sunshiny melodies. Charmingly messy, most of his lyrics, while difficult to decipher, generally revolve around the subjects of weed, boredom, and the beach -- when he isn't poking jabs at the gloomy subculture of goth rock (a common theme, found in "Goth Girls," "California Goths," "Summer Goths," "Surf Goths," and "Beach Goths"). Wavves was conceived just after Williams, at age 21, quit his job as a clerk at Music Trader, while he was dividing his free time between skateboarding, writing for his hip-hop blog, Ghost Ramp, and making music using an '80s Tascam cassette recorder and Garage Band software. Due to his inexperience with the program, the result of one month's worth of bedroom recording sessions was two full albums of songs: all completely mangled by overdriven inputs. Rather than scrapping the material, he embraced the in-the-red aesthetic and started promoting the songs online. Wavves was quickly embraced and touted as "the next big thing" by Internet music critics and fellow bloggers. Many praised the immediacy and D.I.Y. nature of his work, and Williams capitalized on those aspects, continuously uploading free digital versions of his music -- including two 7" singles, a cassette, and an EP -- all with simple self-drawn artwork or scanned photos for cover art. Wavves' first LP, simply titled Wavves, became available around this time as well, and it was released in a limited run by Woodsist. The more confusingly titled Wavvves (note the third "V") followed just after, and was planned for release by De Stijl before Williams jumped ship to Fat Possum. After the track list was revamped, the release date was pushed back a month and Wavvves was officially made available on March 17, 2009. After receiving mostly glowing reviews in April, Wavves got his share of bad press in late May. While performing live at the Primavera Sound Festival, assisted by drummer Ryan Ulsh, Williams had a minor meltdown and walked offstage. Later, he issued an apology, chalking up the incident to poor decision-making and a drug concoction of ecstasy, Valium, and Xanax. In 2010, after recording a few tracks with indie drummer extraordinaire Zach Hill, Williams entered the studio with Grammy-winning producer Dennis Herring to record a straightforward and surprisingly polished album. Following the August release of King of the Beach, Wavves toured as a trio with Williams assisted by former bandmates of the late Jay Reatard, bassist Stephen Pope and drummer Billy Hayes. After parting with Fat Possum, Williams released a new EP in the fall of 2011 under the Wavves name, titled Life Sux, featuring guest appearances by Best Coast and Fucked Up. He and Pope then began recording a new album with the production help of John Hill (Rihanna, Santigold), using their own money to finance the project. Mom + Pop signed the band and released the slickly produced, very '90s-influenced Afraid of Heights in early spring of 2013. Williams next focused on his beat-driven project Sweet Valley -- which he and his brother Joel started in 2012 -- realeasing their album SV in July 2013. Not content to stop at two, he formed another band, Spirit Club, in 2014 which featured his brother again, and Andrew Caddick (aka Jeans Wilder). Williams' collaborative spirit remained unquenchable and he teamed with Dylan Baldi of Cloud Nothings to record an album, No Life for Me, in 2014. It was released by Williams' Ghost Ramp label, right before Wavves fifth album. The stripped down, very hooky V was their first album for Warner Bros. and the process was painful for Williams, as a series of angry tweets sent out just before the September 2015 release date made clear. ~ Jason Lymangrover
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    3 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    3 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Demon to Lean On
  3.   Way Too Much
  4.   King of the Beach
  5.   Post Acid
  6.   Flamezesz
  7.   Bug
  8.   Baby Say Goodbye
  9.   Super Soaker
  10.   I Wanna Meet Dave Grohl
  11.   Pony
  12.   My Head Hurts
  13.   Baseball Cards
  14.   Nine is God
  15.   Take on the World
  16.   Convertible Balloon
  17.   Green Eyes
  18.   Leave
  19.   Idiot
  20.   When Will You Come
  21.   Linus Spacehead
  22.   The Boys Will Love Us
  23.   Mystic
  24.   Teenage Super Party
  25.   Everything Is My Fault
  26.   Lunge Forward
  27.   No Hope Kids
  28.   Destroy (feat. Members of Fucked Up)
  29.   Side Yr On
  30.   That's on Me
  31.   Cop
  32.   Afraid of Heights
  33.   Yoked
  34.   Wavves
  35.   Spaced Raider
  36.   Rainbow Everywhere
  37.   Cry Baby
  38.   Tarantula
  39.   Wait
  40.   Heart Attack
  41.   Redlead
  42.   Heavy Metal Detox
  43.   I Can't Dream
  44.   Gimme a Knife
  45.   Beat Me Up
  46.   Paranoid
  47.   Sail to the Sun
  48.   Vermin
  49.   Space Raider
  50.   Loser Year
  51.   Intro Goth
  52.   Here's To The Sun
  53.   Weed Demon
  54.   Summer Goth
  55.   Beach Demon
  56.   Surf Goth
  57.   Sun Opens My Eyes
  58.   So Bored
  59.   Nodding Off by Best Coast
  60.   Beach Goth
  61.   Hippies is Punks
  62.   Mickey Mouse
  63.   Gun in the Sun
  64.   Goth Girls
  65.   All the Same
  66.   To the Dregs
  67.   Killr Punx, Scary Demons
  68.   Poor Lenore
  69.   Dog
  70.   California Goths
  71.   Lover
  72.   TV Luv Song
  73.   Get in the Sun
  74.   Ghost Ramp 4
  75.   Jetplane (Staying on A)
  76.   More Fur
  77.   Summer Goth 2
  78.   California Goth II
  79.   Destroh by Fucked Up
  80.   In the Sand
  81.   Ghost Ramp

Artists Related to Wavves

No Age

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |